×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Aquamarine
     

Aquamarine

4.1 50
by Alice Hoffman
 

See All Formats & Editions


Best-selling author Alice Hoffman's luminous tale of nostalgia and enchantment, for readers both young and old.

Hailey and Claire are spending their last summer together when they discover something at the bottom of the murky pool at the Capri Beach Club. There in the depths is a mysterious and beautiful creature with a sharp tongue and a broken heart: a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Aquamarine 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 50 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow! This book is fantastic as soon as I started to read it i could not put the book down. I saw the movie and it was good but not up to par with this book! You have to read it
Stephenie-Meyer-fan1 More than 1 year ago
I saw the movie and am hoping to read the book. But whoever said that the movie was wayyy better(uhem, some anonomous person), there's something wrong with them. The book is always, I repeat, always better than the movie. Always. Take Twilight for example. It was a great book with excellent writing. But the movie was aweful. I absolutley hated the movie. Ugh. "Don't judge a book by its movie!"-K.W.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was OKay. The movie was WAY better. I thought the book was going to be better than the movie. It is still a pretty good book but i thought it was going to be way better. Like i said it was OKAY.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you liked the movie well you should go back and read the book!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is a great book that i really enjoyed and i think anyone who likes mermaids should read it. and if you like a love story.in this one the mermaid wnats a date with a human boy. it is so awsome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This read was great but more suitable for readalouds, rather than 4 reading 2 self
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Aquamarine is a great book. Two best friends stumble upon a mermaid, not in the ocean but in a deserted pool. Aquamarine finds herself falling in love with a man working at the the pool. This is a truly touching story. I highly recommend this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
when i was little i loved this book, i would read it on days end, wondering if a mermaid would get her love or if to best friends wouldnt be seperated... if you have seen the movie and liked it i am pretty sure you will like the book, because the book was a lot better.
Guest More than 1 year ago
ok, i'm sorry to the people who liked the book, but this was probably the worst book i have read for a long time. there is no plot, and it's really short. do not read this book, it's a waste of time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book is super easy and you can rip through it in a few days but its still good if u need a break. however it is way too easy to be at a grade 6 level, and i read it in 5th grade
Guest More than 1 year ago
Aquamarine is not as good as the movie. The movie was more interesting
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was terrible! It takes two minintes to read, I really wanted to read it so i bought it and read it in the car going to NY. This was a waste of my money there was no point at all.Of all the books I've reviwed this is the only one with only one star! Don't waste your money on this it ends awful as well. BOO!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best book i have read in a long time so i highly recomend you read this book i think you will really enjoy it! you don't even have to really like mermaids to read this book it has many suprising THINGS THAT YOU WOULD HAVE NEVER SUSPECTED
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best book i have read in a very long time i have not seen the movie yet but the book is unbielvable !!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm sorry to say that when my friend let me borrow this book, I was sooo happy that I finally getting to read this. But now, after reading it, i think this book had NO plot whatsoever, and it was sorta babyish that she only really stayed in the human world 3 days. Unlike the movie, Hailey and Claire didn't get a wish and she didn't stay more than 3 days, and she didnt have a good reason to be where she is. Don't read this, unless you like plotless books
Guest More than 1 year ago
loved it who couldn't! sad, Funny, Love, friendship all at the same time i hated the movie but the book was really good.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you liked this aquamarine book you have to read the original one. Its nothing like the movie or this aquamarine book. It has a much better twist to it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great story! I wish i was one of the girls in this story it would be wonderful!!! My wish would have been that i could be a mermaid too! I have read the book 17 times already and i am reading it again! i think the book is the best i have ever read and the film i could watch every minute of every hour of every day!!! Im a mermaid lover so this film has made me think.I have a great best friend!!! ITS SOOO AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book gave me alot of thought about if the author really belived in mermaids. Also I enjoyed how Alice Hoffman used such great discription that it felt as if I was there exsperincing all of it. This book gave readers a feel about being unnormal, weather you were someone who was diffrent or even a mermaid like Aquamarine.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw the movie a little while ago and then decited to read the book. Aquamarine, by Alice Hoffman was just so-so. It was really short and took me about a half-hour to read. Sometimes short books aren't bad books but this one, well there just hasn't much feeling put into it. I enjoyed the movie much better which I quite seldom that I choose the films over books but in this case it's true. In the book the charector Aquamarine was set as a snobby, and really kind of an unlikable person. Where as in the movie she seems a lot nicer. Watch the movie instead!