×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Apologize, Apologize!
  • Alternative view 1 of Apologize, Apologize!
  • Alternative view 2 of Apologize, Apologize!
     

Apologize, Apologize!

2.6 44
by Elizabeth Kelly
 

See All Formats & Editions

Apologize, Apologize! takes us into the perversely charmed world of the Flanagans and their son, Collie (His parents named him after their favorite breed of dog.) Collie comes of age on Martha's Vineyard, trying to make sense of his wildly wealthy, hyper-articulate, resolutely crazy family members: a philandering father, incorrigible brother, pigeon-racing

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Apologize, Apologize! 2.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 44 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book, which touched every emotion. A cut above much of what's out there. Beautifully descriptive, wonderful development of characters, smart and witty dialogue. The plot unfolds as slowly as life does. Probably not for readers who are looking for quick, suspenseful reads. This must be savored. Elizabeth Kelly is a talented wordsmith.
Richard Jarrell More than 1 year ago
The book tackles a very significant and unique situation of a young man but what he goes through is something anyone can go through. The feeling of losing you brother and best friend hits hard in the story. It teaches you that rejection by family has underlying reasons and that o matter the setting, family and love shine through all.
jenimac More than 1 year ago
I was definitely compelled by the characters in this book. Kelly creates a really interesting family with all sorts of quirks and foibles. Her main character is captivating, and her voice and dialogue are well crafted. However, the plot took too many twists and turns. It could easily have finished up about 100 pages sooner than it did. The protagonist's first big crisis and resolution (sort of) would have been sufficient. But, Kelly was intent on taking us through too many adventures with the character that were superfluous, did nothing to develop the character, and ultimately leave us asking, "when will this book end?" and "where is this all going?" It is as if she wanted to write four different books and crammed them all into one. Too many wandering side episodes for me. She had a great storyline, and then really got off track.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was probably one of the most boring books I have ever read. There is basically no plot beyond the fact that the character lives in a dysfunctional family. The ending has absolutely nothing to do with the story that the author is making a weak attempt to tell. I would definitely NOT recommend this book.
TNTHARV More than 1 year ago
I continued to read this less then interesting book. I made myself finish reading it thinking it would get better. I forced myself each night to get through it. Don't make the same mistake that I did. It never got any better, teh characters are pathetic and the plot is boring. Do not waste your time.
jessie2 More than 1 year ago
This is one of the worst books I have ever read. There is not one character in the book with any redeeming qualities. The mother is particularly repulsive, thank God we don't have to put up with her for very long. Collie, the supposed long-suffering hero is just a total wimp that never stands up for himself to anyone. The only one you see a brief glimpse of humanity in and that is not until the very end, is the grandfather. This book depressed me from begining to end. I hope this is in no way based on anyone's real life. Horrible!
AndyAC More than 1 year ago
This book was much touted and recommended by several sites; what a disappointment. I found the characters to be tedious; you wanted to smack some of them. The story had me putting the book down several times though, admittedly, I did get caught up in it in the middle only to be disappointed again after that one flare up. To call this family dysunctional is to call a turnip a grape.....they are beyond belief. In this book, black is white, red is green and none of it worked for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a struggle to read. The lack of a basic plotline coupled with quirky yet lacking characters left me quite disappointed in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book intimately covers family dynamics in addition to some personal struggles many of us face, especially as children. I loved this story! Her writing style is intelligent, as well as, humorous. This story will anger you, bring you to tears, haveyou laughing and smiling, and give you hope. It left me wanting to read more from this author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm 1/3 way through this book and I'm really wondering why I continue to read it. It doesn't seem to be going anywhere and chapter after chapter I keep hoping this will be where it picks up and takes off. I've read reviews on both sides so will give it a few more chapters, I typically don't quit movies or books just because they're boring but this may be the exception to the rule...sometimes it's just hours of your life you'll never get back. Stay tuned...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
monica142 More than 1 year ago
Good book seems like it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
They came alive on the page, unusual, crazy, quirky, maddening, personalities. So much originality, in the characters. I did not know whether to laugh or cry at times. If you like intellect, and sarcasm, tragedy, and humor, all rolled itno one book this is the book to read. Great summer read.