×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Apocalypse 2012 (Aztec Series #3)
     

Apocalypse 2012 (Aztec Series #3)

3.4 13
by Gary Jennings, Robert Gleason, Junius Podrug
 

In ancient Mexico, the “End-Time Codex”—prophesizing the world’s end in 2012—is entombed. A young Aztec-Mayan slave tells us its story.

Gifted in math and astronomy, Coyotl rises to king’s counselor in Tula, a golden city of milk and honey ruled by the brilliant god-king, Quetzalcoatl, the Feathered Serpent of lore. Gathering

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Apocalypse 2012 (Aztec Series #3) 3.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
JGolomb More than 1 year ago
Many familiar with Gary Jennings' "Aztec" series will enjoy this book. Expectations should be measured, however, because "2012" is only Gary Jennings 'Lite'. Since 'Lite' is all one can get, then one should go for it. At the end of the day the book is enjoyable. The delight I find from Jennings' original two "Aztec" books (and to a lesser extent in his Marco Polo-based novel "Journeyer") is the emotional depth and range of the key characters. It's been almost two years since I first discovered "Aztec" and I still find my thoughts drifting to the myriad tales of Mixtli Dark Cloud. Mixtli's inner monologue and narrative is what defines Jennings' characters. I find that tone very recognizable and comfortable. "2012" bounces back and forth between early 1000 A.D. and modern day. The plot lines of the two times generally follow each other on a search to answer the questions of when, why, and what cataclysmic end will come to the earth. There are about twice as many pages dedicated to the main Aztec character, Coyotl, and his adventures than the modern day vignettes. If the book is Gary Jennings 'Lite', then you'll be as pleased as I was that the focus is on Coyotl, who could justifiably be considered Mixtil Dark Cloud 'Lite'. "Apocalypse 2012" is purportedly based on Jennings' own notes found after his death in 1999. This book is not great. The storyline is unbalanced and, at some points, a little nonsensical. I found myself thumbing back through some sections trying to reconcile some of the actions. Ultimately, I threw my hands up and let myself enjoy the ride. Though 384 pages (MUCH shorter than "Aztec"), the book is an extremely easy and quick read. Few chapters run more than 10 pages long. If your expectations are set appropriately, and you pine for Gary Jennings, then buy this book. If you're looking for another "Aztec", then you'll have to keep searching. For those who haven't tried Jennings, this isn't a terrible introduction. But just be aware that this is more of an appetizer - the main course is "Aztec".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The idea that the Maya knew something is going to happen in 2012 is well laid out in the book by showing how interested they were in the sky and how they were probably the best astronomers in the ancient world. Having chapters with both the present day and the ancient one was good. I had never heard of Tula and it was interesting to find out that it was the land of milk and honey to the ancient Maya and Aztecs and that many of their customs and architecture came from Tula. I went to Chichen Itza and was told it had Toltec influences despite being in the heart of the Maya territory. I didn't understand then, but I do now. I liked the book, it moved fast and everything was interesting.
Cenza More than 1 year ago
I liked Apocalypse 2012. I like books where there are different things going on in different places but it all relates to the same plot. In the book, there were three storylines. A thousand years ago, in the ancient world, a young man named Coyotl has secret knowledge of the Maya 2012 end of the world prophecy and has recorded it in a codex. He has to stay alive until he gets it written because there are people back then who want the information. In the modern world, the president is working to deal with all the global threats we have to the planet, like rogue asteroids and super volcanoes. And the third storyline is a mission the government sent to Mexico find the codex and the battle over possession of it. There is a lot of action but also a lot of historical stuff about the Aztecs and Maya in ancient Mexico and information about the real threats we have to our survival today.
Lone_Ranger More than 1 year ago
I picked this book up to read something other than Civil War, and ,historical novels for a change. Although the book started out promising, if was disappointing in the end. To me, it seems like this was the opening for another book/part. The characters are okay, coyotl the main character isn't bad, and Ixchaal's is I felt the most interesting character. It appears this is another novel in the lines of the December 2012 Mayan End Calendar books. I have to agree with the other reviewers, that you should NOT purchase this book, but wait until your local library gets a copy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He's been dead for a decade and still "Gary Jennings" keeps churning out the novels...or rather he left enough "notes" for the numerous books that bear his name since "Aztec Autumn." Sadly, one doesn't have to be a particularly observant reader to notice the superiority of the works actually written by Jennings himself, prior to his death in 1999. <sigh>
JRoblyer More than 1 year ago
I read this whole book expecting it to get better after each page but it only got worse. Frankly, I am amazed that it was even published. It is truly awful. The characters are flat. The setting descriptions are lists that are repeated through out. The attempts at adding mystical quality fail. There is no plot. Disconnected activities prevail. There is no end to the story, it just stops. This book is a total waste of time and money.