×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Angel of Darkness
     

The Angel of Darkness

4.0 123
by Caleb Carr
 

See All Formats & Editions

In one of the most critically acclaimed novels of the year, Caleb Carr— bestselling author of The Alienist—pits Dr. Laszlo Kreizler and his colleagues against a murderer as evil as the darkest night. . . .

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Angel of Darkness 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 120 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Caleb Carr has written yet another brilliant piece. 'The Angel of Darkness' had me ignoring every other part of my life until the last page had been read. His very descriptive and accurate portrayal of New York in the late 1800s made me feel like I was there. The use of real life characters and very in-depth fictional characters made me wish I could meet the characters that have shared so much of their lives with me. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys suspense and great writing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the sequel to Carr's popular novel 'The Alienist', and it's even better. The characters are well developed, and the story moves quickly and keeps you guessing until the end. I had to force myself to put it down at night and get to sleep. It's a lengthy novel, but it reads easily and quickly. I recommend reading 'The Alienist' first so you become familiar with the characters, but you certainly could read this novel by itself.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed 'Angel Of Darkness' as much, if not more, than 'The Alienist'. I have always enjoyed historical fiction and this novel grabbed me from the get-go. I read the professional reviews and noted that some say that Carr writes too much in trying to tell the story, but I think that's what makes his stories unique. It's NOT Caleb Carr telling the story. It's John Moore (in 'The Alienist) and Stevie Taggart (in 'Angel'). Both stories are uniquely different, with Moore being a reporter, and Stevie being a former hoodlum. We see 1890's New York City differently in both stories
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The most vile woman in fiction! I so wanted her dead that I had to skip to the end to find outwhat happened to her. I definitely liked The Alienist better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You know after reading this novel and then checking out some of the reviews a lot of people didn't really like this one, or found fault in it compared to his other work The Alienist. However, I loved the fact that Stevie became the story teller. I enjoyed this from cover to cover and just wish that there were more of this series to read. Caleb Carr has already become one of my favorite authors, and being so close myself to Ballston Spa I might just have to go check it out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was some years ago when I read "The Alienist" - so it took me a little more than 200 pages to remember it takes Carr an incredibly long time to get to the point of the story. I particularly didn't appreciate the diaglog with Stevie's friend with a lisp phonetically written. Towards the incredulous ending, I found myself begging for it all to end!
kwade79 More than 1 year ago
This is a great book for all who love hisorical fiction. I really enjoy how the author uses real events and people as the backdrop of this crime story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Angel of Darkness is a good book, especially the start and the second half. Inbetween there are some less interesting pages. I also think that this is a bit weaker than the Alienist especially because it seeems that the author intented to write exactly the same book which was only partly a good idea. I think.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Caleb Carr has written about a topic that has long been uncomfortable for us to explore, namely, the desperation, pathological self-involvement, and fundamental misery that might lead a mother to kill her own and other children. Since I have not read 'The Alienist' yet, I cannot compare the quality of the two works, but I felt as if I got to know Stevie the narrator, as he told the story of the murderous Libby Hatch and the motley cohort of folks who attempted to apprehend her, each for his or her own reasons. The characters were set against a grim background of turn-of-the-century New York City, with its political contentions and its dismal underside. While the inclusion of notorious characters like Teddy Roosevelt and Clarence Darrow might have overreached somewhat, I think the author spun an interesting and challenging story that can be enjoyed on several levels. The story of a lone, diabolical and/or disturbed Libby Hatch gives way to deeper questions, like society's role in socializing women to conform to a comfortable stereotype that does not, in reality, exist. Moreover, the conflict between punishment for the murderess vis-a-vis understanding the dynamics of her personality that played a role in her heinous behaviors is a palpable sub-theme that Carr cleverly inserts into his narrative. At times, I wished the author would have developed some of the characters more fully, like El Nino and Kat, but, in general, I felt that, in the case of all of Carr's major players, I knew people very much like them in real life. In fact, he created prototypes of people we all know (with the hopeful exception of Libby), in addition to shedding much light on not only a forbidden issue, but on the relatively primitive understanding we had of human behavior only a century ago. I enjoyed the novel a great deal and will read 'The Alienist' soon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Smart and engaging.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
such a great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
lillianbell More than 1 year ago
Caleb Carr's "alienist" group is back again, with this tale told by a different member of the corps. This is an exciting look at early profilers, and how they go about finding a missing little girl and apprehending the troubled, complex person behind the crime. The characters are very well developed, with insights into their personas that almost make the reader feel like an member of the team. Very well researched and definitely recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ItsBelle More than 1 year ago
I read The Alienist" by Caleb Carr and loved it. The Angel of Darkness was even better if that's possible! The same characters are in this book ... the difference is that this one is told from Stevie Taggert's point of view and The Alienist was told from John Moore's point of view. I loved the characters and the way they interracted with each other. It was fun going along with them to try to pick up clues and the author made me feel as if I were right there with them. It has everything - murder, kidnapping, intrigue, corruption and it's all set to the backdrop of the 19th century - a period I love reading about. I didn't want the book to end. I read slowly so I could savor every word. I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago