×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

America the Beautiful: Rediscovering What Made This Nation Great
     

America the Beautiful: Rediscovering What Made This Nation Great

4.4 134
by Ben Carson, Candy Carson
 

See All Formats & Editions

What is America becoming? Or, more importantly, what can she be if we reclaim a vision for the things that made her great in the first place?

In America the Beautiful, Dr. Ben Carson helps us learn from our past in order to chart a better course for our future.

From his personal ascent from inner-city poverty to international medical and humanitarian

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

America the Beautiful: Rediscovering What Made This Nation Great 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 134 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the story of a boy who grew up against odds to become one of the most intelligent men of our times. If he were not needed as a miracle working doctor, we could use his God given wisdom as one of our governmental leaders! He has a heart for our nation and it's people. There is lots of practical advice in these pages so we have given his book as gifts. Our copy will not sit on the shelf but be passed around to spread his wealth of information.
judiflorida More than 1 year ago
Excellent story every American should read. Especially the youth who will find being poor is not an excuse for not attaining dreams . An illiterate single mum who instills education as the gate way to success for a black child. Fill in any poor child who has the potential to become a renound brain surgery like the author. Hurray to Ben Carson M.D. to become the amazing man he is.
jimdep More than 1 year ago
Please run for President Dr. Carson. This country NEEDS YOU!!!! 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this before Dr Carson appeared at the  national prayer breakfast. I am glad others are getting to hear his ideas! Every american should read this book regardless of their political party. Dr. Carson has very common sense ideas on how to fix our nation's problems. Too many Americans today only hear one point of view.  I hope more citizens will become more informed. The future stability of this great nation is at stake. We are on the verge of bankruptcy.  We can not spend our way to prosperity! 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book, like the other book he wrote call Gifted hands. It let me know that no matter what back ground you come from you have a choice. So don't blame everything on society, you have to learn to love all peoples and your country. The good wirh the bad and have faith that everything will work out.
bbqbill More than 1 year ago
Dr Carson is a very, very intelligent man who has a unique ability to break through what seem to be complex issues, and communicate simple, but seemingly effective solutions.  His love of God, and willingness to be His servant and his respect for the Constitution and our founding fathers are refreshing, and have given me new hope for America.  If he were to enter the political arena, he would be the first true leader to step forward Ronald Regan.  Dr. Carson is soft-spoken and humble, both which come through in this book, yet he has tremendous courage.  God has certainly blessed his life, and I have no reason to doubt that He will continue to bless him in helping us save America from a future that is historically certain.
Trapperpk More than 1 year ago
The reading flow paces exactly like he speaks, a calming flow in a matter of fact manner. This is a history book for young adults who may despise the thought of learning history. The book also fuses our nation's past with the present.  The contemporaries may have forgotten the notions of  our evolving National character, but Dr Carson brings forward our historical DNA into today's culture.  Alignment is made along  the journey we have taken to the present moment we are in. A must read for those  who seek relevancy with history during our times.
Dan-Hawkins More than 1 year ago
I was able to watch the video of Dr. Ben Carson speaking at the National Prayer Breakfast. I was inspired to hear him speak with such conviction about the troubles we face. It reminds me of a book by Orrin Woodward and Oliver DeMille I was able to preview that is coming out soon "Leadershift: A Call for Americans to Finally Stand Up and Lead." We need more people from all fields to begin leading right where they are. Thank you Ben Carson for your courage!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well done. Must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A MUST READ!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is an excellent book. I am of the opinion, all the youth of this nation should read it but----- I know that will not happen. I didn't agree with all of Dr. Carson's beliefs and opinions but they make you think.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Narration is excellent. If you have seen Dr Carson on TV, you will realize, that he speaks even slower and softer. However, you will feel from his writings that he is a very thoughtful man An interesting mix of autobiography, early american history, present-day problems in America, what is good in America and some basic solutions for the future You will probably be seeing a lot more of him in the coming years, as he will soon retire from his medical practice, and does not mince words when going after illogical decisions, in life, business or government
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dr Carson tells the truth. He understands what America stands for and what our writers of the Constitution meant by "opportunity". The sense of entitlement has ruined this country and if we don't stand up with those that believe in hard work and God, the USA will implode I am praying we unite and beat the tyranny of our current administration's policies.
AVIDREADERDA More than 1 year ago
Dr. Carson tells his story so easily and inspiring. He would be an excellent mentor for any young people as well as older folks too. His mother was a sly one having them write book reports even though she struggled to be able to read herself. Am looking forward to see what Dr. Carson's future will hold in store for him .. will he run for any political office? This is a book I will savor and "loan" to my best friends and grandkids to read.
Loverien More than 1 year ago
Another voice of reason amidst the insanity and corruptness, crying: "America, wake up! The Philistines are upon you!!!"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
These books should be in everyone's library. Great information to live by.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this read as it makes you really think about current states of affair. I cant help but feel it is still a man now with money posing his opinion on idealism and how things need to change but he isn't exactly pushing them to happen, but it will be ' god's will to help us through'. Great book to read and help see other view points and I did agree on some things.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great views in American history, how we gowhere we are now, why we are goingin the wrong direction and how to get back to our fiunding fathers values to get America back kn track with her beautiful people and their unsirpassed vale sytem
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He falsifies his experiences in order to make money. Talk about a poster child for differentiated intelligence...
CG01 More than 1 year ago
I am now going to watch the movie "Gifted Hands" because it is Dr. Ben Carson's story.
AuthorOfThinkables More than 1 year ago
I'm about 80% done reading this thoughtful book. Every American should read it to (A) see what we missed in our history books, and (B) revel in how our system nurtured a "least likely to succeed" American from Detroit to excel in thinking for himself and achieving so much in many important areas. Especially recommended to inspire young people, and all of us to man up to restore our heritage from our founding fathers. Thank you B&N!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The author is probably too smart to get involved in politics, but he should be our next president...GREAT book!
1980BH More than 1 year ago
I hope he is our next President
janglesJK More than 1 year ago
Excellent historical facts as well as a modern-day approach to our government. His personal biography adds to the interest. A must read for all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dr. Carson thoughtful prescription for the path America needs to follow is supported my numerous quotes from our Founding Father's and scriptural references from the Bible. Ben Carson, is uniquely qualified to speak on what it takes to succeed in America, and how the policies of "the nanny state" act as a disincentive to many today. He communicates his belief that for America to remain strong, our country needs to empower all it's citizens to be the best that they can be. Sandy1945