×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

And the Shofar Blew
     

And the Shofar Blew

4.2 73
by Francine Rivers
 

See All Formats & Editions

In the Old Testament, God called His people to action with the blast of the shofar, a ram’s horn. He still calls His people today.

In this relevant and timely novel, dynamic young preacher Paul Hudson is committed to building his church—but at what cost? When Paul accepted the call to pastor the struggling church, he had no idea what to expect. But it

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

And the Shofar Blew 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 73 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Francine Rivers' novel hit the mark of what I've been thinking for sometime. What is most important; changed lives or a bigger building, mature believers or the number in service, effective use of God's money or a larger budget? Her fictional story is threaded with 'truths' that we all recognized, but are afraid to bring up to the senior leadership of our churches. My heart aches for a return to simply telling the story of Jesus. Thanks for the hope that your story brings!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the first book of Francine Rivers I have read. The title piqued my curiousity. This is a must-read for today's modern Christian. Paul has ambitions, dreams, yet cannot live up to his father's or his own expectations. The Church community starts growing, and with it many pains, including a stress on Paul's marriage with Eunice. Then, there is Stephen Decker, a day-at-a-time reformed alcoholic who lost his daughter and marriage because of the alcohol. The old couple, Abby and Samuel, married for 50+ years warm the heart and invite us to age with them gracefully and playfully, offering pure friendship so lacking these days. This book devotes time to meditate on actions, inactions, hurt, anger, love, frustration, ambition, greed, forgiveness, death of a loved one, and much more. Francine Rivers gives you one of many passages of Scripture to reflect and meditate, and for me, to look and see myself in the mirror. There are so many characters that I could identify some small part of myself with what they were as people, their character, and most of all, their common love for the One who loves us most, Jesus Christ. I can't wait to start a library of her books! Thank you, Francine. I really needed to see 'forgiveness in action' for what I am going through. You wrote it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This story is full of characters whom we all meet daily. It could happen in any town. There's something for everyone in this story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I've written by Francine Rivers - I can't wait to read more. A close relative I know is living this experience right now, I can't wait to put this book into her hands. It is strongly laced with teaching and truths from scripture that can apply to anyone's life, anytime, anywhere.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book really pulls you into the life of a minister and his family. Obviously this situation does not happen to all ministers, but it opens your eyes to the fact that pastors and their families have struggles too. Being a preachers kid, its hard growing up and being held to a higher standard than everyone else. I loved this book I thought it was incredible.
Books_Dogs_Crafts More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book and loved how it showed how we are all just one decision away from making the right and wrong choices in life. Long but good paced book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is one of the best I have read. It's about a pastor who gets caught up in pleasing his father instead of pleasing The Father. It is so good, I highly recommend it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sassyone27 More than 1 year ago
Just finished this book and really enjoyed reading it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This a review not a spoiler! What i will write is that this book is amazing, emotional powerful! So many elements; misguided ministry, blind ambition, accountability, forgiveness reconciliation, TRUE agape love. I loved this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi. Iread all r books .and love them .Have all of them .Thank u .ok Keep writing .
jeannie-cow More than 1 year ago
Another wonderful book by Francine Rivers
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is not like others books by the same author. Starts slow, but stick with it. The book is good with a great message! You will be pleased.
Reader777BC More than 1 year ago
Francine does it again! She shows the heart of God, which is love and forgiveness, while also keeping His Word pure. This nation has left her first love, and seeks to "have their ears tickled" rather than hearing the uncompromised Word of God. I'm thankful I attend a church that preaches God's Word wholeheartedly! This is a "must read" for Christians today!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago