×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Antarctica
     

Antarctica

4.3 12
by Kim Stanley Robinson
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the award-winning author of the Mars Trilogy comes a thrilling new novel....

Kim Stanley Robinson, author of the Hugo and Nebula award-winning Mars trilogy, is one of the most original and visionary writers of fiction today. Now, in his latest novel, he takes us to a harsh, alien landscape covered by a sheet of ice two miles deep. This is no distant planet

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Antarctica 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
kamas716 More than 1 year ago
I love this book. The cold, desolate landscape got transferred inside my head while reading. It also presented a history lesson in antarctic exploration that drew me in and made me want to find out more about the original explorers of the continent. It was a wonder read. It was faster paced that some of his Mars series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a good mix of adventure and history. Parts of it were a bit slow and had too much detail (in my opinion) ... about 75 pages could have been eliminated and it would have kept my attention more. Glad I read it to the end...as I was tempted to bail out about 1/2 way through. Made me want to read more about the early explorers!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Stark, white, cold. Hard to convince ANYONE why they should read this. Still... Mars series was good, THIS, a masterpiece.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is not only a gripping story, it is a tourist manual for the Ice Continent. 'Antarctica' makes me want to go there -- not just for the abundant beauty that Robinson describes, but also for the wonderful people who are crazy enough to live there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great book, grand style, powerful characters. This book reaches beyond science fiction, delving into history while exploring the grandeur of our own planet.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Following his Mars trilogy, it is little surprise that Kim Stanley Robinson chose Antartica as the subject and location of his next book. Readers would have been familiar with the fact the First 100 to Mars spent two years in preparation in Antartica (scoop: look for a short novel in the future about that period). Unfortunately, although Robinson tells a good story of man's quest to overcome the great physical distress of life on the Ice Planet, it lacks something. Perhaps it is the fact we've grown to know his previous characters so well over the three Mars books, that 500 pages just isn't enough for Robinson to pull us in to know his characters in Antartica. Perhaps it is the lack of futurism of being a fiction of our nearer future. Perhaps it is the re-occurring cooperative/social themes. Still, as other reviewers point out, Robinson's lesser works are still better than most best works. If just for a better understanding of this barren wasteland man has yet to lay to waste, Antartica is still a worthwhile read.