×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

And the Mountains Echoed
     

And the Mountains Echoed

4.0 757
by Khaled Hosseini, Navid Negahban (Read by), Shohreh Aghdashloo (Read by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

On May 21, 2013, the new novel from Khaled Hosseini

Khaled Hosseini, the #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns, has written a new novel about how we love, how we take care of one another, and how the choices we make resonate through generations.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

And the Mountains Echoed 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 757 reviews.
Bookwoorm More than 1 year ago
Khaled Hosseini's writing is masterfully meticulous, poetic and enchanting. He gives his characters depth and beauty in a way that few authors are able. The first half of this particular novel is brilliant, rich in detail and word; It reads like poetry. In the second half of the novel, Hosseini's intentions became too obvious, which was frustrating for me because in his other novels, he was able to subtly weave in what he wanted the reader to take from his novel. That said, and before I continue, I must say that despite this, the book is still powerful and still worthy of acclaim. This book touches upon the diaspora of Afghan citizens; there is no distinct main character - instead, each story is an account which represents the lives, hurdles and world perceptions of people who have fled Afghanistan, remained in Afghanistan, returned to Afghanistan, even touching upon Narco-terrorism and Taliban restrictions and ramifications. I found that several characters were essential only to the story in that they filled a slot where Hosseini intended to teach his reader. This is commendable for a writer and a novel however, the stories grew less heartening as the book went on. While a good writer knows that a happy ending can ruin a book, and I was pleased Hosseini did not travel this route, I was dissatisfied. I understand that that could have been Hosseini's intention as the plight of Afghanistan is heartrendingly dissatisfying. I still feel that Hosseini could have done better justice in the end of the book. His final narrator, Pari, was not as endearing or as instrumental to the story than others in it were. I was disappointed that she was gifted with closing such a massive, generational story. The frequent, interminable shifting of characters (none returned to) grew tiresome. Hosseini is gifted at drawing his readers in, so the changes did not ruin the story, but certainly took from my captivation. Nit-picking aside, I would recommend this novel with high praise for its poetic nature and educational undertones. Hosseini's writing is incomparable and I only give it such a tedious review because I know how capable he is. I will forever be a fan, buying and cherishing anything he publishes.    
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Khaled is such a wonderful storyteller. I read Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns years ago and still remember the characters so well. I was so happy to read his latest offering and was not disappointed! Beautiful!
PagesofComfort More than 1 year ago
This story describes the beauty and essence of Afghanistan that makes us all fall in love with the country. Hosseini explores the relationships between parents, their children, extended family and friends in such a way that no one else can. I immediately fell in love with these characters. I sympathized with them, celebrated with them, and explored their relationships with them. I really enjoyed this book and can't say enough good things about it! Hosseini's writing style is elegant and beautiful. He brings beauty to a country that has been consumed by war and violence for so many years. I love reading his books because I learn a little more about the culture every time, and I find it very fascinating!
FictionLoverNYC More than 1 year ago
Another triumph for Khaled Hosseini. It was worth the six year wait. I couldn't imagine that I'd like a book as much as I did his last two novels,  but indeed I did. This beautifully crafted, multi-generational story made me weep while I was reading it. I  felt like weeping again   when I finished it; I wish it had been longer. One of those rare books that I will think about for a long while after I finish it. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was better even than his other books and they were top notch. This author weaves such incredible stories into one masterpiece. I become so entwined in the lives of his characters that I hate to have the book end! I will always have my eye watching out for Khaled Hosseini and hopefully he is working on another breath-taking story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a beautiful, raw, authentic story of life and of connections. I wept. Wonderful novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this is one of his best. i couldn't put the book down i felt love, empathy,& sympathy for his characters and the people of afghanistan. at the end of the book i cried i wanted it to continue another 500 pages. this is a 5 star book. i just wish he would write a book more often, 6 years is too long to wait for his superior storytelling.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story is a good one, with characters intertwined throughout the book. At times I found it difficult to follow, as the story would jump around between locations, periods in time, and characters. I felt like there were too many loose ends at the end of the book. For me, there were too many characters with unresolved issues.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a huge fan of the author. In fact "A Thousand Splendid Suns" is one of my favorite books. I have also read "Kite Runner" and now this book. The book is really just a series of stories put together in a way I thought didn't fit that well. I thought it ran a little dry from time to time. The descriptions are beautiful as always though. I do still look forward to whatever Mr. Hosseini has to offer us.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hard to follow . Jumped around. Not as good as his other books.
