×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

And She Was (Brenna Spector Series #1)
     

And She Was (Brenna Spector Series #1)

4.0 92
by Alison Gaylin
 

See All Formats & Editions

“A deftly plotted, completely involving novel with one of the most memorable protagonists to come along in years.”
—Laura Lippman

“Label me a big fan.”
—Harlan Coben

Edgar® Award nominated author Alison Gaylin is rapidly becoming a major player in the thriller game. A breathtaking novel of suspense, Gaylin’s

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

And She Was 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 92 reviews.
cohlie More than 1 year ago
Alison Gaylin is an exceptionally good mystery writer. Characters are interesting and believable. I really liked the twists and turns of the plot. Looking forward to her next release.
RobbiS More than 1 year ago
I'd never heard of this author, but read a brief review in Woman's World Magazine. I was captivated by the story from almost page one. It was a true page turner and one of the best books I have read in a long time. The lead character was intriguing with her "total recall" memory and I like the way the story ended knowing that there will be a sequel and that maybe we will get more of an insight into her sister's disappearance -- it will be a long wait until 2013 when that book is released.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The summary on the back grabbed my attention, but I was hesitant to read it. I like fluffy mysteries with a female heroine -- Kate Collins, Julie Hyzy, Ellen Byerrum... I like a mystery but I scare so easily!! I like the stories without the blood and gore. :) This was a different kind of book than I am used to, but it was a great story -- interesting, well written and an intriguing plot. I will be excited for her next book!
kaitlynlenhart More than 1 year ago
really good mystery. a page turner
alexia561 More than 1 year ago
The book blurb reminded me of the TV show Unforgettable, where Detective Carrie Wells remembers everything she sees. In fact, that's one of the reasons I wanted to read this one! Brenna Spector is a little like Carrie, only her memories don't seem to be as controlled and she can sometimes drift away into the past. While fascinating, this ability also sounds like an incredible burden. Some things are better left to hazy recollections, softened by time. Brenna is an investigator who specializes in missing persons. While I kept comparing her to Carrie Wells at first, she soon became her own person. She seemed more vulnerable than Carrie, maybe because she had less control over her memory? While reading, I wasn't sure if I liked Brenna or not, but wound up liking her by the end and wanting to learn more about her and her life! The mystery itself is rather strange. Carol Wentz blames herself for the disappearance of a little girl eleven years ago and has been obsessing about it ever since. That didn't ring true for me, as it wasn't really Carol's fault and I didn't believe that she would do some of the things she did. Then Carol disappears, and her wallet is found in the missing girl's old house. Curiouser and curiouser.... Found myself more interested in Brenna, her struggles with living with her Super Memory, and how it affected both her personal and professional life than in Carol's disappearance. I didn't really like Carol, Carol's husband, or any of the other characters involved in the disappearance and just wanted to get back to Brenna. Because of that, I gave this one a 3/5 as while I liked it, the main plot kept getting in the way! Really liked the main character, but didn't care about the mystery. Does that make sense?
Mary-Hatch More than 1 year ago
Lots of good twists and turns
scrappyquilter More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I have read by Alison Gaylin. I will definately read more of her works. There are two main story lines. One was completed in this novel and the second she has just hinted at, so of course I will be impatiently waiting for the sequel which is planned for release in Winter of 2013. However, Ms. Gaylin has also written 4 other novels which I have put on my reading list.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read. The flash backs threw me off at first but great book. Will read the rest in series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found the plot of "and she was", to have a unique twist on a common storyline. The main character,Brenna, has a background that helps her stand out as a female PI, which has become a well used theme for today's thrillers. The book is well written and the characters well developed. I am looking forward to seeing where the next books in the series takes Brenna.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My first time reading anthing from this author what caught my eye was brennas condition it reminded me of a tv show anyway i'm glad I read this book and now I have a new author to read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book! Will keep you guessing up to the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Exciting book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Keep me wanting more at the end of the book. Good story, full of suspense and surprises.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It kept me interested the whole time. Smart and clever with some great moments of insightful writing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fast paced with a many-faceted story line. I'll be looking for more from tnis exciting author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the journey to the conclusion of the story. Brenna is an intriguing and sympathetic main character. I will definitely buy the next book in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this one and the sequel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a new author for me. I really enjoyed this suspenseful book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story with a fresh perspective
ENMBookworm More than 1 year ago
Great book, well-written. Alison Gaylin's style of writing is wonderful. I loved the characters and the plot was suspenseful and intriguing. Great read. I will definitely be reading more of her work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great read that is quick-paced, and a good story/mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. Really like the characters. Can't wait for new book to come out
lytechaser More than 1 year ago
This was an good read but I felt the ending was a bit of a letdown in dealing with the culprit. Main characters unresolved issues also made it obvious this would have a sequel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this book is a really good mystery but i wouldent say its the best mystery book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read