×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Alchemist's Daughter
     

Alchemist's Daughter

3.7 23
by Katharine McMahon
 

See All Formats & Editions

There are long-held secrets at the manor house in Buckinghamshire, England, where Emilie Selden has been raised in near isolation by her father. A student of Isaac Newton, John Selden believes he can turn his daughter into a brilliant natural philosopher and alchemist. Secluded in their ancient house, with only two servants for company, he fills Emilie with knowledge

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Alchemist's Daughter 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you love historical fiction, this book is for you. I do not understand previous reviewer's negative statements about this book. The descriptions of scenery and characters are BEAUTIFULLY written, and I couldn't put the book down!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was one of my favorite books of the year, and I love historical novels of this time period. I enjoyed reading a historical novel that used the period as a backdrop, rather than beating me over the head with sterotypes. I agree, Emelie was a strong character, going through a period in her life that many readers will associate with. A wonderful read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was highly disappointing and predictable. The heroine of the novel is detestable and clueless. There are literally no redeeming qualities to this book. I would have stopped reading halfway through but I have to finish a book once I start it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GtzLstNRding More than 1 year ago
A scientists performs and experiement that has effects that he never took into account. In this book, his daughter, while well educated lacks the ability to communicate and interact with people at least in observation. The writing style occurrs in the 1700's and some accounts in the book are shown as brutal that time in history was as well. Its quite and enlighting book demonstrating simple basic human emotions.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OHBeth More than 1 year ago
The Alchemist's Daughter gets off to a fairly slow start, but about 20 pages into the book, it becomes un-put-downable. Against a background of weird science and a creepy house it depicts a young woman's search for her dead mother's identity, and yearning for her alchemist father's love and affection. An unexpected visitor to the estate changes her life and takes her out into the wider world. Alas, while she loves him passionately, there is enough about him to suspect that he's not who he says he is. The heroine is not to be denied her quest, so in spite of him, she searches tirelessly for the answers she needs. This search is both her downfall and, finally, her salvation.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
katknit More than 1 year ago
More a coming of age story than a bodice ripper or genre romance, The Alchemist's Daughter tells of the early experiences of a sheltered young woman with a remarkable education. Emily is an expert in the science of alchemy, the study of the forces of nature, but knows next to nothing about living her life or human nature. This novel follows her as she leaves her father's home for the first time as the starry eyed wife of an unscrupulous fortune hunter, about to learn the hard way about love, morality, and trust. Author McMahon plays out Emily's story against a vivid background of London society and backwater village. By the end of the novel, Emily's metamorphosis is underway. Could a sequel be in the offing?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The first thing I want to point out is how intelligent the book is, as a Chemistry major I found the alchemy to be fascinating without sounding like one of my usual lectures. Also, the writing was flawless, fluid, beautiful, and completely perfect for the point of view. The historical detail was rich and fantastic, but it wasn't too overwhelming. This is a perfect example of historical fiction, and it was very interesting, and it was NOT a slow read whatsoever. I read this on a stormy day where all my lectures ended up being canceled in the library, and I could not have spent my time any better. This isn't a soapy, unintelligent read for affection starved older women. If you enjoy a great read, with a strong and multidimensional, defiant, main character (with human folly like the rest of us) and great historical fiction, then this book is definitely for you!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MyAntonia88 More than 1 year ago
This is a great book. Love how the author is so descriptive of the settings. The main character is a detailed observer and the author is able to rightly capture this characteristic. The book seems to get a bit lenghtly toward the end but all the building of anticipation at the beginning makes finishing the book worth every word.

I am not much for chemistry, or alchemy for that matter, but I did not mind all the 'science talk' throughout the book. It gives the reader a greater appreciation for the depth of the characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The story has promise and could have really been a great read. But the author seems to drag things along. After the opening 50 pages, I found myself scanning text and jumping 40 pages ahead beause things were moving too slowly.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great book for anybody who likes historcal fiction. I did not think I would like this book as much as I did, but the story and its characters enchanted me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
At first I thought the Alchemist's Daughter would be very bland, very boring. As I read this book I was proved wrong. Even though the book is set in eighteenth century London, England, it is very vivid and accurate. Emelie is one of the strongest heroines I've read about in a long time. This a poweful novel with strong characters.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am disappoined to say I didn't enjoy this book as much as I thought I would. The thorough explanations of alchemical experiments thwarted me, if I wanted to hear about chemicals and hoity toity experimenting I would have cracked open my Chemistry textbook. I also had a problem with the sexual scenes, they weren't descriptive at all. For an author who has thrown in sex scene after sex scene, she could have just spanned them out and made them excruciatingly sensual. Not just a breif meeting between lovers. This is an adult book, not a teenage romance! Though, I love the author's writing and her plotlines are just perfection, I believe she could have elaborated on the story further more. There were also times when I thought the characters where manic depressive, they were constantly changing from a well developed character to somebody you barely recognize, I wasn't sure if this was intentional or a minor faux pas. Aside from those tidbits, I believe this was a wonderful and page turning read. Even if it doesn't all end up the way you want it to... The author provides exceptionally gripping hooks and turns that is sure to entice any reader. ughah. xxx Vampyr
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is my first time reading a book by this author and I was not impressed at all. The characters are very weakly developed, the plot is circuitous, and the ending leaves much to be desired. To her credit, the book began interestingly enough but then began its very fast descent to incomprehensibility and ridiculousness. I would have gave it a 1, but the cover art was a saving grace...so there you have it!