×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral
     

Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral

3.3 63
by Kris Radish
 

See All Formats & Editions

For Katherine Givens and the four women about to become her best friends, the adventure begins with a UPS package. Inside is a pair of red sneakers filled with ashes and a note that will forever change their lives. Katherine’s oldest and dearest friend, the irrepressible Annie Freeman, left one final request–a traveling funeral–and she wants the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 63 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
When fifty-six years old Annie Freeman dies from ovarian cancer she sends her ashes inside her red shoes via UPS to her friend Katherine Givens. Annie¿s instructions are to lead around the country funeral procession of her closest pals starting at Sonoma, California to Albuquerque, the Keys, Manhattan, Lake Superior and an island near Seattle, at each site her best friends are to sprinkle her remains. Katherine would do almost anything for the woman who understood her better than anyone. --- After a reluctant start and a bottle of courage labeled as Shiraz, Katherine begins to put together the odyssey of the last request of the San Francisco State University English professor. Under two weeks later, Katherine joined by Annie's university colleague Jill Matchney, women's crisis worker Laura Westma, neighbor Rebecca Carlson and hospice aide Marie Kondrinsky trek along Annie¿s given route. The women bond sharing secrets of their late zany pal who not only lived life to the fullest and encouraged others to do likewise, but she was also there to help the downtrodden do so. --- Using flashbacks to when Annie first met each of her pall bearers, readers obtain an intriguing character study inside a sisterhood bonding. The story line reflects mostly on Annie, but also provides insight into the greatness that she saw and supported in her cronies. Though the tale at times turns too melodramatically angst-laden, contemporary fiction readers will want to journey around the country tossing the ashes of a fine person. --- Harriet Klausner
Guest More than 1 year ago
I could not wait to turn the pages and see what would happen next. Was so sorry when I finished the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a book club pick and I would have stopped reading after the first chapter if I could. The bra was driving me crazy and most of our group wanted the whole traveling funeral to die in a plane crash. What a disappointment and a waste of time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GREAT BOOK I could not put it down. I think the "bra" chapter was hilarous and so real to me. If you have every lost a loved one or close friend...this book is the one!
jennbunny More than 1 year ago
This was my first Kris Radish book and also my most favorite! It is a story of friendship.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Reading this book was so timely as I was dealing with the deaths of several wonderful women in my life. Not being able to be part of the memorials bothered me, but after reading this book I felt like I could have my own memorial for them and celebrate the great and fun things about them. Read and enjoy the fun these women had learning about a friend they thought they knew.
zee12 More than 1 year ago
This was the first book I read by this author, and I have sought out most of the rest of her writings. As unlikely as it sounds, a traveling funeral is a fine beginning for a great road trip. I like her characters and the ways that she relates to women's issues...both large and small. Not deep reading, but fun and thought-provoking at the same time.
QOS More than 1 year ago
I had been hearing about this book for about a year and when a book club decided to discuss it, I decided to read it. Now I know what all the fuss was about! Before I proceed with a review, this book is for and about women. men might gain some insight but probably wouldn't come out of a reading thinking it was fun, let's be truthful. Women in the book club were of various ages, I'm more the age of the women in the book, but we could see parts of ourselves in all the characters. Annie Freeman was a bit larger than life but having lost 3 family members, 2 of them to cancer, those we love become that way very quickly when they pass away. There was realism in there with the caricatures of the characters. The writing style can be a bit stream of consciousness within stream of consciousness but still works. Reading it caused me to question, laugh and cry sometimes all at once. Baby Boomer women should definitely read this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I started the book, but it was so painfully descriptive and slow, that I had to give up! I got through about 1/3 of it and then I stopped reading. FYI: I don't remember the last book I didn't finish. I will see it in the theater if it becomes a movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was our chosen book-club selection. Of the 9 women in our group, only two managed to get through the book. The rest of us just couldn't stay interested and finally gave it up. The characters are non-inspiring for the most part and the personalities seem contrived...would not recommend it.
DoranneLongPTMS 1 days ago
What a ride! Such fun to travel through life and death and grief as these characters travel around the country, into their past and into their future.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nan2 More than 1 year ago
The plot speaks to the heart of a lot of women particularly those of us who are living through the loss of a sister or friend. Annie G. Freeman offers us each an alternate lens for looking at end of life celebrations and a tool for reflecting on our own lives. The author makes you challenge your own views of life, death and just living. Enjoyed it very much. I plan to buy copies for my sisters and my daughters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Definitely a book for women, refreshingly different with a wide array of emotions exposed. A group of diverse women meshing to complete a common goal that will forever change them. If you want predictable this is not the book for you. A reading adverture.
dressmakerSC More than 1 year ago
I loved this book from page 1. I could relate with the bra episode. I laughed and cried all the way to the last page. I honestly did not want this book to end. I related to each woman in some small way. This book should be shared with every woman in your life who is over 50. For those who did not like it, all I can say is, you never had a favorite bra or a comfortable pair of tennis shoes.
Heidi_G More than 1 year ago
Two minutes into the audio, I already disliked this title so much that I wanted to push the stop button. I stuck it out only because of a friend's high recommendation for the print version. And it was a struggle not to give up on the book. I just did not identify with, nor really like, any of the characters. Maybe too homespun for me, or too... what? I don't know; it was not the book for me. Two stars because the premise of a traveling funeral is interesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Easy read about the bond of friendships with women in different stages of their life. I have other books by this same writer on my wish list.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cooty_Leroux More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed reading this book. And easy read, a great book to kick back with a cold glass of lemonade or wine by the pool and relax with.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the traveling funeral. This books reminds us to take time out of our busy days and enjoy time with your family and friends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago