×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Apocalipstick: A Novel About Sex, Love And Other Natural Disasters
     

Apocalipstick: A Novel About Sex, Love And Other Natural Disasters

4.0 19
by Sue Margolis
 

See All Formats & Editions

When it comes to men, beauty columnist Rebecca Fine always seems to be on the scruffy end of the mascara wand. But all that changes the morning she meets Max Stoddart, her new colleague at the Daily Vanguard. With his upscale suit, Hugh Grant hair, and obscenely sexy good looks, he’s a single woman’s dream come true. Finally, her grandmother can stop

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Apocalipstick 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As far as brit chick lit goes, this is probably at the bottom. Very ridiculous w/ raunchy humor. The plot has no real substance. If you have time to kill read it, otherwise not worth reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
risuena More than 1 year ago
This was the first time I've read something by Sue Margolis and was completely knocked off my feet with laughter. I've been reading the chick-lit authors, and so far, this author is the most hilarious. I admit the storyline's okay, plot is rather predictable, and yet with everything seeming so ordinary, the way she can crack me up makes this book truly amazing. It's definitely the way she delivers her punch lines that makes this book a quick, fun read and stand out. She's on the top of my list for comedies! The characters are very lovable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Buttersy More than 1 year ago
I haven't laughed this much since I read the "Shopaholic" series! Loved it!!!!
Maggie_H More than 1 year ago
This is the book that got me addicted to Chick lit..Sue Margolis is one of my favorite writers of all times. Her books are gripping from the first page and laugh-out-loud hilarious. Every story has great characters, heartwarming plots, and hilarious dialoged. You'll fall in love with the characters from the beginning and want to read every book she has ever written. You won't regret this buy!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is my first Sue Margolis book, recommended to me because I love Erin McCarthy's work. Apocalipstick had so much potential. However, I found it very predictable (literally, about halfway through the book I predicted how it would end with Max and his 'goddaughter', and what Lipsticks' good news would be--big yawn) and scenes that were supposed to be funny, fell flat. I was disappointed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I have read to date. It is laugh out loud funny. I passed the book on to my friend and she is now hooked too. I liked her other books but didn't think they were as good as this one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Third times a charm! I read Spin Cycle and Neurotica by Sue Margolis before this one, and it was equally as wonderful. This book was amazingly funny and light-hearted. The British humor is extremely catchy and works wonders for the flow of the plot. A+!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was great. I couldn't stop reading once I picked it up. I even found my self laughing out loud while reading it on the train on the way to work. I have recommended this book to all my friends. They have all loved it too!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am now reading the 3rd Sue Margolis book. They all have the cutest British humor and you are able to breeze right through them. You will enjoy this one thoroughly!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Very funny book, laughed out loud in public several times reading this book. Fast read, highly recommended.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I laughed out loud as well, which is unusual! It was a fun, quick read. You will not be disappointed if you love chic lit.
Guest More than 1 year ago
it was a book that had humor,love, everything to make it a good book
Guest More than 1 year ago
and I bought it soley based on title alone. It was a very good read. A bit corny at times and even though you knew everything would work out in the end, it still had the ability to keep your attention. Fun characters, funny situations; what more could you ask for? I read it in one day and can't wait to read her other two novels. Definitely a thumbs up!
Guest More than 1 year ago
What can be worse than having your widowed father marry the blond bombshell, Lipstick, from your high school class who use to put your down & bullied you? This is one of the things that happens to beauty columnist Rebecca Fine in Sue Margolis¿ APOCALIPSTICK. It seems to Rebecca that her nice grandmother didn¿t do so well trying to fix Stan, her father, up, and she isn¿t doing well with the guys she finds on the internet for her either. Traffic is as bad in London as it is in the US. Thirty-two year old Fine is on her way to work at the Daily Vanguard as the beauty columnist for her first meeting but is caught in traffic. While putting on make-up, a guy behind her honks for her to get a move on, causing it to smear. Fortunately everyone else was having trouble to work on time, also. When she gets to work, she discovers her workstation is no longer hers; she¿s been moved. Turns out the ¿honker¿, Max Stoddart, is the new hot-shot reporter, an absolute hunk , & the owner of her workstation,. Rebecca & Max get past that early morning situation enough to start dating-hot and heavy. Things get sticky when Rebecca believes Max is stepping out on her. Rebecca has ambition; she wants to become an investigative reporter. When an anti-wrinkle crème is being touted by one of the famous make-up companies, Rebecca head off to Paris with her friend to try to get a sample, no matter how. She has figured out that the cream is the cause of women saying very unpleasant things to people that they never would say. The crème is not for sale yet, so fortunately only a handful of women have had access to it. The twists and turns involving trying to snatch a sample put Rebecca in jeopardy. Margolis weaves a good, humorous story, including suspense, with the Lipstick/Stan situation and the blabbermouth crème scenario. Fans of Margolis¿ SPIN CYCLE and NEUROTICA won¿t be disappointed in APOCALIPSTICK. I wasn¿t.