×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

ArchEnemy (Looking Glass Wars Series #3)
     

ArchEnemy (Looking Glass Wars Series #3)

4.3 181
by Frank Beddor
 

See All Formats & Editions

Discover the fate of Wonderland- and imagination itself- in this riveting conclusion to the New York Times bestselling trilogy.

The Heart Crystal's power has been depleted, and Imagination along with it. The people of Wonderland have all lost their creative drive, and most alarmingly, even Queen Alyss is without her powers. There is some comfort in the fact

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

ArchEnemy (Looking Glass Wars Series #3) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 182 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Queen Alyss of Wonderland has taken over throne from Redd, who used dark imagination to rule as a dictator. In a contentious battle between the two females, light imagination wins. However a third player surfaces as King Arch of the Overlands wants to rule Wonderland. He employs WILMA (Women of Inconceivable Loss and Massive Annihilation) to ruin the Heart Crystal, which is the source of all imagination in creation. The power of imagination vanishes from Wonderland and will soon disappear from earth and other worlds too. Alyss tries to line up support to fight the King and Queen of clubs and other allies of King Arch, who insist there is no place for imagination to flourish. Her lone remaining choice is to ally with the Redd Queen as her friends are being tossed in prisons by the WILMAs and the caterpillar between puffs says nothing of meaning. This is the final book in the Looking Glass Wars trilogy and in spite of the subject retains all the imagination and charm of the previous novels (see THE LOOKING GLASS WARS and SAVING REDD). Alyss is bold and brave as she rules with benevolence until the threat surfaces that returns her into a determined resolute fighter. Arch is an interesting enemy whose goal appears not be power but instead the elimination of power; which makes him a difficult opponent to defeat as he has a personal quest. Although written for young adults, older readers will enjoy Alyss' latest adventures in Wonderland. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this entire series. Love the reinterpretation
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has left me in awe
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While it has some good fights and plot eh not the greatest ending it felt too rushed and reptive and the climax wasnt the best
Rachele Sidbeck More than 1 year ago
I think its a wonderdful waynto end a series and not drag it on. I know more than likely everyone including myself wants to know what happens to dodge and alyss, but it was the right place to stop. Thank you so much frank beddor for carrying on such a wonderous adventure.
Matthew Pijan More than 1 year ago
This series is so well written!! If you love Alice in Wonderland but want a great take on the story than I would suggest this series!!!
Nicole Koller More than 1 year ago
I loved the first 2 books in the trilogy, but this one did not hold my interest. I found it much less imaginative than its predecessors. I only finished it to see how the series ended.
stnkrbell More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the first two books of this series. But had a hard time getting through this book. The series for me is just turning to war like for me. Other wise the book was just ok...
Kaitlin Thompson More than 1 year ago
read this whole series and its a great twist on a story we all have heard
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book had me on the edge of my seat till the very end! I highly recommend this terrific ending to an excellent series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a fun, suspensful book. The characters and plotline showed great growth. You could tell that these books were written intended for the movies, but that's part of what made them great- I'm sure if these books get made into movies, the transition will be excellent.
Runa More than 1 year ago
I must say, I'm a little torn. Part of me wants to say that this was a fantastic book, a perfect ending to the trilogy, but unfortunately, I don't think I can. A lot of this book was insignificant fighting scenes that seemed to go on forever. I'm sure this makes it a popular read for some readers, but that's really not what I go into books for. The writing was spectacular, sharply witty, albeit going overboard sometimes with the details of the fight scenes, and it was through this amazing writing that these characters really came to life. I found myself switching favorite characters from Dodge (who sadly doesn't make as many appearances as I had hoped/expected him to make) to good old Hatter. My heart really broke for him and Molly, and Beddor portrayed the awkward phase they were going through really well. I've not read many books where the author has so fully developed a complete world. I didn't know what to think of the many instances of blatant foreshadowing; it had its plusses and minuses, sometimes it worked, other times it was a little much. Up until the ending, it was really a great read. However, the ending seemed, in my opinion, completely rushed, slowed down, and anticlimactic--not as epic as the rest of the series. I know Beddor could have done better. I still do highly recommend this series to all fans of fractured fairytales and the like. Rating: 4.5/5
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
1st one-good.......2nd one......ehhhh....3rd one.....ok
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book ia toataly loveable! Ift is a stunning conclusion to the LOOKING GLASS WARS SERIES. The first two books, THE LOOKING GLASS WARS and SEEING REDD will want to be read first. That will basically make sure you know whats going on. Once you have, read ARCHENEMY!!!!! You will love the epic end! With special thanks to Frank Beddor, who was the writer of the LOOKING GLASS WARS series. Read this soooooon!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this series. Wish there were more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago