×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Altar of Bones
     

Altar of Bones

4.1 79
by Philip Carter
 

See All Formats & Editions

“They didn’t have to kill him…He never drank from the altar of bones.”

Cryptic dying words from a murdered homeless woman in present day San Francisco unlock a decades-buried secret that changed history. Now a pair of ruthless assassins are sent to cut the few living "loose ends." And a young, resourceful woman on the run encounters a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Altar of Bones 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 78 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The cover and title drew me in and I really enjoyed reading this book. Finished it quickly because I couldn't stop reading! I have already recommended this book to friends.
AJAR More than 1 year ago
This is the BEST kept secret (book) of 2011. Tons of twists, turns, and a story line that literally takes your breath away. Ever wonder what it would be like to live forever?? now you can.. BUT with a big side effect. want to join me yet? Yes? then come with me to the alter of bones and lets take a drink and see who makes it out alive...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book grabs you from the start and then hang on! Great cast of characters, loved the Russian history. Bring on another book with Ry and Zoe please!
Ranie Holland More than 1 year ago
Good read, would recommend for anyone who likes adventure
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book. From start to finish I didn't want to put the book down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not too believable, nor too original. But rainy Sunday book that is entertaining.
bookgirl_isaacson More than 1 year ago
Altar of Bones jumps around in the beginning quite a bit, but once you get to the nitty gritty of the story, it's a spy/treasure hunt/suspense thriller based on a Russian folk story. Somewhere deep in the frozen tundra of Siberia there is a frozen lake with a frozen waterfall hiding a cave that legend claims holds the Altar of Bones and a fountain of youth. One particular family, who are descendants of the "magic people" of the area, have passed the secret to the Altar of Bones from mother to daughter for centuries. One woman is known as the Keeper and she must protect the Altar of Bones at all costs. However, these women are tempted by love and the men in their lives tend to prove untrustworthy and only interested in finding the Altar of Bones. Jump to the present day of the story and Zoe Dmitroff finds herself the most recent Keeper when she receives a letter from her grandmother. She starts on a world-wide journey to unlock family secrets. Along the way, she teams up with an ex-DEA agent named Ry O'Malley. Together the two of them travel to Paris, Budapest, and finally Siberia. All while being hunted by a crazy red-headed femme fatale, an old KGB official, and more. This book is chock full of action with car chases and gun fights with a little romance thrown in by the end. It also tries to offer a new conspiracy theory for a presidential assassination with ties to Hollywood. All very interesting to ponder. The book was a tiny bit long for me and dragged a bit about 2/3rd in and picked up toward the end again, but overall was a fun read. I kept turning the pages to find out where the adventure took Ry and Zoe next, whether he would eventually double-cross her and what they would do once they finally found the Altar of Bones.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book! Very engaging. You certainly cannot read it without comparing this book to those written by Dan Brown. To me, it was even more suspenseful. I couldn't put it down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this book fun to read and it kept me turning pages. A good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
fast paced, intriguing. Really enjoyed this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down. Defiantly a must read, amazingly written, and full of suspense. Great, great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like reading suspenseful novels then this is a great one! I love page turners like DaVinci's Code and Angels and Demons and was always in search of another!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down. It was captivating from start to finish.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's a good story and very well wrtten. It had too much romance in it for me. The romance between the characters was not necessay. It kind of cheapened the overall story line.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
At many times the story line was so intense I was literally wide eyed at the edge of my seat -which my family found to be rather amusing to watch. Once you pick this book up you wont want to put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Slow at some points but keeps the reader reading