×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Another Faust
     

Another Faust

3.2 104
by Daniel and Dina Nayeri, Dina Nayeri Viergutz
 

See All Formats & Editions

A devilish debut by a brother-sister team invites us into the world of the elite Marlowe School, where some gifted students are having a hell of a year.

One night, in cities all across Europe, five children vanish — only to appear, years later, at an exclusive New York party with a strange and elegant governess. Rumor and mystery follow the Faust

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Another Faust 3.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 104 reviews.
Arielle More than 1 year ago
Okay..so to start off, I didnt exactly read the beginning prologue thing, I never do. They are just so boring to me, even if they give valuable information. I am kinda glad that I didnt either, I read it once I was done with the book and I knew what was going on. It gave information about the 5 children you will read about in this book, and how they wanted things that they couldnt have or how they said things they didnt truly mean..since they were just 10 year old kids. But the story starts off with these kids in this house somewhere in Europe, they are taken there by this women with a fiery strange left eye. These kids have been taken from their houses because the woman promised them something in return, a gift. A gift that each child wanted so badly, one that would make them happy no matter who it hurt. The woman's name is Nicola Vileroy, she is not a pleasant person. Fast forward 5 years to present day New York City, these children now teenagers, age: 15. They are about to start at a new school, Marlowe..a school for the elite, the smart, and the gifted. Belle, Bice, Christian, Valentine and Victoria all have their special gifts. Belle has her insanely gorgeous face and body, put she pays the price..her body gives off a foul odor and people just stare from the distance, mesmerized by her beauty but repulsed by her stench. Bice has the gift of hiding..you find out later in the book just how important her gift truly is. Christian steals, he can steal anything..someone's strength for example, he is a future Olympian. Valentine can go back and redo anything he wants, he can go back in time and stop things from happening, or changing things so even more chaos occurs. And Victoria..she cheats. She reads the minds of anyone around her, and takes any valuable or embarrassing information they have only for her own gain. As the story progresses these kids do things with their gift. Things that I dont think I am going to tell you since that will basically give the book away, but I will tell you my thoughts on all the kids. Belle - She is the twin sister of Bice, or at least she used to be until Vileroy gave her her gift and made her beautiful. I dont like her at the beginning of the book, but I do near the end. Bice- She is my favorite, she is just very sweet and doesnt really do anything harmful to anyone. She is quiet and reads a lot, maybe thats why I like her..she is a fellow bookworm! :) Christian- He again isnt really that nice in the beginning but near the end I warm up to him since he changes his ways. Valentine- Not a good person. He is just mean. lol Victoria- My least favorite person (besides Vileroy I guess). Vic is just plain mean to everyone around her, she cheats so much and I wish something more dramatic happened to her in the end. All in all, I liked this book. But it could have been better. Maybe more detail and a little less confusing. There were so many things going on, that at times I just lost focus and had to reread a few things. But I still recommend this book to anyone who likes more 'evil-ish' books. I also wish the ending was better, there wasnt a good final BAM! this book is done..it was more gradual and could have been more exciting. Check this book if you are interested, it isnt half bad! :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book started out interesting, but by the time I was a hundred pages in I realized that I was still waiting for story to begin. There didn't seem to be any sort of actual plot, just an idea. Yes the kids sold their souls to get what they wanted, but unless something actually happens with that there's not much of a point in turning that concept into a 300 page novel.
myrapurpleface More than 1 year ago
i love this book. its a story about 5 kids who grow with a myrstey women who is help them to "find their ways"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book a while ago but I still love it. I think the problem is with the readers. They need to have action right away or else, like five-year olds, get bored. Yes, in the beggining it is confusing but I don't think selling your soul is a subject that is simple. These characters are not the angsty, annoying teens that most authors write about. These are teens that are dead set on their goals, this isnt that popular jock or head cheerleader this is the person who is at the frontlines fighting. I loved this book because the plot is so interesting. Another Faust is a book un,ike any other that weaves an intricate story throughout the Another series. Please disregard the comments talking about the shallow characters and plot....this book is far from that. Equivalent and as original as a classic a beautiful addition to anyones library i have it in both ebook and printed word. The sample will only give you the "confusing' beginning so just buy the book you will not regret it!
southrnbella More than 1 year ago