carlosmock More than 1 year ago
And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini This book is best described as a series of short stories, intertwined by the fact that the characters are somehow related and going from 1949 until present. The first story is about two siblings, Abdullah and Pari, Saboor's children. Their mother died in childbirth when Pari was born and they shared a link that was quite strong. After starting the book with a story told by Saboor about a din who stole children in poor villages, Sabbor sells Pari to Suleiman and Nabhi Wahdati in Kabul, a rich couple. Saboor Marries Parwana as his second wife and the next story is about how Parwana and her twin sister, Masoona share their life. Masoona is the beautiful one, whereas Parwana is just plain: so at age 17 Parwana pushes her twin sister off a tree, thus crippling her. Parwana is thus forced to take care of her sister until Masoona frees her from her duty so she can marry Saboor. Another story is about Nabi, Masoona and Parwana older brother, who finds employment with the Wahdati in Kabul as a chauffeur and cook. Come to find out, Suleiman Wahdati was in love with Nabi, but because that was forbidden, Suleiman just hires him for his company. As Suleiman has a stroke, his wife abandons him with the daughter, Pari, whom they bought from Saboor, and Nabi is forced to care for Suleiman until he dies; thus their love story is told. Another story is about cousins Idris and Timus, who were neighbors of the Wahdati's in Kabul. They come to Kabul in 2002 to reclaim their old house, which they can rent to the foreigners for a lot of money. Idris meets a little girl at a Kabul hospital - Roshana - who needs a surgery to heal her from an ax wound to her head. Idris is a physician himself and he bonds with the little girl, promising to take her to the US where he works to have her surgery. Unfortunately once he goes back to the US, he just forgets about Afghanistan and the girl. Another story is about Nila Wahdati and her adoptive daughter, Pari as they live and grow in Paris. Nila is beautiful and a poet; she has plenty of lovers and makes Pari feel guilty. They even share a lover and Pari has to take care of her mother until she kills herself. Another story is about the warlords of the new Afghanistan. Another story is about a Greek plastic surgeon, Dr. Markos Varvaris, who's from Tinos, an island in Greece. He is currently inhabiting the Wahdati's residence in Kabul which is now owned by Nabi. It tells the story of a friend of his, Thalia who was the daughter of his mother's best friend. Thalia was abandoned in Tinos because she had a terrible disfiguration on her face and she grows up like a sister and ends up taking care of Markos' mother. The last story is about Pari, daughter of Abdullah and Sultana. Pari is so named after Abdulla's sister, the one he lost in Kabul. Pari has dreamt of that sister from birth and is finally contacted by her aunt, Pari, who wishes to visit her. The aunt found out about her because Dr. Markos called her to let her know her uncle, Nabi, had instructed she should be found. It's from this that she learns who she really is and is able to contact her brother who now lives in northern California. Unfortunately her brother has had a stroke and can't recognize his sister. The stories are written either from the first or third person point of view - a thing I found annoying - and each one is more depressing than the prior one. I love Mr. Hosseini's prose and his ability to story tell, but I wish he found something more pleasant to write about.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not nearly the book as the first two. I was so excited when I saw this book on the shelves. I rushed back home and purchased it for my Nook. What a disappointed. Save you money.
esprit59 More than 1 year ago
Khaled Hosseini has a keen ability to weave characters throughout his book making this reader uncertain how the people were connected to each other. But he is kind enough to use descriptions almost verbatim in order for us to distinguish how they fit into his story. So many of his sentences read as if they were a poem. I am honored to have read another book he has written and am only saddened that the story ended. I will surely purchase anything this author has penned.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As I got within the last few pages of this book I finally figured out what I wanted to say in this review. Mr. Hosseini has a hat trick now. If you don't know what a hat trick is, It's three goals in one game by the same person. I've read all three of his books and I anxiously await another. He describes his feelings with lines that make me sit back and think " I've felt like that but didn't know how to express it" A good read makes any book seem too short. There are sad parts in this book but so is there in real life. Well worth the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all of Mr.Hosseini's book and loved them all. He is a gifted writer who can take you to these far away places as though you were actually there. His characters are so real, so human. I have to say though, that since there are so many of them, it is hard to fully connect the way I did with the characters in previous books.  It's a must read none the less.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story was a good story but author jumps back and forth too much. Hard to keep track of names and time period.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Horrible, boring, very slow....I almost put down this book about 5 times...I actually wish that I did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Please stop telling the ending of books!!! That is a book report, not a review. This is not cool, people. Would like to read the book without knowing important details. Two stars since you spelled everything correctly.
TootieBen More than 1 year ago
Did not like this book. It is not at all like The Kite Runner. Very hard to follow ~ way to much detail into the lives of the characters. I really liked The Kite Runner and was so looking forward to reading this book ~ I did finish reading it only to know what happens at the end. But, would not recommend this book to read.
AlegriaJU More than 1 year ago
I liked this story because it had all the elements of an engrossing tale - exotic setting, sympathetic characters, frustrating characters, varying plots, maddening circumstances, familial love, lots of reality, a little fantasy, human kindness, harshness - all relatable to the readers' lives - because in the end it is a story of humanity. Who cannot love the first character, little Pari, so innocent and trusting. And poor Abdullah who experiences a heartwrenching loss that little Pari does not even remember later in life. I had to read the whole book just to see how that vignette played out! Yes, the author told many intriguing stories of other Afghans after that, all the while educating us about the circumstances of the country and their effects on its people. Because the stories ended and started up again showing years later, the reader had to make the connections and interesting relationships like the story of Iqbal. The author also makes the connection between Afghans and the Afghan Americans. And how can your heart not go out to Roshi, a child victim of war, and Talia, a child victim of a family split-up? This author demonstrates perception into the human frailties as well as great warmth. Yes, he does weave all the seemingly disconnected tales together toward the end which makes for fantastic writing and editing skills.. I, too, look forward to his next novel.
Man_Of_La_Book_Dot_Com More than 1 year ago
And the Moun­tains Echoed by Khaled Hos­seini is the long awaited novel by this best­selling author. Mr. Hoseini’s pre­vi­ous nov­els, The Kite Run­ner and A Thou­sand Splen­did Suns, sold more than 38 mil­lion books. A poor Afghan laborer hands over his pre­cious 3-year-old daugh­ter to a wealthy cou­ple liv­ing in Kabul. While Pari quickly for­gets where she came from, her brother Abdul­lah who is very attached to her never does. The con­se­quences of the sib­lings’ sep­a­ra­tion are told through a series of over­lap­ping sto­ries from dif­fer­ent per­spec­tive which span a lifetime. I was glad to receive a copy of And the Moun­tains Echoed by Khaled Hos­seini from the pub­lisher as I enjoyed both his pre­vi­ous books. When I started read­ing the book two things became imme­di­ately clear – this was not going to be another heart wrench­ing novel and that this is going to be an ambi­tious story. This is a char­ac­ter dri­ven novel, the story takes place all over the world over decades, but it’s the char­ac­ters that make you want to come back for the next story. One the reader gets through about half the book, the reader can put together the indi­vid­ual pieces which make the work a whole. What I enjoyed in the nar­ra­tive were the sub­tleties which Mr. Hos­seini weaves into his work. Read­ing the sto­ries care­fully, one could revisit the events from another point of view of another char­ac­ter, some­time many pages later. The book’s pace slows down in the mid­dle and the sto­ry­telling gets a bit con­fus­ing if one doesn’t pay close atten­tion. The sto­ries changes nar­ra­tive mode which I found to be a bit dis­tract­ing, for exam­ple the last two sec­tions are told in first per­son while the rest of the book is told by an omnipo­tent narrator. After fin­ish­ing the book I was impressed by Mr. Hos­seini lit­er­ary brav­ery. After writ­ing two suc­cess­ful nov­els, he could have eas­ily rested on his lau­rels writ­ing story after story which his audi­ence, myself included, expected but instead wrote some­thing com­pletely different.
carmac More than 1 year ago
I tried to make this book last longer, but I couldn't wait....had to keep reading. What wonderful insight this author has. I have read all of his books so far and this is without question, THE BEST!!!! This is one that I will re-read over and over!
RonnaL More than 1 year ago
This is a series of stories that connect to tell a family's 50 year history starting in 1952 in Afghanistan, with a poor man who has decided that he must take his brother's offer to sell his daughter to the brother's wealthy employer who has no children.  As the daughter and her older brother were extremely close, this affects them the most.  Though the daughter, at four years old, soon settles into her new family and her past is only a shadow in her mind until many years later.  The brother was basically a parent to his little sister because their mother had died, so he was devastated. Chapters are told in the voice of various participants during different times in their lives.  As the reader, we are drawn into the sorrows and affects of life and history of the people and of Afghanistan during this time period.  Hosseini does a wonderful job of evoking the many feelings of everyone as they respond to life and their connections to one another and their places in the family's history, eventually returning brother and sister together as older and different people. I listened to the Audible version which was read by the author and two other Afghanis.  This made it more authentic, but was sometimes a bit more difficult to understand because of the accents.  But, eventually I caught onto the rhythm of the speech patterns and enjoyed it very much.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read, Khaled Hosseini brings us into many lives across the years and miles. An inspiring story to uplift your own life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Hosseini and looked forward to the publication of this book. I absolutely loved the first half of the book. It was typical of his previous efforts. The second half, however, caused me great disappointment. It told another story and I kept waiting for it to be joined up and fitted into the story told in the first half. Quite simply, it didn't. As a resulted I found this book quite mystifying. Its disjointedness really freaked me out. I don't know if it was the intent of Hosseini to tell two stories. It was ias if he was writing two short stories. Yes, there was a connection but a very tenuous and unsatisfying one.