×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Along Came a Spider (Alex Cross Series #1)
     

Along Came a Spider (Alex Cross Series #1)

4.2 803
by James Patterson
 

See All Formats & Editions

The classic thriller that launched the Alex Cross series, the #1 detective series of the past twenty-five years!

A missing little girl named Maggie Rose . . . a family of three brutally murdered in the projects of Washington, D.C. . . . the thrill-killing of a beautiful elementary school teacher . . . a psychopathic serial kidnapper/murderer who is so terrifying

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Along Came a Spider (Alex Cross Series #1) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 804 reviews.
MoGirl More than 1 year ago
This is the first book in the Alex Cross series. Read it and you are immediately hooked and caught up in the Alex Cross series. As soon as you finish one you'll want to move on to the next one. By the time you've read three or four you feel like you personally know Alex Cross.
slaydon More than 1 year ago
I love this book. there were some moments where it seemed a bit slow but sticking through it i truly found i enjoyed it. even if you have seen the movie by all means take the time to read. the constraints of a 2 hour movie can not possibly have the twists that the book allows for and so this book has so much more twists and turns and interesting details in one book that i have seen in a while. the romance was there but not over powering. the real issues the character dealt with and the look into his life how he would see the world and how he would interact was very real and i love that. i now realize why he is so popular and he is now a classic in my library.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a great read for any gender! It is a classic murder mystery with all kinds of twists that can hook anybody. All the characters are introduced extremely well and it is so easy to get to know Alex Cross. The dialogue becomes difficult to understand at times but does not take away the great story line that will suck you in. Read Along Came a Spider to find out what happens with the high profile kidnapping with Alex Cross!
Guest More than 1 year ago
James Patterson at his best. This thriller was an incredible read. The twist and turns to the story line made it hard to put down. Highly recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
James Patterson. A strong writter. Forever remaining great. I started reading him when I was little. Most would be shoked. I however, find his langage fine. If you own his books, and your kids want to read, DO NOT DENY THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Patterson is great for all ages. Black out the words, do something. They will love Patterson. He will have them hooked. James Pattrrson for life. No matter what he writed. WooHooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
DocJimFord More than 1 year ago
In depth characters, detailed plots and a story line that keeps you on the edge. When you pick this up you won't put it down until the last page. The story puts you in the middle, you are as if you are living in the story, you are there. The book has taught me one thing, The entire Alex Cross series is a MUST READ series. You won't regret buying and reading this book. I'm already on book 2 in the series, Kiss the Girls, but that review is for another page, another time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its normally a good read for kids 14 and over because of strong language and violence but if u r an advanced reader and ur parents hav no problem with language or violence this a very good read. A warning tho the next book in the series Kiss the Girls contains worse material.
Springrunner More than 1 year ago
Just started reading James Patterson. Read a few of his current Alex Cross books, but wanted to see how it all began. Great plot development. A page turner for. Those who like suspense thrillers. Not for the weak at heart.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was really good. So hard to put down.
HayleyF More than 1 year ago
First off let me say I really enjoy reading James Patterson books. But just like your favorite band, you usually like the songs that are on their cds that no one else knows about better then their single that plays on the radio a million times. I thought I'd try this book out because everyone who I know who's read it seemed to like it. The story line is pretty interesting, but what I struggle with is the characters. I felt the main character, Dec. Cross was written a little over-dramatic and cliche. It was hard for me to continue reading because the way he was written felt too fake. On the other hand, I really liked the murderer and felt he was written better. I think the book does a good job of showing and not telling, but for me it was a little too boring and cliche for my taste.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I’m a latecomer to James Patterson books. My recent introduction to his writing involved the three excellent NYPD Red novels, which he wrote with co-author Marshall Karp. Those were great books. They were fast paced and plausible. Everything was neatly tied up at the end. Since I enjoyed those novels, I decided to read Patterson’s original Alex Cross novel, "Along Came a Spider." What a disappointment! As other reviewers have mentioned, the romance was excessive. There was a trial in the middle that dragged on too long. But the worst part was the highly implausible ending. There was a dreadful execution scene of someone who never would have been executed in real life. On the other hand, in order to set up a sequel, a different person who was not executed surely would have been in reality. I felt cheated by that tacky ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the first james patterson book that I have read. They were short chapters and a page turner.it was a good read.I would highly recommened it to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very well written books with one or two twists , which were veey well executed and thought out. This is a must read!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought the movie was good and the book was GREAT!! I used to always read the book before the seeing the movie, but this one and Series #2 I have seen the movies first. As always, books give so much more details, descriptions and background of the characters and the reasons why someone does what they do. I am still a huge fan of the Alex Cross stories, but more importantly, HUGE fan of James Patterson.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not only the thrill that kept me at the edge of my seat, but the great choice of wording and the twists and turns! Im definatly going to read the whole seires
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All time favorite author
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kept me going the entire time!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OH MY GOSH I LOVE THIS BOOK you wont want to put it down until the very end
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jovem More than 1 year ago
My first time reading the Alex Cross series!