This book is a modern tale of the Faustian Bargain. Which is were you pretty much want something so bad that you will sell your soul to the devil to get it. In this book you have five teenagers, three who seem to remember everything and two that have blocks in their past. Also a very wicked Governess that will do anything to make the teens dreams come true, but at what cost is the real question. With this book I really enjoyed how each chapter started out with a brief sneak peek into Madame Vileroy's past and her many misadventures into stealing people's souls. I was often surprised at what people were sometimes brought up and also what had happened in her past. You also learn what she truly wants and even for her is unreachable. All the characters play a significant role in this book and are so well written that it also could have been a book about each person I think. They are so dynamic and I wanted to learn more about each one, well maybe not Victoria. The gifts that each character ask for, isn't really out there, you could see a average everyday Joe asking for the same thing and I think that is why it was so easy to relate to this book and become easily engrossed in it. When the characters get their gifts of course it comes with stipulations and Madame Vileroy is always there to coax them into tweaking things but with that you have to make more deals and it definitely starts to shake things up. I don't want to go to far into the gifts because that will spoil. One of the characters i absolutely adore and if anything was very heart felt for was Christian. His gift was to steal and it is not the kind of stealing you will typically think of. All he wanted was to be good at everything and really I think to just be noticed and loved. Victoria could cheat and she would do it obsessively. I have to say I can not stand her, in the book she was always trying to be Madame Vileroy's favorite and it was to the point of obnoxious. Of all the characters i really don't think she learned any lessons at all. Belle had the gift to play tricks. Her whole life she wanted to be beautiful and when she finally had the chance to, she did a very devastating and selfish thing.With all that beauty came loneliness for awhile and when she did finally get her final accomplishment she finally has to see how ugly she is on the inside. Bice is my favorite of them all and I can relate to her the most. She has her books as her friends and is very lonely. Her gift is to hide and it is a reader's dream or so she thinks. Belle and Bice are twins but they are not as close as they use to be and you really see the relationship effect Bice. Valentin is the last of the group and you could say that his gift is stealing as well but not the same stealing as christian. At first I liked Valentin but then honestly he just became so egotistical and arrogant it was off putting. I thought he was going to be that guy that acts bad but is a sweetheart but no he is just a dick. The writing style in this book wasn't that great and could have been improved.Often times you could see them getting off point because there was no real point of view in this book, which was definitely a interesting aspect. I love the darkness of it but it is not to over the top. Another Faust definitely is a book that makes you think about good versus evil. It makes you think about when is it so bad in life that you would do anything for it to be better, like selling your soul. And i
Sensitivemuse More than 1 year ago
There is only one way to describe this book. Deliciously and sinfully good. It's like eating five pounds of chocolate knowing there will be extreme consequences later but no matter, it's still good. So, why do I describe Another Faust this way? For starters, I almost giggled with glee and delight when things started going well for the main characters, in particular, I loved the part Victoria played in this book. I loved her rivalry with Lucy. I cackled with glee as Victoria always found a way to upend Lucy - I laughed even more when the fighting escalated into hair pulling and punching. I couldn't help but feel supportive towards Victoria. Perhaps it's because I'm just sick of reading about characters like Lucy; picture perfect, the school sweetheart, the one with the potentially bright future..etc. Yes, you get the picture. Victoria is a classic and unforgettable villain that will stay with me for as long as I can remember. The plot was very well done and got me turning the pages. Fast. Yet I have to admit I hesitated in the first few chapters. The descriptions of the school and the teens in it almost made me want to drop the book because I didn't feel like reading anything that resorted to name brand listing or how expensive everything is. Almost. It was that little blip that nearly got me to drop this book. What kept me reading? It was Victoria. She really carried my interest throughout the book. As for the other characters, I also liked the twins, Bella and Bice. They both were so different, yet they complimented each other well. I'm glad the authors didn't use the good twin/evil twin cliche that's been overdone in many other books out there. I also like Bice's gift. It was the most interesting and unique one out of all of the characters. Each of them had their own little 'gift' yet it was Bice's that really stood out. Of all the characters, I really didn't like Valentin. What a spoiled selfish baby he was. Arg. As for the ending of this book, it was left very wide open and I'm wondering if there's going to be sequel. It certainly would be interesting if there is going to be one. I'd really like to know the outcome of these characters. I actually did not want this book to end. I was enjoying it way too much. Overall, a wonderful twist on Goethe's Faust. I'll be looking forward to Another Pan when it comes out (which may be a twist to Peter Pan? I'm not sure) I do recommend this book to other YA readers who want a change in their characters. Hooray for evil deeds!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Was very slow and didnt really explain on the plot. Not sure if I am going to go on to the next one. Just wanted to get this book over with.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A bit slow and confusing at first but then was sucked in by the creative story plot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Same
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was good, but it confused me in a lot of parts, overall the book is good. The characters are very enjoyable
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book is biring to me. But thats my opion
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago