×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

All Roads Lead to Austen: A Year-long Journey with Jane
     

All Roads Lead to Austen: A Year-long Journey with Jane

3.7 158
by Amy Smith
 

See All Formats & Editions

"An illuminating insight...fascinating."—Amanda Grange, bestselling author of Mr. Darcy's Diary

"A journey through both a physical landscape and the geography of the human heart and mind...delightfully entertaining and often deeply moving, this book reminds us that Austen's world—and her characters—are very much alive."—Michael

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

All Roads Lead to Austen: A Year-long Journey with Jane 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 158 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A thorougly enjoyable trip exporing Latin America along with a Jane Austen enthusiast. Her aim was to find if those in Latin America would relate to Jane Austen's characters with as much involvement as her California students. The people she meets in the various countries are varied and interesting. It's also a good look at the different cutures and ideals which are of inportance to these people as highlighted in her book clubs in each country. Ms. Smith's travelogue is full of surprises. well worth your time and money. I will read it again and again.
BookLover536 More than 1 year ago
This book is really entertaining and interesting. I loved the way the author shared personal stories of her adventures in Central and South America while also incorporating the reactions of the different book clubs to Austen. A must read for anyone really.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Austen fan and budding interculturalist in me truly enjoyed this travel journal of Latin America. I'll refer back to this work often.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I learned a lot about the different Spanish-speaking cultures, along with the varous readers' views on feminism. The book also "brougjt home" that there is more than one way to interpret a story. And, of couse, I was compltely surprised by the was the book ended.
BibliophileDG More than 1 year ago
I found Amy's travel adventures most realistic and honest. I appreciate the varied cultural and socioeconomic responses to her queries. Absolutely fascinating. The author somehow managed to make this an entertaining weekend escape! Well done, Dr. Smith! Well done!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An enjoyable read. I started it, thinking I would not like it, but was delightfully surprised. The author travels all over Central and South America, forming Jane Austen reading groups. It was fascinating to have various cultural insights on Austen's work as well as learning about the places Smith visited. She has a talent for conveying her acquaintances' personalities and for including her own humorous cultural missteps.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A nice weaving of Austen and South American culture.
DM_Bolter More than 1 year ago
This was a Free Friday Nook book. They need to have more of these books on Free Friday ! Purchased it not knowing it was a non-fiction. I prefer them actually to fiction. One of the best "Austen" books I have read. Well written and I could not put it down. Funny and enlightening at the same time. Worth your time and money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
More than anyone needs to know about Jane Austen. Mildly interesting story of how an aging professor dedicated her life to one of the most boring and repetitious Victorian authors, and who barely escaped spinsterhood herself by throwing herself at strangers. She wasted too many years in dusty book stalls and her lonely room looking for meaning in six unreadable novels. And not a single mention of the whispered rumors that Austen was a lesbian who carried on an affair with her own sister!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
the book was not what i thought it would be. there were a lot of slow and boring parts. the best part was the last chapter and the end of the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an amzing book and I think it is appropriate for all ages. I am twelve years old and I loved it. The only issue was that there WERE a few curse words but not very many.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Almost reads like a novel, informative and fun!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like Jane Austen and travelling, you will love this. It will make you want to read or reread all of Jane Austen's novels and hop on a plane to one of the beautiful places that she describes. Amy Elizabeth Smith will inspire you to try new thins and go to new places and not just take in the scenery but also get to know the "pueblo". A must read.
KateUnger More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the Austen book discussion portions of this book. Unfortunately, there was a lot of other stuff in between - random historical facts about various Central and South American countries, tidbits of personal relationships, musings on stereotypes, commentary on native authors of the different countries, and descriptions of people, locations, and medical ailments. The writing in this book was not great. There was too much unnecessary detail. Even in the book discussions, it seemed like no comment was eliminated, and even some Spanish was included, when obviously the reader is an English reader. It reads like a text book at times, which isn't entirely surprising given that the author is a literature professor. I almost stopped reading this book many times, but I was enjoying the Austen references at least most of the time. The beginning of the book was better than the latter half. Maybe because I was losing steam or maybe because Smith got sick of writing the same stuff in different countries. I liked her comparisons of real people to Austen characters, but that stopped after the first chapters. Luckily, after my endurance, I was at least rewarded with a good ending. I admire Smith's courage and sense of adventure. And her idea to study Austen in other cultures was inspired, but I don't think one or two book groups per country is really enough to draw conclusions. The scientist in me was looking for some actual scientific method. Since the book seemed so academic, the approach should have been more controlled. I wanted to love this book. I think that's why I keep going until the end. Sadly, I just didn't. http://momsradius.blogspot.com/2015/09/book-review-all-roads-lead-to-austen.html
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Most entertaining.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you love reading Jan Austen you will appreciate this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm not a fan of Austen, but found this book lover's journey enjoyable. What a dream to travel and discuss books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While it took me a long time to read this book I was impressed with how the writer detailed her travels to the various places. I have only read 1 Jane Austen book but this book has encouraged me to go back and read Austen's others book. I definately think you have to have read at least one of Austens books to know what /who the author is referring to.