×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Angels of Morgan Hill
     

The Angels of Morgan Hill

4.5 21
by Donna VanLiere
 

See All Formats & Editions

From Donna VanLiere—the author of the beloved Christmas Hope series—comes a moving novel of faith, family, and destiny.

Jane Gable thinks 1947 will be like every other year in Morgan Hill, Tennessee but but it's the year everything changes. Jane first lays eyes on young Milo Turner the day that her abusive, alcoholic father is buried in the Morgan

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Angels of Morgan Hill 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters & story were very real. I got attached to this family and didn't want it to end. I've read several of Donna VanLiere's books and this one is just as touching as the others. I would recommend it to everyone young or old.
luanne517 More than 1 year ago
Realistic setting and feelings of how strong racism was. Strong characters that you either really dislike or really care about. You want to go and take Milo home with you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read several books this winter and I am an avid reader. This book may perhaps be my very favorite book of all time. The author did such a great job that it did not seem to be fiction. She is outstanding and I plan to read her Christmas Shoe series now.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow i feel in love when i first read this
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thumper74 More than 1 year ago
This book was an amazing find and my favorite summer read of 2012. I loved the characters and storyline...not overly saccharine but you wanted the right people to come out ahead for all the right reasons. This is not a very lengthy book but you will find yourself thinking about it long after you finish it. Don't hesitate to get this one! A great read on the plane, at the pool, lake or cabin!
Deb76 More than 1 year ago
I have read The Christmas Shoes and the other two books in that series written by Donna VanLiere. I chose The Angels of Morgan Hill because it sounded like a heartwarming story. I wasn't aware that it was written by the same author, until after I purchased it. I could not wait to see if I loved it as much as I loved her other books. I did! The topic of racism has always disturbed me, but this book dealt with the realities of racism, while showcasing the good and kind people who stood together against it. I loved all the characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GINGERDAWN More than 1 year ago
There are many writers who are able to write a good story, which can be artful with an articulate voice, or put words masterfully on a page. Yet, Donna VanLiere reaches a new limit of magic with The Angels of Morgan Hill. She writes not from her heart but from her soul! Every book that I have read by Mrs. VanLiere teaches a meaningful lesson on life and opens doors to my own world of living. The story begins in Morgan Hills, Tennessee in 1947. It's an all-white community in which nine year old Jane Gable's abusive alcoholic father is buried. She then sees her first African American boy named Milo. Mrs. VanLiere threads a tale of small town life, tragedy, hate, love, and change that quilts the human heart into a beautiful story. One of the most touching scenes in the story is between Addy and Fran. Addy tells Fran of a conversation that she had with her mother at the age of twelve while picking cotton. I said, mama, I'm tired.' And she hollered out. "Of course you's tired. We's all tired." But you ain't got no choice. You didn't pick this race.you was chosen for it, and there ain't nobody said it was gonna be easy. They'll be times when you'll be hot and tired and nearly dead, and nobody will offer you a cup of cold water.but some will, and they'll offer just enough to keep you's runnin'. They won't be a lot of peoples along the way, but they' ll be some and Yo Mama will always be one of them.'" How true Mrs. VanLiere, we each carry that cup of water and the choice of what we do with it. In Romans 12: 4-8 it states, "For as in one body we have many members. And not all the members have the same function so we, who are many, are one body in Christ, and individually we are members one of another." Paul's concept of how we should live and work together is clearly exemplified in this story as Fran adopts Milo and just when Fran is tired, struggling, and lost, a small host of characters from Morgan Hill appear to offer that needed cup of water. Milo must make a choice: if he should live with his own kind or live with a white family. The choice that Henry made long ago to leave or stay at Morgan Hill and that special spot on Widow's Mountain where lives are changed and life is reexamined. The choice of each town member of Morgan Hill as the school year began with a colored child. Then the change in Aunt Dora ties and creates the binding of the quilt of Morgan Hill the outer binding that Mrs. VanLiere frames the story with. I must admit, I finished this book in less than two days and with many boxes of tissues. Mrs. VanLiere has an amazing gift much like Paul. God gave him the ability to share effectively the gospel of Christ. Mrs. VanLiere is not an apostle or even an evangelist but God has blessed her with opportunity to write stories of the heart and of the soul. Stories that contain themes of human choice are ever so present. No matter what you look like, your faith or where you come from we each have a tiny part in this world of life. Maybe that is why her books are so compelling, natural and loving. I cannot state in words how highly I recommend this book but I do know that lives can be blessed and touched with a simple book and when an author shares a little bit of their passion and soul.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mmonikque More than 1 year ago
This book is really touching. The action makes you shiver and makes you put another price on life, on the meaning of being a mom, a person, a soul...Read it and you'll step into another world, a world that can impress you!
rpeterson7 More than 1 year ago
Very predictable story - glad it was a short audio book. Not one of my favorites, but nice.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LovesBooksKW More than 1 year ago
This book was wonderful to read. Good story line, strong characters, and a lesson to be learned.
NLussier More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book; my first for this author. The story was well told and held my attention to the end. It is not terribly long, so it was a great, fast read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MarionMarchetto_author More than 1 year ago
I picked up this book because of the word Angels in the title, knowing nothing about the author or her other works. After the opening paragraph, however, I was hooked. Set in Tennessee during the 1950s, Jane Gable (the 9-year old narrator) tells the story of the day her daddy was buried and how she and her younger brother saw their first black family. Through humorous anecdotes of life in the South, we learn of the contempt of some for the 'colored' sharecroppers and how far these folks would go to get rid of them. When Milo (the young black child) loses his family in a fire, it is Jane's pregnant mother who takes him in as she tries to keep a deathbed promise to Milo's mother. Through trials and tribulation, Jane's mother stands firm in her resolve but it is Jane herself that pushes the town to action when she refuses to attend school because Milo isn't allowed into an all-white school. What happens after that is purely heartwrenching and heartwarming at the same time. A captivating read that will have some reaching for the tissue box. This work deserves four and a half stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago