×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Among the Impostors (Shadow Children Series #2)
     

Among the Impostors (Shadow Children Series #2)

4.4 307
by Margaret Peterson Haddix, Cliff Nielsen
 

See All Formats & Editions

Luke Garner is an illegal third child. All his life has been spent in hiding. Now, for the first time, Luke is living among others. He has assumed a deceased boy's identity and is attending Hendricks School for Boys, a windowless building with cruel classmates and oblivious teachers. Luke knows he has to blend in, but he lives in constant fear that his behavior will

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Among the Impostors (Shadow Children Series #2) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 307 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is great. Right when you think things are slowing down and won't pick up again... BOOM! Something big comes out of nowhere and keeps you reading. When you think, I'll just read one more chapter, you really can't. A wonderful sequel to Among the Hidden, and it just keeps you guessing until the end.
motormouth-MCReading More than 1 year ago
"Among the Imposters" is written by Margret Peterson Haddix and published by Aladdin Fiction. This book is AMAZING; once I got going, I couldn't put it down. The story is about a young boy, Luke Garner. He's 12 years old, is a third child and in his society if you're a third born in a family, then you pretty much have no right to live. In this book he gets a fake I.D from his former friend's dad, Mr. Talbot. Mr. Talbot takes Luke to a reform school with his new fake I.D, as the name of Lee Grant. Luke hates the school because he gets picked on and gets tortured by an Evil boy he names, The Jackal Boy. The Jackal and his gang torture Luke. They make him say he's an exany, which means "shadow kid"; which is another name for an illegal third child. This book is about Luke and how he's taken from not seeing anyone to being whisked away to a rich person school. New clothes new name, new life, new food; out of his cozy attic in the woods. No friends, could you imagine? I would recommend this book to everyone of any age because this is one of my favorite books of all time and this is probably one of the best books you will ever read. If you don't like reading, then read this series, it will change your mind about books, Margret Peterson Haddix is an amazing author.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this story is about an illehal third child that is out of the hidding and into the open and he has to go to a private school for boys only while his friend jen is dead and he is having trouble making friends with his roomates and see what happen in AMONG THE IMPOSTERS...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Everytime you pick up this book its like something exciting is happening....i cant put this book down.......this book is the best.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The title of my book is Among the Imposters, and the author of it is Margret Petterson Haddix. Luke Garner is the name of the boy in my story but he has a fake I.D. name Lee Grant. He takes the name of Lee Grant because he or Luke is a third child. If he is found by the population police he will be killed because he is a third child and the government does that because of the lack of supplies. He is sent to this school called Hendrix School for boys. He does not like being there because he is getting picked on by boys and the leader that is picking on him the most is called Jackal boy, he also does not feel like he fits in. So somehow the population police finds out that there is third born children so they come and search the school and they take Jackal boy away. I recommend this book to all readers. The reason I would recommend the book is it is an adventure book and a little of a mystery book also. This book was a page turner because you don't know what is going to happen next and it keeps you on your feet. It was easy to concentrate on the book because there was always action or a problem facing Luke. Some people could also be able to connect to the charter Luke, if you have ever moved to a different school and if you didn't fit in this would be a good book for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Among the Imposters was a great science fiction novel written by the award winning author Margaret Peterson Haddix. While I was reading Among the Imposters I really enjoyed reading it because Margaret Peterson Haddix used a lot of sensory details to make me feel like I was in the school with him. The last two chapters weren¿t very good. It was kind of boring because I expected it to be more mysterious or to have more action in it.
Among the imposters takes place in the future at a school called Hendricks School for Boys. Since the book takes place in the future it is illegal to have more than two kids. Thirteen year old Luke Garner is an illegal third child. He tries throughout the population police. When Luke first gets to Hendricks gets to Hendricks he finds a door to the outside. One day he goes outside and tries to plant a garden. The next day he goes out and finds out that someone destroyed his garden. So he stays outside one night to see who wrecked his garden. A group of kids come out and he follows them. When he finds that the kids who wrecked his garden are actually illegal third children, but he doesn¿t know if he should come out and say that he¿s a third child or not.
Margaret Peterson Haddix uses a lot of foreshadowing in her writing. She also has a lot of symbols in her writing. As she writes you get kind of like a mysterious feeling about some of the characters. I think if someone was looking for a good mystery book they should read this novel. But, before they read this book they should read the first book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read it and i love it the funny thing is was that my teacher was reading it and my name is luke and someone else in my class is named jason and people were asking me like "why did you do that to jason" it was funny
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We read at school and I dont want it to end i cant put it DOWN.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book!!!! I couldn't put it down. I can't wait to read the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
U need to read this to learn an important life lesson. This book taught me manny things . U have to read this book it is awsome it should be called among the hidden awsomeness.!! It totaly roks out loud. It is amazing and awsome.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its a really great book those who love adventers and mysterys you will love this book so make sure to try and read the whole series I really recamend this book yes im reading the whole series read it you will love the book and whole series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book. I can't wait to read the rest if the series. This series takes place in the future. It is about a boy name Luke, who is a third child. In these times third children are not aloud. If you were a third child you would be killed by ' the population police.' This series takes you through the adventures of his life. This particular book is the second in the series. To sum it up, it is about how Luke is at the Hendrekson school for boys with a fake identity trying to pass as a normal kid, not a third child.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is absolutly amazing im buying it to read AGAIN this is the third time i've read it and there will be more (:
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well, the first books ending was extremely sad with jen and eveything, but, i cant wait to read and buy the seriesm i did among thr hidden for a book report/ and i was NOT expecting the ending! Student
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi who ever is reading this i just wanted to say that this is such a great book, but to understand it you need to have read the first one. So far i have read the first second and third, there all great. I cant wait to read the rest and comment so i can see how you like it, most likly love it. LOVE THE BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im at the end of Among the Hidden and it was awesome. I want to buy the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
:) sooo good and addicting!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is aboutwhen luke aka lee grant got his fake id and went to private school and in the at the end he caught jason on the phone telling about the population police about the other third childs luke hit him with a hard cover book luke put him in a coma for days the poupalation police but the man said i got the picture to tell u hes lee grant look could not belive it it looked just like him he was saved he was in cacoon then they took jason because he was lieing then he disapered then i bet they killed him
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Margeret Peterson Haddix is my favorite author! I read the first book in this series in 5th grade. Now i am in high school and am still loving this series! GREAT BUY IF U HAVE READ THE FIRST BOOK!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love margret peterson haddix and this one if the many reasons why
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I cant wait to read these books. Im 11 years old and i think this is a perffect book if you like to read. Thrilling and exciting are my favorite types of books and this has both. Please read! :D
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!
Emily Ransom More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I cant wait until the 3 and 4 books come out on the nook on july 26.
Emily Workman More than 1 year ago
This is one if the best books i have ever read
Tonya Dekeyrel More than 1 year ago
This book is great!!!!!!