×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

All Over the Map
     

All Over the Map

3.7 19
by Laura Fraser
 

See All Formats & Editions

What's a wise, witty travel writer to do when she reaches forty and is still single? Wander the globe searching for romance and adventure, of course.

On a trip to Oaxaca, Mexico, to celebrate her fortieth birthday, Laura Fraser confronts the unique trajectory of her life. Divorced and childless in her thirties, she found solace in the wanderlust that had

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

All Over the Map 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Jane49 More than 1 year ago
This book is an amazing, honest journey into one woman's quest to find balance and sense in her life when she finds herself single after forty. Her searching takes her literally all over the map, to many exotic places, and into the deep realms of her own heart. The book is written so honestly, and with so much insight, that I felt like I was the writer's best friend, both wishing I had her life, and glad that I don't. Should resonate with so many women.
LittleMinnesota More than 1 year ago
It took a few chapters or so for Laura’s personality to grow on me. Which I honestly have to say, I enjoyed progressively learning about her. I felt as if I was listening to a new song that I didn’t understand yet it had a catchy tune to it that kept me moving, caring less of the meaning of the words but embracing the feeling it gave me. All Over the Map was definitely a page turner. After each chapter concluded, there was not one moment I was ready to set the book down. It felt as if I had a plane ticket to each one of her destinations. In my mind, I can smell the luscious food, feel the crisp air, and even envision the people she encountered including her horrific encounter in Samoa. I am now on to The Italian Affair which I am expecting to be just as spellbinding! I hope she continues to publish more! P.s. Please come visit Minnesota!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
#$smileyfaces
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BioStepMom More than 1 year ago
When I first picked up this book, I thought, "Oh no, another 'Eat, Pray, Love'". It took me a couple of days to get past the first five pages because I was convinced it wasn't going to hold a candle to "EPL", but once I actually sat down to read it, I realized it was nothing like it. I loved the story and thought several time while reading it that this could have been my life had I not chosen to get married and become the old woman that lives in a shoe (with so many children, she didn't know what to do). I found myself living vicariously through the author and her many travels. I'm looking forward to reading other books by Laura Fraser as I really enjoyed her style of writing.
WisereaderJG More than 1 year ago
I have read all of what Laura Fraser has written, including, of course, All Over the Map, and have become a fan. It isn't often one finds her combination of impeccable style, close understanding of human nature, interest in the world around her and tongue-in-cheek humor. All Over the Map is her best work yet. I look forward to anything else she wants to write.
HeahterINfrisco More than 1 year ago
Laura's first memoir "An Italian Affair" left me longing for MORE. More travel, more romance & more comic, heart wrenching, honest tales of a girl finding herself as she moves around the globe in search of love & living life to the max. "All Over the Map" delivers that & so much MORE! If you are searching for a summer read that combines witty tales ranging from cleansing your life starting with the closet, some meditation madness on way, mixed in with long distance love affair with a sexy Frenchman and ends with inspiring adventure of maybe (no spoilers here!) buying a very old, very narrow, very dilapidated house in artsy village of San Miguel de Allende with so much truth & raw emotion woven into each chapter than this IS the book for you! Laura's writing is so easy to relate to & I kept thinking "Oh, that happened to me". Laura is from San Francisco, like me, loves to travel, like me, can be impetuous at times, like me, passionate, like me, quirky, like me & funny, like me. Only funnier. And way more willing to put it out there in print! This book is impossible to put down & be forewarned: "All Over the Map" may cost $20 but you will be inspired to eat, love, travel so get the credit card & sense of adventure saddled up before you dive into page 1! Good lit travels fast, Great lit never stops!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was hard to get into. The only way I was able to finish this was to think the author was writing a story of her journey. I couldn't focus on it well when I thought of the author was writing about a writer, writing about her experiences. There were nice details of the areas and good description of feelings and emotions, but once again I had a hard time getting through the book.
jkaustin02 More than 1 year ago
Laura Fraser's All Over The Map is a funny, witty, sometimes sad but honest review of her life and times. It could be a story about MY life, well, except for the world travel,college and the adventurous Mom! But her trials and tribulations with men and relationships struck a chord with me. Been there, done that. Her insight into the relationships, the whys and wherefores of them, is deeply introspective, completely personal, yet makes you feel you're on the journey with her. Her fears, insecurities, lack of self-esteem...all are part of who we are as women. She just boils it all down to what we all don't want to admit. That we aren't perfect and neither are men. But "la bella vita"! Life is beautiful, and each thing that happens to us, good or bad, makes our lives what they are. What we'll reflect back on in later years. As she says..."The love in your life adds up". So, tuck in your jewelry, hold your passport and money close and act like you know where you're going. You'll get there!
Frisbeesage More than 1 year ago
The relatively new genre of memoir of middle aged woman finding herself (usually after divorce) seems almost a second coming of age. These are women disillusioned by the whole struggle of balancing careers, families, and personal growth, looking to lead fuller, more meaningful lives, and always to find their one true love. Laura Fraser fits easily in this category and All Over the Map is the story of her second coming of age. Laura Fraser is a restless traveler with no roots, running away from the decisions she's made, when her 45th birthday approaches. She decides a man will fix everything and sets out to find the right one. Her travels are interesting and she describes the places she visits in tantalizing detail. I found myself marking places I want to see. Even Samoa, the scene of a life-changing disaster for Fraser, sounds appealing in her description. Still, I cringed every time she jumped into a new relationship and often found myself wanting to shake her. The ending saves the book for me. I won't give anything away, but I felt that Fraser did finally gain some insight.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SakuraKY More than 1 year ago
The author tries to endear us with her affairs with married men and total strangers. Why not watch a soap or read a tabloid? Anyone with basic morals will struggle to connect with this self-indulgent tale.