×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

All Over but the Shoutin'
     

All Over but the Shoutin'

4.1 80
by Rick Bragg
 

See All Formats & Editions

A New York Times Notable Book of the Year

This haunting, harrowing, gloriously moving recollection of a life on the American margin is the story of Rick Bragg, who grew up dirt-poor in northeastern Alabama, seemingly destined for either the cotton mills or the penitentiary, and instead became a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter for The New York

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

All Over but the Shoutin' 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 79 reviews.
Katrina_Shalom_Seach More than 1 year ago
My Dad gave me this book years ago for Christmas when it first came out, saying "I'd never heard of it, but it seemed like it might be a good read." I was working in Bolivia at the time as a Peace Corps volunteer, and was thrilled to have some new reading material. I was blown away by the writing. The only way I can describe it is by saying that this book is like gourmet food. The way Rick Bragg puts things into words is so fresh and unique, and he described a world I didn't know but instantly felt a part of. For me, this is one of those books I always return to and enjoy more and more. I'm purposely not sharing what happens in it, because it is such a treat to have the whole thing fresh and unexpected, and I don't want to mar the experience for any new readers. Plus any description I give would come across as deplorably flat. Like trying to describe the beauty of spring to someone who has only experienced winter - there are no proper words to describe the sensory lushness. I lent this to a fellow volunteer/writer friend - who ultimately went on to become an established well-known newspaper reporter -- and he was equally smitten. "I just can't believe how good this guy is!" he shared. "Man, that's good writing." He went on to lend my book to another friend, who lent it to another. After a while, everyone lost track of where my copy was, it had been lent to so many. So I bought the first of many replacement copies. If you lend it out (which you will) don't expect to get it back. Equally good is the prequel, Ava's Man. My reporter friend was lucky enough to meet Rick Bragg once, and I hope to do the same some fine day, just to express to him how much I enjoy his work. (Again, the food metaphor -- if a meal is outstanding, I always seek the cook out.) Get this! I'm a little jealous of you, reader. You get to read this for the first time. Enjoy every second and linger in the words ... ~Katrina
Pegeen5 More than 1 year ago
Rick Bragg is a just wonderfully gifted writer. Isn't it just great that he has used his wonderful gift! I just happen to be the age of his mother, a mother myself,a Yankee, and am going to give this book to a Southern Woman who could just use a good book about now! I would think that there are a lot of us out here who can identify with that special woman who is his momma!!
SamTN More than 1 year ago
I found myself laughing or crying throughout reading this book. Why? Because it brings to life so many of my friends and relatives here in the South over the years. We all know a Mark. Many of us have a relative who just never wore those blamed dentures. (That would include my own father-in-law.) This could have been their story. And the narrator is dead-on when he does the voice of Rick Bragg's mother - she (he) sounds just like the older women in our family. I would recommend this book to all Southerners.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I do not even know where to begin...From the minute that I started reading this book, I could not put it down. It came with me everywhere - work, the subway, a walk to the supermarket. Bragg was able to capture his experiences from birth to adulthood in such an eloquent manner. He allows the reader to truly feel and understand the path that his life has taken. My words do not even begin to credit Bragg with the appropriate praise that his work is due.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THis is just a wonderful Mother's Day gift. It is truly inspirational and shows how a mother will do whatever it takes to provide for her children under unimaginable circumstances. Inspiratinal as she just never gave up and never complained. Rick Brag is a great writer I can not get enought of his books. This is just a great book. If you loved To Kill A Mockingbird you will love this also.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading All Over but the Shoutin because it was educatioinal. I learned a lot about the South and southern living. The impact this has on society today and in the past is that one can overcome obstacles in life if the effort is applied.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I would recommend this book to anyone. I chose this book because some of the thing reminded me of stories my grandmother used to tell me when I was a little girl. And because I enjoy a good memior. This is a very interesting story of how a boy came from the poor skirts of town and was determind to make it and to stay out. Some one that had felt his whole life that he wasn't good enough for society. He not only proved himself wrong he proved everyone else wrong also. He will make it no matter what he ha to do. He will be somebody- he is somebody.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great story from a great author. He took us to his home town and told us of his trials and tribulations and life as a young man and up until the time he wrote this book. He grew up in a poor family with and alcoholic father who was never around and bragg's mother would have to raise bragg and his brother's by herself. They had a rough life but they perservered through hard times and everything turned out pretty good. Bragg went on to become a writer for several newspapers and also an author as well. His brother's turned out decent except for his youngest brother Mark who turned out just like his dad. Sam got a good job and got married and took care of his family.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bragg writes with such honesty at times funny and others almost heartbreaking. I enjoyed every word. Excellent.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
<_>
PharisLW More than 1 year ago
Wonderful book, kept me and my fellow book club readers totally engaged. Rick Bragg writes in a conversational tone that is true to the various dialects of the real characters without caricaturing them. His story is sometimes funny, sometimes harrowing, always honest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoy Bragg's writing style. It was interesting to learn about his family history in conjunction with the history of the South at that time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What makes this book great is Bragg's ability to make you feel his feelings, be there with him, see what he saw. This piece really moved me. I left the book sad about his opinions on God but understand where he is coming from. Great informaive read. Best memoir yet.
bikrgran More than 1 year ago
I rarely do biographies, so this was not something I would normally read, or even know about, except for a book club meeting. It's about a man who was born "poor white trash", to a loving, but whipped Mom and an alcoholic Dad fighting Korean War demons. It's about his life growing up and into a Pulitzer Prize-winning newspaper man. It talks about some of his stories, most of which are on, what he called "the dark side". It has it's laugh-out-loud parts, and the cry-out-loud parts, and the descriptions of Haiti are unbelievable. I think I recommend this, but it's not for everyone, especially those who are sensitive.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book I have read in a long time, I enjoyed the style of storytelling and the rich descriptions of places, people, and experiences.