×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

An Altar in the World: A Geography of Faith
  • Alternative view 1 of An Altar in the World: A Geography of Faith
  • Alternative view 2 of An Altar in the World: A Geography of Faith
     

An Altar in the World: A Geography of Faith

4.1 48
by Barbara Brown Taylor
 

See All Formats & Editions

In the New York Times bestseller An Altar in the World, acclaimed author Barbara Brown Taylor continues her spiritual journey by building upon where she left off in Leaving Church.  With the honesty of Elizabeth Gilbert (Eat, Pray, Love) and the spiritual depth of Anne Lamott (Grace, Eventually), Taylor shares how she learned

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Altar in the World: A Geography of Faith 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 48 reviews.
TheUtleyReader More than 1 year ago
A profound book about the spirituality of every day activities. As a pastor I found myself soaking up the promise of connecting with God and other people through ordinary means. The chapters are organized around particular common practices that could serve the weekly purposes of a book club, small group, or class setting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite Barbara Brown Taylor's books. She so beautifully moves through the various walks of faith and deals with each one a very personal way. Her use of humor and intellect are unparalleled in writing about spiritual practices. Taylor reaches the reader with her wisdom of the language of scriptures and her experiences in world religions. With grace she describes her own journey of 'getting lost' to allowing the blessings of the world around us to touch our everyday lives. It is obvious that her change in careers has allowed her reach deeper into her own faith journey and she brings the reader along for the ride. Thank you Taylor for sharing this with us. I recommended this to our Women in ministry book group and it was a huge success. Everyone was touched and felt connected in their faith journey in some way by her story.
Kpg78 More than 1 year ago
Such a great book. I moved to Albuquerque from Boulder last year. I read this book with my mom. We read one chapter a night over the phone. Was a great bonding time, and way to still feel close. Also, she is Roamn Catholic and I am..Christian with questions..this book was a great middle ground for us. The author spoke of the subject in such a language that we both responded and learned from it. I believe that even someone who is not religious could get alot from this book...its basically about being a good person, loving yourself, your neighbor, and the world around you and she gives you the tools and practices to make that task easier. I loved it and would read another book by her in a heartbeat!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read many of her books, however Barbara Brown Taylor hits home with this book. Essentially, it is a book on spiritual practices for the everyday and relates to things that everyone does. I would recommend it to anyone looking for the spiritual connection found in the everyday and for anyone who would like to do a book study about spiritual practices.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am not good writting reviews and such but I will tell you if I like a book. Usally I find a good book I will follow up by looking at all the books written by that auther. As was the case here.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Andrea Hammer More than 1 year ago
This is an awesome book. A book that you will reread over and over again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My words will not do this book justice. I was so absorbed into it, I missed my train stop. Buy it and see for yourself why I love this book. I'd also recommend that you buy "When God Stopped Keeping Score," which is an intimate look at the power of God in forgiveness. It's on sale here on BN. You will love it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago