×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Appaloosa (Virgil Cole/Everett Hitch Series #1)
     

Appaloosa (Virgil Cole/Everett Hitch Series #1)

4.0 105
by Robert B. Parker
 

See All Formats & Editions

When Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch arrive in Appaloosa, they find a town suffering at the hands of a renegade rancher who’s already left the city marshal and one of his deputies dead. Cole and Hitch are used to cleaning up after scavengers, but this one raises the stakes by playing not with the rules—but with emotion.

Watch a QuickTime trailer for

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Appaloosa (Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch Series #1) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 105 reviews.
jeffg2000 More than 1 year ago
Parker did a good job with this, a fast read,
philoniousmonk More than 1 year ago
I had already read some of Parker's "Jesse Stone" books and enjoyed them. I recently rented "Appaloosa" so when I found out it was also a Parker book, I wanted to read it. I normally like to read the book before the movie, but in this case, the movie followed the book so closely that it didn't really matter. I liked both so much that I plan on reading the rest of the series very soon. One of the things that made this such an enjoyable read was the dialog between Cole and Hitch. The ending was a bit of a surprise but perfect. The fact that the movie followed the book so closely says a lot about the quality of Parker's writing.
enigmacomp More than 1 year ago
I am nearing the end of the list in my queat to read all of the books written by Robert B. Parker. As usual, this book doesn't disappoint. Mr. Parker is gifted at not only weaving a complex tale, but at making it amusing, thought provoking, and yet somehow light. The pervasing theme to all of his works remains that of enduring love and friendship, the ability of his characters to communicate with one another wordlessly, and accept these others for who they are. In this regard, the characters of Everett and Virgil mirror those of Spencer and Susan in his detective series. As lawmen / gunslingers they adhere to their own moral code, which guides when and how it is permissible to kill. A code difficult to disagree with, it also includes their views on treatment of women ahead of the time.
Mike_the_Author More than 1 year ago
I saw the movie based on this novel and could not wait to read the book. I am a few pages away from the ending. I DON'T WANT IT TO END!!! I am going to savor those last few pages!!! I will probably not read the sequels due to not wanting to get caught up in the series, but this is a fast and entertaining read. The author puts the reader in the saddle. I could feel myself in the horse blanket taking in the wild smells, eating beef jerky, eating hardtack with bitter tasting coffee-all around the campfire. God I just loved it. One of the big shootout scenes had me on the edge of my seat. I actually felt the fear experienced by Virgil and Everett just before the fight!!! I was the third man helping them in that gunfight!!! That's how good the writing is--he puts us there with the characters. Can't say enough about this gem of a book. Just hate to see it end. BUY THIS BOOK!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
As the headline suggest I rarely read westerns but liking Robert Parker I decided to give it a chance. I admit I was not disappointed and read it in one sitting. It has a noncomplicated theme so if you are lokking for a complex story you won't find it. The chaacters are interesting as is the story. If you have never read westerns or don't like them this one may change your mind.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sannois More than 1 year ago
I couldn't get past the prologue. I picked this up because I enjoyed the movie. I got the book used, and I'm glad I didn't pay more for it than I did. Maybe I'm just a curmudgeon, but the prologue is a couple of bad guys raping a woman. I couldn't get through it. And the language used by the bad guys in the prologue is something you'd expect to hear in an HBO original show. It doesn't bother me as much in movies or music, but I don't want to read stuff like that. Maybe the main body of the book is better, but I wouldn't know. If I don't like a book, I'll usually donate it to the library. I threw this one in the trash. I'm giving this a 2/5 because the movie was entertaining and I'm giving the main text of the book the benefit of the doubt. If you read this book, do yourself a favor and skip the prologue.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
They rinsed themselves with water then ran toward the others. (O.o where are the others?)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Come on Rose!'he said with cheerche didnt feel. "Lets get to the new camp and fix you up!'
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PAUL-TTB More than 1 year ago
you can put this one down to do something else
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
APPALOOSA IS HERE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Parker's characters are no-nonsense, write and wrong types of guys. The story moves along nicely, and without the gore, graphic sex, and raunchy language which comes in many other books these days. I'm reading the third in the series now, and have enjoyed them all. Because I read a lot of historical fiction I gave the series a try, and am not disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was looking for a book to read from the library a while back and just happened upon this book. I was addicted by the forward. Crazy as that seems, but I found this book a wonderful gateway into the wild west by an author that I had heard nothing about. But to my delight, I have now found an appreciation for him and his writing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very enjoyable book,I really like westerns,and this one fills the bill!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SnapeLover More than 1 year ago
I am in love with Everett Hitch! I have been racking my brain to figure out who can play Virgil and Everett in a TV mini-series. The characters are so real and remind me of John Wayne, Gary Cooper, Robert Ryan, and Steve McQueen! I am a middle aged woman and I have read 4 of this series in a week! I am on looking for more!!! Parker's writing is so enjoyable. OMGoodness, did I say I am in love with Everett? Virgil is such a strong ,silent, sensitive and intelligent character. all of what we exect in a post-Civil War hero. I want more!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The hero, Virgil Cole is an arrogant bully who is unbelievably capable. His sidekick, Everett Hitch, caters to his every whim. I prefer my characters a little more human.