×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Angels in My Hair
     

Angels in My Hair

4.4 60
by Lorna Byrne
 

See All Formats & Editions

In this uplifting autobiography, a modern-day Irish mystic shares her vivid encounters and conversations with the angels and spirits she has known her entire life.

For anyone who has ever wondered about the mysteries that lie beyond everyday experience, or doubted the reality of the afterlife, Angels in My Hair is a moving and deeply inspirational journey

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Angels in My Hair 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 60 reviews.
FaithDN More than 1 year ago
This book is deeply insightful and causes those who have little or no faith to grow in faith as you read each page. Even those who claim to be atheist cannot deny that there are angels and God is and will always be the one who cares for our souls and loves us no matter what our circumstance. This book not only reaffirms God does exist but that Satan does too and if we stay close to God, Satan cannot hurt us. This book eases the pain for those who have suffered grief due to the loss of a loved one and even someone who has experienced abortion. This book gives hope that we are never alone. The author clearly opens the door of our minds and souls to know that people do not come in to our lives by chance. That people are in our life for a reason, a season or a lifetime. It motivates it motivates the reader to be more conscious and aware of those around us and to open our hearts to welcome outsider to provide love and comfort even to strangers. The book explains our "soul mate" to not necessarily be a person we are to be in a intimate relationship with in the sexual sense but rather we can be connected to someone as a soul mate as in the example in the book of the elderly female neighbor and the little girl next door. This book has made me reflect on miracles in my own life and the lives of those around me. I am more aware of miracles that were not accidents and understand that everything happens for a reason, not by "chance". It is a definite read for all ages and religious denominations. It is my hope that this book brings you as much faith, hope and joy that it has given me. I bought the book for 4 mothers for Mother's Day as gift, including myself and one for a coworker who recently lost her husband to cancer. They all love this book and it does bring comfort explaining that we all have angels no matter what we have done in our lives we are loved and cared for, even those commit violent crimes and murder others have angels. There is comfort for a parent who has buried a child in knowing after reading Angels in my Hair that those of us who have lost children that our children are not only with God also. I cannot think of anything else to say to describe this book to a potential reader and importance of reading this book to deepen your spirituality. It is a Great gift for any occasion.
literatissima More than 1 year ago
Lorna Byrne has seen and talked with angels her entire life. In this simply-written memoir, she shares the life experiences and spiritual encounters she has faced. As a child, she was thought to be quite slow, even labeled as "retarded" by members of her own family. As a young girl, she was shown an image of the man she would one day marry. When she met him many years later as a teenager, she knew immediately that Joe was that man. Along with a marriage and four children, Lorna's life was filled with strife and poverty, but additionally angelic visitors, visions of spirits and even a showdown with a few demons. Through it all, Lorna maintains that even before conception, a soul is surrounded by angels and that each and every person on this earth has a guardian angel. Through her eyes, death seems like a beautiful transition. Rich & spiritual, this book is a quick & easy read with deep impact.
AngelFanNY More than 1 year ago
I had visited Ireland in Dec. where most of my relatives were all buzzing about Lorna Byrne. I was given a copy of the book, forgot it, and had to wait to order from here in April. It was well worth the read and the wait!I am now giving it to a greiving friend, who I have asked to sign it as I have and pass it along. Author is not a "Hollywood pyschic"-you can see interviews of hers on youtube. One of my cousins met her in person, and felt she was life changing. Enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A personal account of one woman's life accompanied by Angels, a very well written and easy to read story. I will read more of hers most definitely!
RonaldMazur More than 1 year ago
If you have ever wished that there were more to life than meets the eye, this is the book for you. It is the autobiography of an Irish woman who since her earliest moments of awareness has lived in two worlds. To her parents, her teachers and her classmates, she seemed distracted, preoccupied, perhaps even retarded. And yet today as a mature woman, a widow and a mother of four, she offers a miraculous perspective on life that challenges most of what we assume to be true-or, for that matter, possible. To read this book is to enter a sacred space. We leave our contemporary world of swirling, dizzying uncertainties and find a still point of clarity and certainty: angels exist, we matter to them and to God, and they will guide us if we can quiet the noise in our lives and listen for their whispered counsel. It may come as a feeling, a hunch, a surprising coincidence or even an unaccustomed train of thought. Once we start to take it seriously, everything will change. This does not mean, however, that all of our problems will suddenly vanish. What will change is how we view them and deal with them. Life in this world is challenging and full of mystery, as the author's account of her own life attests. Angels exist to guide us, to inspire us, and also to console us. But we are free spiritual beings and must choose to listen. Consider this: Most of what is wrong with life on our planet is a result of the actions people take, as groups and as individuals. It is true that there are natural disasters from time to time, but if we all listened to our better angels and overcame our fears and hatreds, we could lessen the suffering of others through our caring and support. The greatest threat to humanity is, and always has been, our capacity for inhumanity and indifference to our fellow beings. Lorna Byrne reminds us that each human soul is a luminous divine creation worthy of love. It is true that we have heard these things before. Yet this account is different. Perhaps it is the author's distinctive voice and presence that make this book so compelling. We sense an innocence and purity in her that is like that of a young child who has not yet known the disappointments and sorrows of life. And yet we know she has-and has transcended them. Some European interviewers have expressed the opinion that this book is not a literary masterpiece; the language is so simple that it can be read by a sixth-grader. This criticism misses the point. Some writers are masters of language who dazzle their readers with linguistic and literary virtuosity. But there are others who convey a profound experience in the simplest terms, shaping the narrative of their story so that its essence shines through their words as sunlight passes through a window. Lorna Byrne is this kind of writer. The very simplicity of her language renders many passages as evocative as poetry. We must remember, though, that this is not a novel. It is an account of her lived experiences. A friend of mine who read a chapter of the Irish edition earlier this year remarked at the time that the author either has a beautiful imagination or really does see angels. After reading the complete American edition, he recently declared: "She really does see angels." See if you don't agree. For those who would like to explore some of the issues raised by Lorna Byrne's experiences, I would recommend a book published last year in the U.S. by her editor at Random House
Gina-in-Seattle More than 1 year ago
I love this book. I have already purchased extra copies to share with the people in my life I love dearly. Lorna's descriptions of angels and guardian angels are clear, poignant, and comforting. You will want to listen to your inner voice , to trust your inner voice so much more after reading this. I find myself looking at the clouds and the sky a lot differently these days. I can't wait for her next book.
suebrien More than 1 year ago
I've bought many of these books. Lorna Byrne's work is a true gift to the world!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good read. Explains faith very well
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Whenever i feel down , or sad i go through this amazyng book which keeps me focus and down to earth everytime that i feel lost.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read! If you love angels, you will love this book. Very sweet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such an incredible story and I am so thankful she shared it with us!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have a friend angel she is awesome :) :) :) :) i have an sister Angel she anyoing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My husband is ill with cancer. He and our whole family are coping day to day. This book was a tremendous help. As I work through bouts of grief, fear and caretaking I ask angels to help. Sometimes my sadness is immediately reduced. This allows me to concentrate on caring for my husband, children and helping to inspire his faith as well to go through this hard time. This was the right book at the right time. I also read Angels in my Hair - another great book. Do buy this! And give yourself the gift of faith.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a very easy book to read. Some parts seem believable but others a little to "out there" for me to believe. Don't think I would recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved Lorna's story! The book flows well & is an easy read. You won't want to put itdown though. Read it & discover a new world around you!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought Angels in My Hair because of all the high ratings and great reviews. I cannot say it is a useless read as it can be entertaining at BRIEF moments throughout the book. Though I do find her story somewhat hard to believe. It is hard to not come to a conclusion that the author may have multiple personalities which she manifests as her "angels". I am no mental health professional, so my opinion is just that...my opinion. It took me so long to read the book as it was difficult to maintain my interest for long periods. I really could not wait to finish it so I could be done! Will NOT be continuing my reading relationship with this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book from the very beginning! I even gave it to my Mother to read, who also enjoyed it as much as I. One can't help but be more aware of angelic beings in our midsts. This is a wonderful, sweet, authentic author with an incredible story to tell.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago