×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

American Heroes: In the Fight Against Radical Islam
     

American Heroes: In the Fight Against Radical Islam

4.4 16
by Oliver North
 

See All Formats & Editions

What is a Hero? New York Times best-selling author Oliver North says, “Real heroes are selfless. Those who serve America in harm’s way in the war against radical Islam have that quality in abundance. And so do their families and loved ones at home. Yet, they rarely get the attention or coverage they deserve.


“Despite the way they are

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

American Heroes: In the Fight Against Radical Islam 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I chose to read this book becasue i watched Oliver North's military shows when i was younger. I decided that if the book was as good as the tv show then it would be worth my time and it certantly was. I would recommend this book to anyone with an open mind who is willing to learn about the war. The book tries to be politically correct but has a conservative attitude toward most things. American Heroes has great information about the war and provides a touching first hand accounts of these events. Anyone willing to learn will enjoy this book as long as it is read with a open mind.
stormsTC More than 1 year ago
"AMERICAN HEROES" IS OLIVER NORTHS WONDERFUL TRIBUTE TO ALL OF THE BRAVE MEN AND WOMEN WHO SERVED ON THE FRONT LINES IN BATTLE DURING IRAQI FREEDOM AND THE WAR IN AFGANISTAN. WHATS SPECIAL ABOUT THIS BOOK IS THE WRITER WAS REALLY OVER THERE WITH THE TROOPS INTERVIEWING THEM AND LIVING WITH THEM AND GOING INTO BATTLE WITH THEM UNLIKE MANY WAR CORESPONDENTS WHO ARE NOT EVEN THERE AND WRITE THEIR BOOKS FROM THE STATES COL OLIVER NORTH WRITES HIS BOOK FROM THE MIDDLE EAST AND HE IS A DECORATED COMBAT VETREN SO HE KNOWS WHAT BATTLE IS LIKE. THIS IS A VERY REMARKABLE BOOK WHICH SHOWS THE SOLDIER AND SAILER AND MARINE A REAL REACAMENDATION . THIS IS REAL HISTORICAL VIEW OF WHAT LIFE IS LIKE AND GIVES A GREAT APPRIEATION FOR OUR MILITARY.GREAT GIFT IDEA,
jaxman More than 1 year ago
Ollie gives us a soldier's perspective on daily military operations in Iraq and Afghanistan. He and his camera man/producer take us on patrols and missions with many touching and compelling images and narratives. There are profiles of heroes who put it all on the line to serve their country and their fellow soldiers. The many citations supporting medals awarded to the heroes, many posthumously, are gripping and the profiles of wounded warriors are inspiring. This is the news that is not reported in the popular media; stories of personal dedication and sacrifice and outreach to the people of these countries. these stories emphasize the innate goodness, humanity and compassion of the many american military members serving in these foreign lands.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have not read this book yet, but when I read the synopsis and looked through it, I can't wait to get at this book. Oliver North has written several good books and this is by far one of his best.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Oliver North has done fantastic job on articulating why America's military is the finest in the world. His very real examples of courage and faith provide us with reasons to be proud of and thankful for all of the men and women serving this great nation as well as the families they had to leave behind. The book also provides a very accurate and easy to understand history of the conflict in the middle east. It is very uplifting and interesting book for anyone who loves this country.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After reading this extremely well done book, I'm even more motivated to thank every military member I encounter. I for one am grateful to live in a nation defended by truly noble and selfless countrymen. Thanks to Oliver North for having the diligence and courage to tell the truth about the Global War on Terror. This is one of the most compelling books I've ever read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've always liked war stories on Fox News. This book is an extension of that. It is well written and done to the quality as only North can do.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dynamtic More than 1 year ago
A very good account of the men and women in the war . A great read about our best and what makes us that . Great Americans all .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like war history, you will like this book. I didn't really enjoy it until the very last 20 pages. Too much military verbage for me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
'american hereos' grew out of col. oliver norths many trips visting with the brave men and women on the frontlines in iraq and afganistan.I feel this is a very important book because not only will it show what our soldiers are really doing in the fight agaist freedom but it will tell the full story by someone who was really there with military experience. these days the press and certain politicans dont stand for our freedom cause they werent their. this is a great fast reading book that needs to be told. great gift idea for a friend or family member.