×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland
     

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

3.9 347
by Lewis Carroll
 

See All Formats & Editions

Begin at the beginning, and go on till you come to the end: then stop.'. So many readers were to take the advice of the King of Hearts that by the end of the nineteenth century Alice had acquired a pre-eminent and unassailable position in children's literature. Lewis Carroll's use of logic, by which the ordinary is translated into the extraordinary in an entirely

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 347 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was fun and easy to read. It's a nice break from the real world and very imaginative. I read it because my geometry book was based on some of the puns.
PhilMarlowe More than 1 year ago
The formatting makes it impossible to read.
civilwargirl More than 1 year ago
Lewis Carroll's Alice's Adventures in Wonderland is the classic story of a young girl adventures in an imaginative world were nothing is at it should be. Adventures in Wonderland changed children's literature forever, before this book came out story's for children had to be instructive with a moral lesson. Now children's books could just be fun, we all owe a debt to Lewis Carroll who changed what we read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A wonderfully hilarious book about the adventures of a little girl, Alice, and her exploits in the outrageous world of Wonderland. Alice is a simple 7-and-a-half-year-old that falls down a rabbit hole, and into a land of wonder, filled to the brim with hilarious and quirky characters. As she meanders around wonderland, she meets many a strange character. A condescending caterpillar and a magnificent mad hatter are just some of the people Alice has the pleasure of making the acquaintance. This is a book about the fun a merriment a child’s imagination holds. This is my all time favorite book. There are numerous clever little jokes that only a very learned person may catch. If you are looking for a side-splitting read full of child-like innocence, this is the book for you. This isn’t a book about action, it’s about fun. Trust me, this book will make you relive the days when you were a child, and your imagination was as big as the sky. Note: this book is quite old and contains a lot of archaic terms; it can get a little confusing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Alice in Wonderland is an imaginative satire on the British education system of the nineteenth century. The unreasonable environment in which the story takes place exemplifies all the shortcomings of the British education system as seen by Lewis Carroll, evident in the often inverted situations Alice constantly encounters throughout the course of the story. It is clearly evident in this story that Lewis Carroll questioned the worth of British education. Pandemonium seems to omnipresent throughout the entire story. The fantastic qualities of the setting in conjunction with Alice¿s character traits allow for the most unreasonable events to occur. Thus, the conditions favor events that are more bizarre. Had the principles of a more solid education been engrained in Alice, the story would probably have ended abruptly as soon as she realized the ridiculousness of it all. However, because she was not adequately educated, the British education reflected in her actions and speech. Oftentimes, she refers to knowledge of subjects that she learns in school, but it would all come out wrong. Her knowledge of science is obviously incorrect and the verses she recites have substituted words that completely distort the verse. Yet through her warped reasoning and the aid of the chaotic environment, she is somehow able to make sense of it all! Clearly, these anomalies suggest that the British education system was far from useful and adequate during the nineteenth century. Although presented in the imaginative manner of a children¿s book, the message embedded within Alice in Wonderland is still clear. Only with British education of the nineteenth century can people go through an experience like that of Alice, unable to realize the ridiculousness surrounding them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very witty alice would have to be my favorite storybook charecter
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book I liked the Cat. :)
Destiny_Murillo More than 1 year ago
Well, Alice Adventure's in Wonderland is an amazing book to read. The plot of the story is amazing. It has a climax and rising action. The problem of the story is that Alice ends up in the world of Wonderland where fantasy and imagination control the land. The problem of the story is that Alice can't find her way to the real world. She comes into many problems with different people or animals. Example: Like when the caterpillar gave her a mushroom to eat. I enjoyed the novel because of talking animals and how Lewis Carroll used his imagination with the story. I loved how all the characters are different with different personalities. None of the characters are the same. The characters in this novel are animals that talk. Alice is an English child who is very wise, confident , and intelligent. the Queen of Hearts is an evil person in this novel, she is the villan. The King of Hearts is even scared of her. Hatter is one of the people who is at the tea party with Alice. March Hare was also with Alice through the story. The Dormouse was a mouse who was always around with everyone. The Duchess were part of the Tea party as well. And Cheshire Cat is also an evil animal. He likes to disappear and reappear. He is an animal who always loves to grin. Well hope that you guys enjoy reading this novel. (:
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This truley an awesome book -Adele
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I dont know what else to say besides that i freaking love it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love it
amin119 More than 1 year ago
Great Book !!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bad book random lines from random pages too many mistakes I tell you its BAD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My brothers and sisters don't like Alice in Wonderland but I've wached the movie and Iove it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No story, just pics and odd lines from random pages
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the book and the movie.
Lily Johnson More than 1 year ago
Its hard to understand!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A classic for any age. ~*~LEB~*~
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book and the nookbut self
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Alice through the looking glass is a great movie my friend told me i will see it someday
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I live this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She wore a black suit and a wolf mask. She kept a hand on a small knife just in case
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Walks in wearing long black dress her hair curled still covering half of her face she is wearing heeled boots light black makeup
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cool i love it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was such a bad way to tell the story of Alice in Wonderland.