×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Appetite for Reduction: 125 Fast and Filling Low-Fat Vegan Recipes
     

Appetite for Reduction: 125 Fast and Filling Low-Fat Vegan Recipes

4.1 67
by Isa Chandra Moskowitz, Matthew Ruscigno (With)
 

See All Formats & Editions

This is not your mother’s low-fat cookbook. There’s no foolish tricks, no bizarre concoctions, no chemicals, no frozen meals…no fake anything! Appetite for Reduction means cooking with real food, for real life. (Skimpy portions need not apply.)
 
In Appetite for Reduction, bestselling author and vegan chef Isa Chandra

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Appetite for Reduction 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 66 reviews.
RJH More than 1 year ago
As a Minnesotan, I usually find that most vegan cookbook require ingredients that are simply not available in my area. Ms. Moskowitz has supplied us with a cookbook which is filled with recipes that doesn't require a two hour expedition to find ingredients!! ( and there was much rejoicing) I have found these recipes easy to follow and you have a great vegan meal in under an hour!! My favorites so far are Potato and Spinach curry, Moroccan chickpeas and zucchini, and mushroom tibs. "Appetite for Reductions" is a great cookbook that has helped me to eat and feel better. As most of the ingredients are inexpensive this has also been great way to try different foods while waiting for winter to finally to go away!! I strongly recommend!
jacquelinemdavis30 More than 1 year ago
My family and I love this cookbook! My favorite recipe is "Hottie Black-Eyed Peas and Greens", amazing flavor! We have made this recipe at least 3 times already! I can't say enough about this book. I also loved reading the beginning about the author, she is a riot!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A friend of ours lent us this cookbook when we introduced a vegan diet into our home. We immediately purchased our own copy. The author is entertaining throughout the whole book and really gets you excited about trying out new vegan menus. Nothing too exotic - just scrumptious, unique recipes. We especially recommend the Hoisin Mustard Tofu!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I own other vegan cookbooks by Isa Chandra Moskowitz, but I held off buying Appetite for Reduction, thinking that I wasn't particularly interested in low-fat vegan meals as I already eat a healthy diet full of vegetables. After hearing so many good things about this book, I bought it and I am so glad I did. Everything I have made so far has been fantastic. Most of Isa's recipes are from ingredients that you can buy just about anywhere and the recipes themselves are easy to follow and always turn out great. It has excellent recipes for salads and homemade dressings. Everyone I've ever made any of Isa's recipes for, has given rave reviews (and I'm the only vegan, they are nearly always omnis). A definite must for your cookbook collection!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a vegan it is hard to find cookbooks that offer a good variety of recipes. I usually find myself eating the same thing and craving my old food. This cookbook is AMAZING and each recipe is so satisfying, flavorful, filling, and low fat! The ingredients are very easy to find and inexpensive. No crazy vegan substitutes here! Not to mention the recipes are vegan and DELICIOUS!! I made the Potato and Spinach Curry tonight and my non vegan boyfriend loved it! I love being able to eat Indian food without feeling guilty about it. Buy this NOW!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have the paper copy because i got it before i got my nook. This is an amazing cookbook with a large variety of recipes. I just about collect vegan cookbooks and this is one of my many favorites. The apple-butternut squash soup in this book is to die for!! I would also suggest the happy herbivore, vegan cookies invade your cookie jar, vegan with a vengence and vegan yum yum. You wont have to worry about overly complicated ingredients in this book, a lot of the ingredients can easily be found at your neighborhood grocer. Not to mention Makowitz is quite the funny woman in her "cookbook commentary" a must have for vegans who love variety.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My husband and I have been vegetarians for the last 30 years and turned vegan about 10 years ago. Ms. Moskowitz's books are the BEST vegan cookbooks available (no, I'm not her friend and do not know her) but I love all of Isa's cookbooks. This one is great for those of us who need to watch our weight. The recipes are delicious and do not require an all day commitment; most of these recipes only take about 30 minutes. Husband loves them too.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great book for a beginner vegetarian as that's where I am. The recipes give so much variety and everything has been DELICIOUS. Of all the books I bought to introduce me to this diet, this is the one I keep using. Useful tips are given for substitutions in recipes which expand ones knowledge of how to cook vegetarian. It also gives nutritional info about all the recipes which is interesting.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is not as good as Isa's other books (e.g., Vegan With A Vengeance Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar, Vegan Cupcakes take over the World, etc...). We LOVE Isa's other books. Just so you know, we typically follow a very lowfat, vegan diet (e.g., McDougall). In this book, the recipes are fat and calorie reduced (yes!), the techniques are great, and the recipes are easy to follow. However, the dishes seem to be missing the excellent flavors that Isa incorporated into her other works. My husband and I think the recipes I've made from Appetite for Reduction are not bad - just not great.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am not a vegan or a vegetarian, but in an effort to change up my diet and cooking a bit I decided to try this book. I was familiar with the author from her other cookbooks and so when I saw this and instantly saw several recipes of interest, I opted to invest in a copy. So glad I did! Isa uses ingredients that are easily accessible overall, affordable, tasty, and seemingly healthy. So far I have tried 3 recipes and each one has been a hit. Highly recommend the black bean, zucchini, and olive tacos. So good!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend this book. I am new to being a vegaan. As well as gluten intolerant. This author tells me at a glance if the receipe is gluten free as well as if it is done in uder 30 minutes. The receipes are easy to follow. Ingredients that are mainstream. LOVE LOVE LOVE this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Love me some Isa Chandra Moskowitz. Another fine cookbook from my favorite post-punk chef and cruelty-free cooking educator. oi! and oi-vey!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Appetite for Reduction has tons of great low fat, low calorie, very tasty recipes. I will refer to this book often.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Most vegetarian/vegan cookbooks don't include nutritional information; I bought this one specifically because it does. And because it's by my favorite cookbook authoress...
Guest More than 1 year ago
I like the twists and choices of recipes and the ability to find most ingredients at my local market or health food store
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is great for those looking to kick-start healthier eating habits. I've tried several of the recipes and all have tasted great. I love the butternut-coconut rice!
Guest More than 1 year ago
good source
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This cookbook has seriously changed my life! As a new vegan with limited cooking experience, I've found all of the recipes that I've tried simple to prepare and delicious! I've cooked about half of the book so far and have lost some weight too! The meals are very satisfying and I love that all of the nutritional information is provided for each recipe.  Isa's voice throughout the cookbook is very entertaining too! I will absolutely be purchasing her other cookbooks.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
made several dishes and they turned out great!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Really excited to use this book to find healthy yet flavorful vgan recipes
Anonymous More than 1 year ago