×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Anam Cara: A Book of Celtic Wisdom
     

Anam Cara: A Book of Celtic Wisdom

4.3 34
by John O'Donohue
 

See All Formats & Editions

Discover the Celtic Circle of Belonging

John O'Donohue, poet, philosopher, and scholar, guides you through the spiritual landscape of the Irish imagination. In Anam Cara, Gaelic for "soul friend," the ancient teachings, stories, and blessings of Celtic wisdom provide such profound insights on the universal themes of friendship, solitude, love, and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Anam Cara 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Anam Cara has been a constant companion of mine and a spiritual treasury since I discovered it 4 years ago. I cherish this book and it's author, John O'Donohue and so will you. My life has been blessed with the wisdom I have taken in from this masterpiece. If you are on a spiritual journey of your own or if you have a hunger for the spiritual & devine, you will treasure this book. John O'Donohue takes you on that spiritual journey, touching your heart and nourishing your soul by linking the human with the devine. You won't be able to put this book down.
literatissima More than 1 year ago
Anam Cara means "soul friend" in Gaelic. This book of Celtic wisdom explores life, friendship, love, relationships, work and death from a very soulful perspective. I particularly enjoyed the application of various Celtic sayings and poems throughout. The Universal message of the book is essential for everyone, regardless of cultural background. I would highly recommend this book to those that seek, those that enjoy reading about spirituality and those who have an interest in ancient Celtic wisdom.
stefID More than 1 year ago
I was required to read this for my class and it turned out to be the most beautiful book I have ever read. Its eloquence touched my soul. O'Donahue gives the reader a true spiritual perspective on life in all its aspects. I feel grandly fortunate to have been given the gift to read this. I highly recommend it to those seeking answers to spiritual questions.
denfrog More than 1 year ago
This was a wonderful little book that caught my eye as I was purchasing a self help book for myself. This book was much more helpful to me than the book that I went to buy. My own interest in Celtic history and culture were also enriched by the ideas that the author explored. The wisdom that I found in the book has been very useful to me in my journey through a difficult time. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in those mysteries of the Irish spirit. The poems and quotes used were particularly appropriate to the ponts the author illustrated. I will keep this book on my bookshelf next to my collection of Yeats poetry.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book takes me to a beginning of my coming to life where the most natural of beauty in the thoughts, feelings, senses, and the good conscious of the world seem to remain. Through this book, I returned to the essence of Love and of Being I once knew some place, somewhere, before the moment of my birth. Through the Anam Cara, I am reached back to the time of my birth and despite who I have become, reconnect to the smell, touch, vision and sounds of the truth of devine Love, Life and Death. I am whole again. The Anam Cara, combines philosophy with poetry and Celtic mantra that might serve as a cleasing to the most evil of hearts, and a source of inspiration for Love, Friendship, Trust and Hope within the self and human relationship throughout the world and beyond. Great lessons from one person's view on Celtic beliefs, expressions, poetry, philosophy, imagination, prayers, rhythms, wisdom, spirituality, vibrations, vision, family, friendship, and Love. Recommended reading on a quarterly basis. I found myself on a train sharing it with a woman sitting next to me....I had to let someone else read what I had in that moment, 3 years ago. I haven't stopped sharing it. Don't you stop. Sincere thanks to John O'Donohue!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a lovely book. I have given it to numerous people. You must have a soul open to love and beauty to really appreciate this book. John O'Donohue provides beautiful images that connect on a soul level.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book has so much truth and wisdom - it needs to be read again and again. I just love this book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
And many many truths. I purchased this book while touring the British Isles, and was inspired by it to research more by the same author. Common sense, but with a spiritual reach to it, this book will open many 'ah'ha's' to your own spiritual journey. ENJOY as much as I did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SusG More than 1 year ago
Let the beauty of these delicate words unfold in the landscape of your soul. John O'Donohue gives us the gift Of Ancient Celtic Wisdom to help us overcome our modern confusions and longings.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago