×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Anarchist Cookbook
     

The Anarchist Cookbook

3.9 42
by William Powell
 

See All Formats & Editions

Perhaps the most notorius How To manual on the market. This is the most asked for book that we know of. Is it any good? Well, it's now in its 29th printing since 1971, has chapters on home preparation of weapons, electronics, drugs, and explosives. Extensively illustrated.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Anarchist Cookbook 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 42 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent book if you are interested in blowing stuff up and possibly getting yourself killed, but don't think for a second that this is what anarchy is really about. I enjoy blowing stuff up as much as the next guy, a love everyone who has ever been a teenage boy can understand, but that is completely separate from anarchy. No true anarchist i know would condone the actions in this book if they are used against people, maybe blowing up barbie dolls in an open field somewhere for fun, but never for malicious intent. be warned, if you try almost any of the things described in the book, you stand a real chance of killing yourself or getting yourself arrested. Overall, it's worth reading, but use your head people
Guest More than 1 year ago
it is not a matter of 'rep-ing' anarchy nor saying anarchy will work. whats important about is its culturaland polical statements its less about bombs and more abou personal freedom and rights
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book does not promote anyone to do anything illegal. Very well written material. I think this is the sort of book that everyone should read. It explains how all things are done. This may help to understand how other societies do things and may protect you in some aspects.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Armchair Revolution: 1. Make some friends 2. Take them all to the voting booth and elect your own crook. 3. Profit
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books i have ever read. I don't see how it provokes violence because its just a book. It isn't a book thats bad, it's the person that gets bad thoughts that are violent.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I know what people are going to say. There going to say,'Anarchy has nothing to do with the total annihilation of things..blah blah blah(long description of Anarchy).' But I say, if you truly want Anarchy, you can't do it in some peacefully/hippy way. No, if you're a true Anarchist, you know you need to play dirty to make your dream happen. You need these things for it to happen. Hence the title, 'The Anarchist Cookbook'. If you want to use this for education purposes fine. If you want to do more, thats fine too. But if you're a little kid that thinks this is to blow things up, just go play with something else. Its not for you. So :P
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have heard of this book mainly being used for the destruction of society. I am posting this review to help look at the BENEFITS of this book. Many criminologists have used this book to help them in their work. It may help identify home-made drugs, bombs, and other 'recipes' taught from this book. If nothing else, it may be preventive help. IE: If someone is caught stocking up on ingredients for these recipes. I myself have thought of going to school for a career in the feild of criminal psychology, or crime scene investigation, and I feel this book could come into some use in the future for the benfit of society rather than the fall of modern laws.
1spook2go More than 1 year ago
  As a former police officer the first time I purchased this book was way back in the 1970's when it first was introduced.  It is an interesting  "coffee book" to have, hold on to, and frequently discuss.  But that is just about it!  But as a liberal Democrat myself I am more concerned when any politician considers any book is not protected by the First Amendment of the US Constitution.  A Constitution she and they are all sworn to protect.  When any politician considers free speech is not important to defend then it is time to replace that person for once and for all.  Semper Fi!
ginabe1 More than 1 year ago
Bought this for my 30 year old son on line. Should have looked for reviews. Looked at two chapters, "Drugs" and "Lethal and Non-Lethal Weapons". Returned the "cookbook". Wish I could give it no stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not to shabby
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read some of what is in this book and don't exactly believe the title gives much to what the book actually is. This isn't for anarchist as much as it is for nihilist. Most true anarchist aren't all about total and complete destruction as much as they are for the idea and actual pursuit of happiness without a corporal hand in the game. This book is 'ok' for some of what it generalizes on but when it comes to anarchy there isn't anything useful in it. buy it if you want to learn to be a criminal and have an idea on what a bomb is made of. But if you want to be an anarchist read something else and think about your own ideals first.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The recipes for explosives are both inaccurate and lack the proper steps required to safely produce high explosive. Example, it has dozens of chemicals that can be used to make black powder, but it doesn't mention the steps required to mix them, or the power/stability of each recipe, and may require hard to get chemicals that could be made to make even better explosives. I'm a marine Demo expert, I know what I'm talking about.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've heeard this book also has to do with the witch trials back in the day is this true.....ive never read the book myself because it was my understanding that you can get in a lot of trouble for being in possesion of the book ....if i happen to be wrong please inform me....but my main question is about the witch craft aspect because I just started a report for school so does it talk about witch craft and rituals for stuff of that nature (I'm not a warlock and have absolutely no desire to be dabbling in forces of that nature are well dangerous if they do indeed exist) please pay no attention to my rating the website is jmaking me post one as i said ive never read the book but i figure the people who have are the best people to ask!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I don't agree with anything in this book, but banning books is not the answer. You have to fight the problem beneath - why would someone WANT to do anything described in this book?
Guest More than 1 year ago
First, don't buy this because you are fourteen and think you are an anarchist because you listen to Green Day and Antiflag. The information provided is dangerous and you can get in some serious trouble for it. If you want the risk then I would recommend this book.