×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

And Sons
     

And Sons

3.3 21
by David Gilbert
 

See All Formats & Editions

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
The Washington Post • The New Yorker • Esquire • The Austin Chronicle • Kansas City Star • The Guardian (UK) • BookPage • Flavorwire • Bookish

“[A] big, brilliant novel.”The New York Times Book Review<

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

And Sons: A Novel 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Jamie6 More than 1 year ago
David Gilbert has created a modern masterpiece. The writing leaps off the page. The characters are all so incredibly well defined it reads like you are reading about real people. I highly recommend this book.
GrammyReading More than 1 year ago
probing, witty, inventive, exploratory, revealing....humorous, touching, thought provoking, tragic.....new york, manhatten, central park west....fathers, sons, brothers, men....and the women that cared for them....boarding schools and houses that are not homes....literary genius...literary mediocrity.....heights and depths of anxiety.....from the sky to the grave....from the birds to the bees....you name it....this book has it all.....a real read.....enjoyed it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. Great dialogue, very insightful, poignent. If you don't "get" this book, you're way too functional (as opposed to dys). My e-highlighter ran out of ink on this one...however...don't want to oversell it, decide for yoyrself. Highly recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Found myself picking this up and putting it back down several times. The writing could be a bit tedious but the story was terrific. Glad I stuck with it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is clearly intended to remind us of J. D. Salinger and others of that great genre. The author of a "Catcher" like novel is now old and has relationship problems with everyone. Examines the family dynamic and relationships with three very different sons. Very well written and engaging story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was awful. It was hard to read, hard to follow, and hard to believe. Save your money. I have never written a negative review, but had to for this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A brilliant novel of fathers and sons. Some parts dragged but it was worth reading on. ~*~LEB~*~
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can not stay with this book . Im dissappointed because i had high expectations.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I started reading this book I was not sure if the author was serious. It was laughing out loud funny. But I don't think that was the intention. No other review seemed to have that impression. I would not recommend this book. Stodgy pseudo intellectuals in the North East making fools of themselves. Would have been better if the author tried another genre. The book seems somewhat senile like the characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Too cerebral for me. The characters were very good. I was hoping for some humor after reading the description, but my search proved futile.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tfgj vyig b nvt dy bvg
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a member of two book clubs. We have read some outstanding books over the last 10 years. This was not one of them. You can't read this book leisurely. You have to work at it, take notes, create a cast of characters. Sort out the "BS" from the probable facts. More importantly, you need to keep reminding yourself who the narrator is ( I'm not going to tell you). How much does his opinion color the narrative??? Finally, I believe this was an act of trying to write "stream of consciousness" prose...an abject failure!! It still has to track. I give one star and I feel I'm being overly generous. We haven't me to review this book yet. no matter what the others say, you can't change my mind.
anonomas More than 1 year ago
Wonderful!