×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Apothecary (Apothecary Series #1)
     

The Apothecary (Apothecary Series #1)

4.6 66
by Maile Meloy
 

See All Formats & Editions

It's 1952 and the Scott family has just moved from Los Angeles to London. Here, fourteen-year-old Janie meets a mysterious apothecary and his son, Benjamin Burrows - a fascinating boy who's not afraid to stand up to authority and dreams of becoming a spy. When Benjamin's father is kidnapped, Janie and Benjamin must uncover the secrets of the apothecary's sacred

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Apothecary 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 66 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Apothecary was a pretty well-thought out book with different layers of elements. For a first-time young reader's novel, it was exceptionally well. I enjoyed the book and it had clear descriptions so I could really see the characters. I would reccommend this book to others!
BookSake More than 1 year ago
Who doesn't love a little alchemy in their stories? The Apothecary is fun adventure for both boys and girls. While the story is geared towards young readers (10 and up) there might be a bit of confusion about the story's basis. The storyline all happens because of politics, and involves talk of communism, Russian spies, atomic bombs, and war. Many middle grade readers won't know what's going on when it comes to these areas. The fantasy portion, which involves the alchemy I mentioned previously, is perfect for the young reader and is a lot of fun. The two kids, Janie and Benjamin, are courageous and get to do lots of cool things kids will envy them for. The miss for this book is the fact that the fantasy seems young while the political storyline seems old and it doesn't work to its fullest ability for either age range. As an adult I found everything to be predictable and felt that there was not enough depth to the characters involved. The Advanced Reader's Copy that I read didn't have the complete artwork in it yet, but from the pages that did contain the illustrations - I thought they were great and added a good touch to the story. ARC Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the best book on the planet!!!!!!! For people who like action and adventure!!!! Buy it it is great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVE this book. It is great for seven and up. :) my sister read it and LOVED it! She was thrilled. I loved it to. I bet he or she has more books that are amazing. If you like this book (if you read it) you you love it to!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an amazing book, i would highly recommend it. I really hope they make more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Apothecary is a wonderful book. It is geat for grades 6-8, and provides a perfect balance of romance, magic, and mystery. If you enjoy adventures this book will keep you reading and never wanting to stop. Not only does it have a good writing style, but it also provides the right amount of challenge and fun for a young reader. I hope there is to be a sequel written, for this would definalty engage the reader alittle more.
AcesMommy More than 1 year ago
First off, if you didn't know what an Apothecary is, it's another name for a Pharmacist or a person who prepares and sells medicine/drugs. I was going to rate The Apothecary 3 1/2 stars in the beginning because the story drags on and is some what monotonous, but you get use to the writing style and towards the end it started to get really good. And the ending was just perfect. Jane Scott, aka Janie which she prefers to be called, is a 14 year old who lives in Los Angeles with her parents. They soon secretively leave and move to London when Janie gets followed home from school by the government. The government believes that Jane's parents are communists, so they are placed on a list with other people who needs to be "watched." On arriving to London, Janie dislikes everything from her new home, her new school, the uniform, and the "populars" of St. Beden's School. But soon all that changes when a simple Bomb Drill happens during lunch and a defiant boy who doesn't see the point to comply with hiding under the table catches her eye and draws her attention. On her way home from school she hears the familiar voice of the boy and realizes that he is the Apothecary's son, Benjamin. Janie eavesdrops on their conversation and over hears their argument on how Benjamin does not want to take on the family business. Benjamin's decision gets put into question after his father gets kidnapped and the only one he can turn to is Janie. Benjamin and Janie then go head on into a world of secrets, lies, danger, and things that you would never believe was possible, alchemy. I enjoyed Janie so much because she is very mature for a fourteen year old. She's witty and smart and not at all needy, juvenile, or the damsel in distress. Maile Meloy did very well to make Janie relatable and a great narrator in the story. Benjamin, the male protagonist, was really plain. That's not to say it was a bad thing. He was very refreshing to read because he didn't right off the bat fall "love at first sight" fancied Janie like most YAs produce. He was not so much as a bad boy persona but a driven and outspoken character. With all the trials and tribulations Benjamin and Janie went through, it left no room for a romantic relationship, however, there was room to blossom. Pip is such a character!! I love him! Pip plays the sidekick roll to the two, but he brought such a critical roll that without him the story would lack luster. He is very distinct, cocky, and comical that he made the most nerve wrecking of times enjoyable and humorous. I couldn't help but see The Apothecary side by side with The Chronicles of Narnia and The Golden Compass. The Apothecary is written whimsically and fairy tale like. A story I would love to be read to, and a story I will read to my son at bed time. The ending had me in tears and ended in a good note, some what as a stand alone. I can only wish The Apothecary is the beginning of a series and that there will be more adventures with Benjamin and Janie with Pip at the tow. Thank you Putnam Juvenile for this well liked ARC treat!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read for a 5th grade lit group. Awesome vocabulary to work with can be creative for book reports. Possibly a bit long for end of year.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BENJAMIN!!!!!!!!!!! He is so sweet and kind and adventorous
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is one of my new favorites, however i thought that the next two books in the series weren't as good. Despite that i think that you should at least read the first one. Normaly i dont read a lot of fiction books but i loved this one. Must read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a really great book, I suggest that you read it! It starts off a bit slow but after the first couple chapters it gets a lot better. Melony makes Janie and Benjerman apper right in front of you. This book is peiced together very nicely and there is not one moment when there was no action at all! As you can see, I really suggest that you read this amazing book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is packed with adventure, history, and fun! This is one of the best books I have ever read! Hope everyone else enjoys it as much as I did!
thebookneard More than 1 year ago
Okay, I did not think that this book was going to be good. And it wasn't. It was AMAZING.I got this book at my school's library by just  picking this book randomly on the shelf. I had to pick a book cause it was part of my grade. I mean I love to read, but i read teen books and like books like The Maze Runner series. So I had this book in my desk for a week and i finally decided to read it. It was SO GOOD! I finished this book in 2 days. The ending was really good! Get this book at your library or Barnes & Noble. I think you should buy it  because then you can read it over and over. This book is totally one of my favorite books. Buy this book!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
good you listen now pass this message on in 5 ither review posts
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BEAT BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I think this book is the MOST AMAZING BOOK ANYONE HAS EVER WRITTEN IN THE HISTORY OF BOOKS. I REALLY DONT KNOW HOW TO TOP IT. ALL I CAN SAY IS I AM SPEECHLESS AND READ IT!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Apothecary is the BEST book ever !!!!!! You should read it there is a lot of "what will happen next"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved every bit of this amazingly awesome book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The apothecary is really good!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I <3 this book so much ecpesialy the characters. Cant wait to read the second one. Been trying to find benjiman and see waht he looks like. Omg i read it twice
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is totes yummy i totes like bnjamin the totes most and jin lo wahaaaaaaa