×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Alex: The Life of a Child
     

Alex: The Life of a Child

4.8 34
by Frank Deford
 

See All Formats & Editions

Alexandra Deford, a precious and precocious girl, was just eight years old when she died in 1980 following a battle against the debilitating effects of cystic fibrosis, the number-one genetic killer of children. Her poignant and uplifting story touched the hearts of millions when it was first published and then made into a memorable television movie. A new

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Alex: The Life of a Child 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story reflects the amazing outlook on life so many living with cystic fibrosis have. Those of us who do not have CF can learn so much from those who do. Thank you Frank Deford for reminding us how precious life is.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
magiccode12 More than 1 year ago
I had first read this book when I was in elementary school and I always wanted to read it again. It is a beautiful memoir about a child who was born with Cystic Fibrosis. Alex's father explores her life from beginning to end. He captures her life so well I almost felt as I knew her myself through reading her story. Alex really was an amazing person and this book is worth reading. The book is at times very sad, but it is also uplifting and hopeful. Alex only lived to be eight years old, but she brought so much to the life of her family and everyone that knew her. I highly recommend reading this book.
dania27 More than 1 year ago
Alex: The Life Of A Child by Frank Deford 228 pages I have read this book a few times and every time I read it, it makes me appreciate life and how beautiful it is to be healthy. This book has taught me that we take our bodies for granted and harm it when there are people whose only desire is to be healthy. It made me really wonder about my childhood and what I would have done if I had been in this little girl's position. People should read this book because it will provide a different perspective to this situation and how a father dealt with the pain and loss of his daughter. It was expected, but what I really liked about the book is how he provides information about cystic fibrosis and how it affected the child's body, I also liked how he made it so personal and touching to the heart. He did not detract from the topic at all throughout the whole book, he talked about the experiences they had with his daughter and about cystic fibrosis, that's it. All in all, I really liked the whole book and I really hope to meet this charming little girl in heaven someday. She had an optimistic look on her life, and at her young age she understood what it is to love life. I believe this book is appropriate for people ages 15 and up because they will be the ones who really understand the emotion that fills the book from cover to cover.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a heart-wrenching story, especially when it hits close to home. My baby has CF and while difficult to read, it was helpful to see how brave and loving the Deford family was through their child's illness.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I also remember reading this book in grade school. I recently started thinking about it again when 2 of my own sons were diagnosed with the disease. This is a powerful, heartbreaking book that you will never forget!
Guest More than 1 year ago
sincere and touching story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can't remember if I was in 4th or 5th grade when I first read this book, but I instantly fell in love with it. It is such a moving story and to hear it from the father's perspective just tugs at your heart. Every single time I read it, I burst into tears. This is probably my favorite book of all time and I think everyone should have the opportunity to read such a touching, honest, and sincere story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I, read this book over and over.I, have asthma so I, can relate to this little girl. I, feel for this family.This book brought tear's to my face and so did the movie.I, first heard about this little girl when I, was in High School I, did a report on CF and got an A on it. I, pray they will find a cure for this disease so that no more people will have to suffer.
Guest More than 1 year ago
okay heres how it goes this book i red over ten times because i loved it so much no-one can think this will happen to there child or siblings or family members but things like this happens everyday. just like anyone else i thought this would never happen to my brother or sister, but to my surprise about 6 months ago my brother died but not because of the same disease but his life was still taken he had an enlarged heart and he needed a transplant he was only 14 and had a life a head of him he wanted to be an artist and massagist. although people say it gets better it doesnt and i feel this fathers pain he endured once he got to kno his daughter and after her death.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book made me cry. I couldn't even begin to imagine what it is like to live with CF. All the medication and hospital visits that they go through. Alex was a brave little girl who faced CF head on. Because of her story I now have a better understanding of CF and all that it implies. I want to thank her father for writing about Alex and her life. I recommend this to everyone because we all need to understand what CF is about and how much pain they go through just to live. I hope that someone finds the cure, for Alex.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was in 1st grade when I first watched the movie, and 4th grade when I read the book. I have CF and have lost 3 of the GREATEST people in the world to CF. My mother refuses to watch the movie because it's too close to home.I wish I could find a copy of the movie. I am fortunate to have lived this long, as I am 22 and am married with a 19month old that I was fortunate to give birth to myself. I recommend this book to EVERY person whose life is touched by CF, if not for themselves, for those they know and love that have CF.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I first read this book I was 12. Now I am a mother of a 12 year old girl. I am getting her this book so we can read it and cry together. It has taught me to live every day to its fullest. I wish that there was a cure for CF so no one else has to go through all that Alex and her family went through. My thanks to her father for sharing her short life with the world.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have the Lifetime movie, 'Alex, The Life of a Child' on tape. I have watched it so many times that it now skips. I was touched by this movie as a little girl and now as an adult I am even more touched by Mr. Deford's book on his amazingly brave daughter. May Alex, and others with her disease, never be forgotten.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In the beinging I was thinking how a terrible way to being the story, but now i understand if they did not start off with her dieing it would hit you too hard. I was crying all the way through the book. There was so much to Alex I felt like I knew her.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a little girl I watched this movie on a lifetime special, and I have never seen a movie so touching in my life. I cried and I didn't even know what the disease was. I am now about to become an RN and I would so desperately love to find a copy of this movie. This little girl had such appreciation for her life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I, love this Story about this little girl!! Her story has touched my heart and more way's then I, can ever know. I, also want to thank her Father,let giving us the oppertunity to get to know his daughter and the rest of the family through his word's. I, have asthma so I, know what it's like not being able to breath.So I, can relate to her story. Butt her story and her courge are just remarkable. Alexandra Deford, is truelly my hero. Thank you ever so much Alex, and God Bless the whole family!! My thought's and prayer's are with you for ever.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw the movie based on this book many years ago as a child. Later i read the book (several times). I was so moved by this this little girls bravery that I named my first born daughter after her. My two cousin have died as a result of this disease and it has been my number one charity for as long as i can remember.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I,also loved the movie!! I,first heard of Alex,from her movie.I,read the book and cried both from the Movie and her book about her.Her story made me cry and I,did a project for school on Cystic Fribrosis and got an a on it!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I watched this movie a long time ago when it was sponsored by Hallmark Hall of Fame. To this day I will never forget the impact it made on me. Since that time Cystic Fibrosis has been my number 1 charity. I have searched everywhere (including the internet) and would love to purchase the movie but does not seem to be available. If anyone knows where I could get a copy I would be very grateful.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This amazing story of a young girl who grew up too fast and died too soon is a beautifully written book from cover to cover. In dealing with CF myself I can only hope to live and die with the same courage this little girl did.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I remember watching this movie when I was around 10 years old, and it was so moving and touching I had to read the book. It was difficult to read, as I could relate to being around Alex's age at that time. This book was even more moving the second time around, and not only did I cry but my boyfriend cried as well. I only wish that I could have been blessed with knowing this little girl personally. After reading this book again, now at age 25, I could only hope to be the kind of person Alex was and always will be.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although I am but only 14 years of age. I was deeply moved by this book. I cried after the first chapter. This book has inspired me deeply. At first my dream was to become a neurosurgeon but after reading this book, I now want to become a terminal disease technician, in which my first goal (if not already achieved by someone else) will be to find a cure for Cystic Fibrosis and other genetic diseases.