×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

American Sniper (Enhanced Edition): The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History
     

American Sniper (Enhanced Edition): The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History

3.7 282
by Chris Kyle, Scott McEwen, Jim DeFelice
 

NOW A BLOCKBUSTER MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY CLINT EASTWOOD—NOMINATED FOR SIX ACADEMY AWARDS, INCLUDING BEST PICTURE

This special enhanced edition features more than 10 exclusive videos with Chris Kyle and an additional 15 images and descriptions of the weapons used by the armed forces in their fight against terrorism overseas.

From 1999 to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History (Enhanced Edition) 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 282 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This really doesn't have to do with the book so much as the comments about it. Freedom of speech is open to everyone qhether you agree or not. I'm struck by all the negative comments posted by people are eager to hide behind 'anonymous'. My handle is pkb1300 and if what I have annoys you, ok...we won't be friends. But I had the courage to provide my username. Thank you to ALL the military mebers and families for the hell they went through so you could remain anonymous in youe diatribes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book is a must read very good book. The only thing i could not get the entire photos on my nook color.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RIP. There are many Marines alive today because of who you are.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this would be an interesting read but never expected it to be such a great book and story. This is an autobiography and a story, a history lesson, window into the battles in Iraq, a non-political view of the Iraqi war, and more. It is written as shorter stories and accounts of this special man's experiences defending friends, servicemen, and solders. Not that he is any more special than any other person serving in the military, as he himself will attest, but he is a hero all the same. I recommend this to anyone regardless of your political leanings or beliefs because it tells a very real story of how this part of the world is, not just how we would like it or wish it to be. It is very easy to read which is good because you won't want to put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This guy is no Hemmingway when it comes to writing, but what he really is and most important of all is a survivor. Both in combat and keeping his priorities. A very good book to read! They still make them like they used too!
Packleader3 More than 1 year ago
This is one of the better military books I've read. If you want to really feel what it's like to be in the battle zone in Iraq or even think you know what it's all about in Afghanistan, you must read this account. I felt as though I walked through the dirty towns myself, rifle in hand. Chris Kyle is brutally honest about his chosen career and his struggles with family life. No long drawn out stories about Navy Seal training. Just enough to give you the gist. I am in awe of our Special Ops soldiers and their abilities and their love for what they do. At times it's hard to like Chris because as a grandmother I think he should put family first.But, as a woman who honors the military way of life and who wishes she could serve, I understand. His wife is to be congratulated for sticking through. This is a fast, honest and hard hitting book. I understand Iraq so much better and see that it is not always as portrayed on the news. God Bless Chris and his band of brothers in the past, now and in the future. This is my daily prayer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down. A gritty, emotional, sometimes humorous, and honest look at war from a guy that went there with the clear intent of making the other side die for their cause. He did just that, and did it extremely well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So upset when i finished the book. Never wanted to stop reading. I would be tthrilled to shake chris kyles hand. What a true patriot. God bless our troops!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book had me entrigued by how Chris Kyle saw things that most people would be in shock. Excellent and vivid accounts that most of us in the military can relate. Dark events in history but with a twist of humor to it from his point of view.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like it. The enhanced edition is cool too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was absolutly amazing he tells the was as it was and didnt spend any time pattung himself on the back great book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I see some of you folks have problems with the down and dirty type. These boys don't play by PC rules and if they talk sh,t about doing their job they earned it. I am just glad we have some real men left to do the dirty work no thanks any of you PC wuss boys. So I give it 5 stars just because you don't like. Did read half a chapter at Sams, some good sh,t! Meaux
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I haven't even read the book yet, but I'm sure I'll love it. To call ANY of our military murderers is offensive and ignorant. We were, and still are, at war. Our soldiers aren't murderers....they are what stands between the real murderers and every American. To all of them I say thank you and keep up the good work!
Raub-94 More than 1 year ago
American Heros.. Chris Kyle gives us a great insight to what life in the SEALs was like. It started out with his life back in Texas where he was just another cowboy who broke in horses, rode bulls, and worked as a ranch hand. He went from being just another country boy to being a sniper in the SEALs he took us through the training and the beatings he endured to get to where he was. I would recommend this book to anyone. This book gives you a great insight to what the boys who fight for this country go through.
Kathy_G More than 1 year ago
Excellent book written well by author and wife of their experiences on and off the battlefield. How family deals with war and the mentality of a true warrior is revealed. Thank you Chris and Taya for your service to our country!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Overall, this was an easy to read biography of a great american.  It was very honest in its content especially about Chris' thought process on a number of occasions, both operationally and in his personal life.  It was also easy read from the perspective that there is no, 'literary style' to try to figure out.  My impression, Chris is telling his story as if you were sitting next to him, AND his wife Taya.  That was a very interesting aspect of the book.  It is a major  reason I would recommend this book, especially to young married service couples.  Several times throughout the book, Chris tells his piece of the story and then, Taya, tells her side of the same timeframe or event.  It definitely shows the contrasting and sometimes conflicting aspects of married life of a SEAL and his spouse.  Other couples with deploying spouses can definitely related to these contrasting perspectives. Professionally, when Chris details events where he works with other services, or other nation's special operations forces, he is extremely professional in his assessments; it is not all SEAL bravado.  I was very impressed. The take away from this biography is the patriotic depth of a great American Warrior; who happened to be a Navy SEAL, and very proud of that fact.  it is worth the read.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought it was an amazingly well thought out manuscript. Not only was Mr. Kyle honest in his feelings he expressed his feelings and thoughts on becoming a seal, husband and father. Taya I loved the insight you gave as a military wife. When we are thanking our men and women in uniform we forget to include our thanks to the families who have given so much. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed it greatly! Loved the videos.
HOSSMAN More than 1 year ago
Interesting peek into the life and action of a U.S. sniper
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put the book down! Thank you for sharing your battles both on the field as well as off. You have given great insight to the sacrafices that all military give during war. Thank you Taya for sharing your feelings as well as allowing people to see how you had sacrafices with the biggest one being your husband. Best of luck to all of you! Simply put this book ROCKS just like both of you!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not only an amazing book but an amazing man as well
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a really cool book and well written. Thanks for your service chris
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I appreciate the memoir style and family contributions. Life is messy, jumbled, at times extreme or exaggerated; I don't generally care for military storylines however, the human aspect of this book made for a fascinating and enlightened read. I'm greatfull we have military personnel to preform these difficult tasks. God bless.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Unless you have physical Nook and intend to read this book on the Nook itself, DO NOT PURCHASE this book. It is not available through the nook app (web, pc, mobile). Not sure why this is not clearly mentioned in item title or format. 5 stars because I do not want to hurt sales for American hero, Chris Kyle. However, haven't been able to read book for reasons above as of yet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good read. The author was no wordsmith. But his writing is very matter of fact. Straight forward. Worth every penny.