×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

An American Son: A Memoir
     

An American Son: A Memoir

4.1 29
by Marco Rubio
 

See All Formats & Editions

Few politicians have risen to national prominence as quickly as Marco Rubio. Here is the full story of his unlikely journey.
 
Florida Senator Marco Rubio electrified the 2012 Republican National Con­vention by telling the story of his parents, who were struggling immigrants from Cuba. They embraced their new country and taught their children to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

An American Son: A Memoir 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"an american son" is very hard to put down and shows what an individuel can do whean they come to this country with hard word and good values and listen to their parents and grandparents wisdom such is the amazing life life of senator marco rubio. his parents saw promince in this young boy and knew he could make a life for himself so they got him to america were he became successful in college football and law firms and became a carismatic politican all from listening to the advice of his parents and grand parents and showing that hard work pays off. great gift idea for a friend or family member.
politica More than 1 year ago
I could not put it down and read it in one evening as I received it last night. It is wonderful to read how true he is to his values, his family, God and country. You can feel his sincerity and passion in his words. We definitely need more leaders like him in Congress. I am grateful that he saw it through and won the senatorial race. He stared adversity in the face and forged ahead. Thank you Senator Rubio for becoming a great voice in this nation and I look forward to the day you serve as President of the United States. God bless you and your family.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book shows us that anything is possible in this great country as long as yu work hard.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An enjoyable story of a down-to-earth guy that was willing to make sacrifices in order to succeed
MissJudyNY More than 1 year ago
This is a great read. Marco Rubio doesn't sugar coat anything...he admits to his faults and downplays his strenghts...very realistic about his career and his personal life. So open and compelling...that's why he's a rising Conservative politican and policy maker. So young to have such deep insights into himself, his career, and our country's founding and what America needs to continue to be the leader of the free world!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an insightful story of a son of immigrant parents. Shows the qualities and character that are needed in a leader. The beginning of the book was a bit slow, but tempo picks up as you read further along. The book caused me to stop and think of how fortunate I am to be a citizen of the USA.
lkmessina1 More than 1 year ago
A very encouraging and happy read. How wonderful to see that dreams can be accomplished with hard work, dedication and integrity and how it can be handed down from one generation to another. NO MORE EXCUSES!!
ScottyJS More than 1 year ago
In spite of the one-star critics who probably didn't read the book, but just expressed their bias, I read it completely. I didn't know much about Rubio before, but I do now and I like what I discovered. Rubio is open and honest about his mistakes (public and private) and he's still a US Senator. That's amazing. He is a strong family man who loved his parents and grandparents who immigrated from Cuba to the US in 1956. He credits them wich everything he has accomplished. He is a man of faith who is not ashamed to express his convictions. I believe he is very bright and competent. Would I vote for him for President? Not sure yet, but I lean more in that direction than I did before I read his book.
VONNIELD More than 1 year ago
I THOROUGHLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK i LAUGHED I CRIED I WAS SO INSPIRED
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the care in which he talks about his family as well as his love for this country.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A RISING STAR A GREAT MAN HOPE HE WILL BE OUR PRESIDENT ONE OF THESE DAYS
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I FELT I GOT TO KNOW MARCO RUBIO AND I LIKE HIM VERY MUCH. IT'S A GOOD FAST EASY READ
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a real good book and tells about Marco Rubio's early life and some about how state elections work and why he decided to became a congressman
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An outstanding book. One of the best bio I have ever read. A totally honest reveal of his life and personality. He hides nothing. Reveals both his good points and his bad points. While I admired Marco Rubio before, now I admire him even more. He is no born and bred politician. He came from the bottom up and overcame numerous obstacles.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Engaging story of American success. If you want to understand Rubio the man, read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He is a man of great strength as illustrated in his political battle to become senator. He would be a great asset to Romney and the Republican partry if named VP. I think this book does a good job of vetting. Charisma, energy--just what the party needs.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stories like this are what obama a the lib-tards are afraid of !!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very good story, well said