×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Airframe
     

Airframe

3.9 176
by Michael Crichton
 

See All Formats & Editions

Three passengers are dead. Fifty-six are injured. The interior cabin virtually destroyed. But the pilot manages to land the plane. . . .

At a moment when the issue of safety and death in the skies is paramount in the public mind, a lethal midair disaster aboard a commercial twin-jet airliner bound from Hong Kong to Denver triggers a pressured and frantic

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Airframe 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 174 reviews.
petersnoopy More than 1 year ago
Michael Crichton has yert produced antoher great book, yet not of his best. The plot is great and okay to follow, but isn't the techno-thriller sci-fi you would expect. FFor someone looking for techincal excitment this is a great buy. For those looking for a page-turner and captavating thriller, not so much.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When a Norton wide-body jet experiences an in-flight emergency that kills three people and injures many more, the manufacturer's Incident Review Team gears up for action. Casey Singleton, a recently promoted business unit manager who's the Quality Assurance representative on that team, knows almost immediately that it wasn't turbulence. The press, though, accepts that explanation as offered by the plane's flight crew. After all, what makes for a more dramatic story than a greedy corporation's attempted coverup of its unsafe aircraft? Casey knows that this is a dangerous time for Norton managers to be poking around the production areas. With a major sale of the company's airframes to an overseas market pending, a labor dispute reaching the boiling point, and a mysterious conflict going on at the topmost management level, anything can happen. But the divorced mother who started her own career with Norton on the production line believes she can keep herself safe - and even if she can't, she's still going to find out what really happened on that flight. AIRFRAME has its slow passages, but it also offers crackling and well-sustained suspense. Its characters are well drawn, and its resolution manages to be surprising, logical, and poignant - all at the same time.
Dauphinais More than 1 year ago
The book of Airframe is one of Michael Crichtons best novels that I have read. The story is very interesting and if you like mystery novels this is one of them. It will pull you in. You do not find out what the cause of the accident is untill the end. A great book. I hope you enjoy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome book to read that keeps you coming back for more and also reveals the true nature of the airline industry.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love almost every Michael Crichton novel I've ever read. It is my kind of fiction. The reason this one gets four stars instead of five is the lack of a real "story" in an abstract sense. This read more like a case study of an in-flight incident. This book did redeem itself in the end. I would still recommend this book to anyone who likes Crichton's style, but it may take you longer to read. There is plenty of detail, but it is not very exciting. The ending is perfect and plausible, but if you're looking for an edge-of-your-seat Prey/Jurassic Park, try one of his other books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He does it again. I read this in two weeks. I was very skeptical about this at first, because it obviously sounded more technical than action, and which it was very technical, however, it was so good that I would most definitely recommend this book to, and we'll anyone who likes a good Michael Crichton book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nothing much happened, just a lot of talking.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
not as good as timeline (best book ever) but still more than five stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the engineering aspects of this. The mystery ending was plausible. Reading it at 30k feet added a dimension of excitement for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a very well-written book, with a plot that is intriging and that questions many aspects of society. Very good right up to the dramatic end.
Thorne2112 More than 1 year ago
A fascinating plot idea but delivered awkwardly and without originality.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is an intriguing page turner, it will keep you guessing until the end!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago