×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Among the Barons (Shadow Children Series #4)
     

Among the Barons (Shadow Children Series #4)

4.6 144
by Margaret Peterson Haddix
 

See All Formats & Editions

Luke Garner, an illegal third child, spent his first twelve years in hiding. For the past four months Luke has lived among others, using the identity of Lee Grant, at the Hendricks School for Boys. But just as things are finally starting to go right, Lee's little brother Smits arrives at the school and Luke finds himself caught in a tangle of lies that gets more

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Among the Barons 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 144 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Among the Barons is the fourth novel in the shadow children series. This novel is my favorite of all the shadow children series. There is never a dull moment; it is filled with many surprises and a great deal of suspense. In this novel Luke, the main character, is a third child and is forced to hide from the outside world, because being a third child is illegal. The only people he had ever talked to were his mother, father, and two brothers. In this novel Luke gets the chance to live a real life and to break away from the shadows. He gets a fake identity of a boy named Lee Grant, who was killed in a skiing accident outside of the United States. Luke is sent to the Hendrix School for boys. At first Luke is very shy and unaware of how to act around other boys in the school. After a few months Luke becomes more and more comfortable with his surroundings and comes to find that almost all of the children at the Hendrix School were shadow children with fake identities. Luke did not stay comfortable for long. He was informed later that year that Smits, his new brother, was coming to Hendrix. After Smits arrived a chain of events is set off and Luke finds out that the boy he has been pretending to be is no ordinary boy. Luke's new name is one of the biggest names in the United States. Luke is told he must return to the Grant's house. When Luke arrives he is greeted with smiles and laughter, but little does he know the Grants are hiding something under all the glamour. He uncovers the real reason he was given Lee Grants identity and finds himself face to face with the shadows once again.
Brittany5704 More than 1 year ago
I began this series when I was in grade school and when I found it again, I had to finish it. They are good books for kids and adults alike. They get you thinking and they help you see the world from a different perspective. Most of all, this series is something that is entirely possible. The series is about a world in which it is illegal for families to have more than two children due to alleged "food shortages". The series is told from the perspective of several different so-called "shadow children," which are the illegal children unlucky enough to be born third, fourth, or even fifth in their family. Their lives consist hiding and a deep fear of the population police. It might be frightening for some children to read (I know that it scared me a little bit when I was younger--and I'm not even a third child in my family!). It is a scary thought for a child to imagine these kinds of things to be possible. I still recommend it for children to read--and their parents too!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this series is so cool and it gets even more awesome and intense with the series! I think everyone should read this!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love these books. Even though I'm only one thr thrird book I still like it. I liked how the secong book was boring at first but when you get going it gets better. But so far my favoite is the third. When Nina went to save Percy, Matthias, and Alia from prison that is so far my favorite part. I wonder if they will get cought. I also wonder if they are going to find Lee Grant. My best guess is that they will find Lee and ask to use his garden. I bet the three kids are third children. But the fourth book looks like it might be better then the third. All I know is I am going to keep reading the series. It has been amazing reading these first three books. I was'nt sure if the first book would be good. But I guess it is. If I could get my sister to read this book and she likes it I will be amazed. Because she has read th hobbit and she likes it. So I'm not even sure if she will like the first second book. She read the first book and liked it. So I'm wondering if she will like the second book. But the point is that I like the book and I'm still going to read the books. Got to run see you people who like these seires
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so cool
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Full of mysteries. cant wait to read what happens next!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The first time i read this i was in my 4th grade reading class!!! I fell in love with it!!!! I started reading all of the other books in the series!!!!!
Paula Corbett More than 1 year ago
This series from haddix is amazing she can really think
ashtonn More than 1 year ago
Among the Barons, is the fourth book about the shadow children, with the main character named Luke. Luke is the third child in his family, but third children are illegal during those times.Luke attends Hendricks school for boys, with other boys who are illegal third children. He receives the I.D. of a dead boy named Lee Grant. While away at school, Luke's (Lee) brother "Smits" Grant comes to school with him,. Smits is one of the real Grant family members. After a dangerous happening at the school, the boys are taken away to the Grants homestead. Luke doesn't understand why the Grants want him to come home, after being ignored by them for so long. Luke finds out he is just a pawn for the Grants power and money, and they want to stage his death. Smits bodyguard "Oscar", knows the secret that Luke is not Lee and what had happened to the real Lee. Luke is stuck between choosing to help the Grants or Oscar.This is one of the most interesting books, I have ever read. If you haven't read it, I strongly suggest you do. It is good for children of all ages.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book is filled with nonstop action and what will luke do with his idenity
Guest More than 1 year ago
these shadow children books are soooo AWESOME i just read the 5th and cant wait for the 6th!!! i love how there is no boring part....you just cant put the book down!!!!
sandrabrazier 6 months ago
What a surprise it is for Luke, aka Lee, when he is told that his little brother would be joining him at Hendricks! He has never met this ‘brother’, as his false identity had been taken from a deceased boy he’d never met. If you had not yet read this series, Luke is a third child in a society in which third children are illegal. Anyway, after a near-tragedy, both boys are sent ‘home’. Now, in his ‘home’ surrounded by ‘family’, Luke must work even harder to be Lee. He discovers so many lies that he can no longer distinguish the truth from fiction. This is the fourth book in the SHADOW CHILDREN series, and it is one of the best. As with all the books in the series, the characters are well-developed and the action is nonstop. But this one has lots of twists and surprises.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the shadow children series i am now on the 4th book Among the Barons i just got done with Among the Betrayed. I cant belive what mr. Talbot does to nina. Apparently it was a couple of tests but i dont think so. Jason i cant belive tryed to betray all of them that made me so sad.
Grace8411 More than 1 year ago
The book Among the Barons is a very good book and is the 4th book in the shadow children sequence. It tells of a young boy named Luke who hid from the outside world and couldn’t be seen. Luke was born as a third child and having 3 kids was considered illegal. But in this book Luke got a fake identification card of a kid who was rich but died skiing outside the U.S. The child who died was named Lee Grant and was loved by everyone in his family. Luke with his fake identification card got sent to Hendrix School for boys. After a few days of his stay Smith came to visit him, he was the son of the Baron family came to visit him. The identification card that Luke free from being a third child had originally been a son of the Baron family, which made Smith and him brothers. Smith had arrived with a body guard and was often quarreling with the body guard. They caused so much trouble that they were sent back to the Baron home, but this time Luke came them. That night Luke found out that the real reason that the Baron’s took him in was not for love but to use him and then return in to where he came from. Which means that Luke has to go back into hiding after the Baron’s were done with him. Luke was angry and frustrated, they didn’t understand what it was like to go back into hiding. Where there was no one to talk to or play with, all he could do was hid and not let others know his presence. So he came up with different plans. Read to find out what happened and if he succeeds or not!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its soooo lame
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yaaayayaaaaqayyyyaaaa
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I agree with below its just immature and im only 10 and i know whats immature like farting.just grow up
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thank you for helping me. Dont read those sex articles fill your head with good things
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wwethfdghjyghbmm
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Real good thats what
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I totes legit like agree with ericka!.. whoever you are!!! Great book! You will totally miss out if you dont read!!!! *teehee*