×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

An American Life: The Autobiography
     

An American Life: The Autobiography

4.1 53
by Ronald Reagan
 

See All Formats & Editions

Ronald Reagan’s autobiography is a work of major historical importance. Here, in his own words, is the story of his life—public and private—told in a book both frank and compellingly readable.

Few presidents have accomplished more, or been so effective in changing the direction of government in ways that are both fundamental and lasting, than

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

American Life 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 53 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
At a daunting 700+ pages, I was hesitant to tackle this book, as I have a short attention span when it comes to reading. But, An American Life truly maintained my interest. The diary format provided Mr. Reagan's personal viewpoints (and his reasoning behind his strategies) on world events as they happened. It offered a serious look into the mind of this great American. After the lengthy read, I found I wanted to learn even more.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've never been so enraptured by a book before. I always admired Ronald Regan but really grew to deeply appreciate what a great man and a great leader he was. He truly affected the 20th century for the better and is such a huge reason behind the fall of the Iron Curtain. My prayers are with him and Nancy as he struggle with his illness.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. President Reagan masterfully writes about his humble beginnings in Illinois to his decisions in the White House.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
 The book “An American Life” the autobiography of Ronald Reagan is an excellent story structured around the American spirit. This book plot gives a behind the scenes look into Ronald Reagan’s life and historic events that took place under his watch as president. Ronald Reagan was a great American president who believed in love of country and the American spirit. This book embodies the spirit of America. It shows the triumph of American spirit as it focuses on the fall of the Russian nuclear weapons program, the American economics, and the rise of communist view in America. Ronald Reagan was known for many great things. I believe one of the best things he was known for was his “Peace through strength” standpoint. His speech, which featured the classic phrase “Mr. Gorbachev, tear down this wall”, revolved around the “Peace through strength” methodology. This methodology embodies the spirit of America. This former president was able to use this thought processes to negotiate the end of the nuclear arms race with Russia. With Reagan’s fighting spirit and patients, this victory in the nuclear arms race would not of been possible.  In 1981 when Reagan took office, this methodology wasn’t easily obtained. The American military was badly bruised by the end of the Vietnam War and the Carter administration, which gave the military a defense budget of less than nothing. Americans at this point in time looked down on the military. President Reagan refocused the nation on its values sighting love of country and invested in our future as a nation by strengthening our military. The American spirit prevailed and brought pride back to our nation once again. All of this restoration of the American spirit would not have been possible if he wasn’t able to strengthen our economy. Reagan’s instituted policies to reduce the growth of government spending, reduce the federal income tax and capital gains tax, reduce government regulation, and control the money supply in order to reduce inflation, which became the four pillars of the term Reaganonmics. His strong will and continuing fight to do this embodied the spirit of America.   In addition to his economic policies and crushing Russians nuclear weapons program Reagan also believe in American freedoms. With the government growing out of control and freedoms being taken rather than given, Reagan saw the rise of the communist views in America. These views are what drove Reagan into politics and eventually into the white house. Reagan strongly opposed the communist views and emphasized the freedoms of American. His strong will to reinstate freedoms to America and fight oppression revived the American spirit and love of country.   Reagan’s love of country and belief in the American spirit were his biggest allies. During his political service, he was known as the great communicator because he always took his agenda to the American people. The true American spirit lives in this book and is shown in Reagan’s history as president.  The book focused on the triumph of Ronald Reagan presidency on key issues like the fall of the Russian nuclear weapons program, American economics, and the rise of communist view in America, which revive love of country and the American spirit.  
TONYAT More than 1 year ago
JUST BOUGHT THIS AND IT IS A INTERESTING BOOK. A FINE MAN.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book covers his Presidential years, although he does talk about how he grew up and his Hollywood years. I found it fascinating to read his account of his meetings with world readers and to find out how he stuck to his guns when others opposed him and made hard decisions. However, he stayed open to others opinions and thoughts, but he made his own decisions. Quite a man of character and integrity in his own words, it all shines through.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's amazing to see a first person perspective into what I consider one of the best US Presidencies. Seeing his perspective from the Hinkley assassination attempt to hearing him describe his arrival in the white house. I was slightly disappointed that he described his marriage to Jane Wyman in sentence or two, not that it was important but it definitely had a bearing on the person he was. In any case it was very fascinating reading it from his point-of-view.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an easy to read autobiography about a president who came from poverty and used common sense, his faith, and his values to rise to greatness. When reading this, it seems like you are listening to Ronald Reagan talking to you. Ronald Reagan listened to and understood the people he was working for.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An exciting look into the life of our extraordinary 40th Chief Executive.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is poorly written and is more or less the author making himself out to be a greater leader than he was.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ronald Reagan was the greatest president we have had since Teddy Roosevelt and FDR. He loved America and won the Cold War without violence. He cut taxes and saved the economey. He freed us from big and powerful goverment. He's autobiography tells us his life and presidency. Defintley recommened for all ages and Repeblicans and Democrats. Also,he is ten times better than Obama and Clinton and LBJ etc.He's a true american and loved Nancy and Jimmy Carter has no idea what he's talkng about. Ronnie is my idol and I going to be Ptrsident too and continue Reaganomics
maybemanicmaybe More than 1 year ago
Great book. I did not think I would be so interested in Reagan. He was an interesting man with modest ideas about himself but grand expectations about America. An American Life by Ronald Reagan is one I will recommend to my friends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ntenseracer More than 1 year ago
If you were born in the 70's and didn't know much about this man but want to know who he was you must read this book. As a boy I always loved to hear him speak and now I know who the man was. He was a true American that loved this country and had natural leadership.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago