×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Alexander Hamilton
  • Alternative view 1 of Alexander Hamilton
  • Alternative view 2 of Alexander Hamilton
     

Alexander Hamilton

4.5 141
by Ron Chernow, Scott Brick (Narrated by), Scott Brick (Read by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Ron Chernow, the renowned author of Titan whom the New York Times has called“as elegant an architect of monumental histories as we've seen in decades,” vividly re-creates the whole sweep of Alexander Hamilton's turbulent life—his exotic, brutal upbringing; his titanic feuds with celebrated rivals; his pivotal role in defining the shape of the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Alexander Hamilton 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 141 reviews.
jjricochet More than 1 year ago
Alexander Hamilton, by Ron Chernow, published in April of 2004, is by far the most engaging and informative biography of any founding father I have ever read. Irrespective of your knowledge regarding Alexander Hamilton's life story, this remarkable book reads like a classic novel and is virtually impossible to place mark, I could not put it down. Cernow brilliantly raises Hamilton from the grave, as if you were present at Hamilton's very conception as well as his premature death at the hand of his antithesis, Aaron Burr, the once Vice President of Thomas Jefferson. The bastard child of a tenacious woman of questionable character for her time, the sparks of Alexander Hamilton's genius became evident to his earliest benefactor when as a boy his first poem was published, to the brain trust of George Washington, in war and throughout Washington's entire administration. In addition to his sense of honor, generosity, successes, failings and tragedies, Ron Chernow's biographical masterpiece expresses Hamilton's great passions, glory, pride, genius, vision, devotion and love of family and of his adopted nation, America. This book is so truthful that it will enthrall and provoke within you a gamut of emotions and enlighten you beyond measure. James J Reis
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ron Chernow provides a well-reasearched and vivid picture into Hamilton's life. The man is often overlooked and overshadowed by the accomplishments of other founders such as Jefferson. This book tells Hamilton's life story as an immigrant from the West Indies. He was one fo the first to acheive what we now consider the American dream. Hamilton almost single handledly formed the treasury as well as the Bank of the United states despite obection from political enemies. Hamilton was arguably the most brilliant founder and this book is arguably the best biography on him. The downside with this is the length, about 731 pages(not including index, references, etc). It also is rather negative towards other political figures. Madison seems almost traitorous, Washington aloof, Adams crazy, Burr conniving. etc On Hamilton himself though, no other biography is better. Highly reccomended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Outstanding. I really did not know too much about Hamilton. However, Mr. Chernow's book was fascinating. I could not put it down. Even after I had finished the book, I could not stop thinking about the role Alexander Hamilton played in the history of the country. Hamilton was brilliant. And Aaron Burr was a scoundrel. This should be a recommended book for all students who are studying history and the politics of the USA.
WaldoRWE More than 1 year ago
I haves always admired Hamilton. Thanks to Ron Chernow I know why. Excellent!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read a lot of American history and yet this book told me tons that I never knew about Alexander Hamilton. Like everyone, he was far from perfect but he was a great patriot. Rising from humble beginnings in the West Indies, he was George Washington's right-hand man for most of the Revolutionary War. He was also Washington's most important and influential Cabinet member. Amazing descriptions of how he set up the US Treasury Dept. and got the American economy on a stable footing. Terrific book. Rather long (over 700 pages) but fascinating reading for people who really love American history. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In many ways, Hamilton was a force of nature. He accomplishments were prodigious. Like a Greek tragedy, his life a doomed to end too early.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could hardly put the book down. He was an amazing man. His life was one of total dedication to the American way of life as we now know it. It is right that his portrait be on our ten dollar bill. In my estiamton he ranks among the top five greatest men in America. If you are inclined to read about the America Revolution and its time frame, don't pass up the opportunity to get this book and read it. In our libray system in our state we have the unabridged book on tape of this man. I have listened to it twice. It has twenty nine CD'd. What an amzsing man. Once you have read it you may well feel the way I do.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dear Mr. Chernow, Thank you for writing this book because without it there would be no Hamilton on Broadway and I would actually be doing my homework right now instead of fangirling. I love Lin and you are amazing. I want to play Eliza or Peggy/Maria. Sincerely, Hamilton and Overall Theatre Nerd and Fangirl
FlyerFan More than 1 year ago
I am 300+ pages into this book and to say it is a page turner is an understatement!! all I want to do is read read read....I love it!!
Anonymous 11 months ago
Hamilton was a genius, but this book made him sound infallible. Even a genius can make a mistake, and he made the ultimate one that unfortunately cost him dearly. Men labeled as Republicans which we know was not established until mid 19th century. If not known, i would say this book was written by Alexander Hamilton himself.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written, reads like fiction, meticulouly researched and even handed. A great complement to his Washington biography.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the book that inspired Lin manuel Miranda to write the broadway musical Hamilton which is #1 on broadway right now ahhhh Lin Manuel Miranda read this exact book ahhh want to read it so badly
MerleF More than 1 year ago
Magnificently detailed biography about major figure in early American history. I learned many facts and much background that I (a history major!) had not known or appreciated before. The book shows thorough research and is well indexed. Only "fault" might be that there are just a few too many detailed lists of people attending this or that meeting, etc. Well worth while reading for serious students of history!
soloprate More than 1 year ago
Awesome, great writing. i was drawn into the life of Hamilton
kkid1 More than 1 year ago
It took me quite a while to read this novel only because I needed to review what I had already read to be certain I missed no detail. Mr Chernow did a most excellent job of telling the story of the what I believe to be the most influential of the founding fathers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read biographies on all the Founding Fathers but none so good as this one. It is full of insights and stories, not just about Hamilton, but the rest of his compatriots as well. We see the greatness of Washington and the cowardice of Jefferson. The fight between Federalists and Republicans is brought vividly to life. Most of all, however, we see the genius and vulnerability of Hamilton. We get to feel his frustrations and pain and glimpse at his towering genius. I have not stopped thinking about this book in the two weeks since I finished it. I found myself staring at his image on the book's cover, amazed at what I had just read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
An excellent book, full of interesting information on Hamilton and the times. However, it was a bit long.
Anonymous 7 days ago
O
Anonymous 16 days ago
Anonymous 18 days ago
Anonymous 7 months ago
Anonymous 8 months ago
Anonymous 9 months ago
I knew little about Alexander Hamilton before buying this stellar biography. Now I have such admiration and respect for the man, even with his failings. Fascinating reading from beginning to end, due in equal parts to the subject and Ron Chernow's excellent prose.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago