×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

All the World
  • Alternative view 1 of All the World
  • Alternative view 2 of All the World
     

All the World

3.6 38
by Liz Garton Scanlon, Marla Frazee (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

All the world is here. It is there. It is everywhere. All the world is right where you are. Now. This simple, profound, Caldecott Honor story is now available as a Classic Board Book.

Following a circle of family and friends through the course of a day from morning until night, this book affirms the importance of all things great and small in our world, from

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

All the World 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 38 reviews.
kherbrand More than 1 year ago
This is a children's book which says ages 9-12, but my 4 year old liked it's simplicity and rhymes - not to mention the beautiful and detailed illustrations that grace every page. (I just found another site which places this in the 3-7 age group which I feel is more appropriate.) It follows a family from morning until night with various places, activities, weather - all the while reaffirming that everything that happens is part of our world - yet at the same time, a part of the bigger world - so we are all really connected. Did that make sense? That is what I got out of it at least.
BBVB More than 1 year ago
My child came home from school so excited about this book and when we walked into the bookstore weeks later and saw it front & center on a display in the Children's section, there was no question how some of our giftcard dollars would be spent! I love this book so much: the artwork is so beautiful & detailed alongwith the lovely writing that I have googled the author & illustrator to see what else they've created.
The_Almost_Librarian More than 1 year ago
I'm going to get reamed by some people for this review, but I call it like it is. The illustrations in this book are gorgeous. They inject humor into the story in some places and I enjoy that it shows people of all skin tones and ancestral backgrounds. The poetry is simplistic (which you want in a child's book) and easy to understand. The concept is beautiful - we are the world and the world is us. The issue that I do have in this book is that it's quite geocentric. We're supposed to be talking about how we are all the world, but, while Frazee gives a nod to Mediterranean architecture and vehicles that can be European, it's very obviously set in the United States (or at least Western Europe). If we're supposed to be "all the world" why would the book not present how all the world holds these same activities and shares all of these characteristics? Why not depict different countries following the same activities in different ways? Maybe it's picky, but children are sharp and intelligent and pick up on these things, so, as adults, we should, too.
preschool21 More than 1 year ago
For many years I have been teaching early childhood and the one message I want the children to leave my classroom with is what a magical and wonderful world we live on and that we need to appreciate all the gifts we receive. This book also gives you a feeling of being connected to other people and families just by traveling along through one day with two children.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
avabella08 More than 1 year ago
What a beautiful book!! If you don't love poetry you will after reading this book!!! I agree this book is for 3yrs and up b/c my 2yr old just enjoys the pictures which are beautiful.I love how the book ties everything and everyone together. Some adults should read this and get back to what is important.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ju_Rocks More than 1 year ago
Feel good book for 3 and 5 year old.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
crazzle More than 1 year ago
This book teaches kids about the parts of a whole, but -- more -- teaches them to appreciate many layers of their experiences. The text offers things for kids to find in the wispy, beautiful illustrations. Parents will enjoy the read, too. It's a perfect bedtime read, as it is almost a meditation on a day in the life of a community.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago