×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Animal Husbandry
     

Animal Husbandry

4.5 10
by Laura Zigman
 

See All Formats & Editions

New cow...

Ray makes the move. Jane feels the rush. Ray says the L-word. Jane breaks her lease. Then suddenly, inexplicably, he dumps her. Just. Like. That.

...old cow.

Now black is the only color in Jane's closet and Kleenex is clinging to her nose. Why did it happen? How could it have happened?

Moo.

Jane is going to get an answer.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Animal Husbandry 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Animal Husbandry is perhaps one of my favorite books. Though I've read and bought the book some time ago, I never had the chance to review. My input: clerverly written with witty dialogue and interesting detail. Zigman is able to capture the one thing many people don't want to talk about: fear of lonliness and betrayal. How does one cope with being alone?

Jane Goodall falls in love only to be dumped. Why do men leave women, or more specifically, why do men leave her? learning various facts about the male species, in general, answers still alude her until a scientific article appears in the paper: Bulls. The Old Cow-New Cow Theory is born. Jane experiments with Eddie, her pathalilogical womanizer of a co-worker/roommate, and discovers something she never thought possible...herself.

Guest More than 1 year ago
After turning the last page, I thought it was my own life-dissected and written down. Not a self-help book, but it helped me. Not an autobiography, at least not of my commitmentphobiac tomato seed, yet so accurate. I recommend it to the every past, present, and emeritus member of the Cow-meets-the-Bull Club.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is one of my all time favorites! Zigman explores al of the truths about the way males act in relationship to women! A definet must read for all us single young women!!:O)
Guest More than 1 year ago
When the movie Someone Like You came out, it looked terrific. I figured I'd read this book before going to see it. What a disappointment! I did not care for all of the scientific 'reasons' for why Jane was dumped. All of the cow language got old very fast. I certainly felt bad for her, but this was one of the slowest books I've ever read. I forced myself to read to the end just to see if anything good would happen.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Loved it! Great characters, feel good, funny novel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
2 years after being dumped, still moping, I came across this book and expected it to be one of those run-of-the-mill types. Turned out I didn't put it down till I finished it, and surprisingly ended up with a smile on my face, through all the tears. My life has not been the same since I stopped looking for answers thanks to this book :)
Guest More than 1 year ago
Zigman does such an outstanding job creating the 'Old-Cow-New-Cow' theory that one begins to believe it is an actual scientific theory. A great book to curl up with at night and read until you fall asleep. I admire Zigman and the obvious effort, hard work and research she put into writing this book. I can't wait to read her new book!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was hilarious. I have never read a book so emotionally honest and close to the heart. It is a good read for anyone recovering from a broken heart whether it happened yesterday or 10 years ago. She takes an honest look at the irrational thinking and behavior that we all have experienced during recovery. I recommend it to all.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing!! I found myself e-mailing and telephoning girlfriends constantly because I knew we could all relate to the 'Old-Cow/New-Cow' theory. Women, this is a must read if you are striving to gain a better understanding of the male species. You'll laugh and shake your head in understanding from start to finish.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book by accident in a 'I am going to forget about him and keep myself busy' jaunt to the library. I enjoyed it so much that now, in another attempt to forget about another him I am forced to read it again. And to also share it with my friend...I am sure that any woman I share this with will enjoy it as much as I since we have all gone from new cow to old cow in less than a year.