×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Are You My Mother?: A Comic Drama
     

Are You My Mother?: A Comic Drama

3.8 20
by Alison Bechdel
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the best-selling author of Fun Home, Time magazine’s No. 1 Book of the Year, a brilliantly told graphic memoir of Alison Bechdel becoming the artist her mother wanted to be.

Alison Bechdel’s Fun Home was a pop culture and literary phenomenon. Now, a second thrilling tale of filial sleuthery, this time about her mother:

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Are You My Mother?: A Comic Drama 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
indee_visual More than 1 year ago
After reading "Fun Home," I wondered incessantly about the other half of the author's family structure. This book was worth the wait, as it completely answered my questions, and helped to further formally introduce the author. I've followed Alison Bechdel for a while, consuming her "Dykes to Watch Out For" comic and identifying myself and my friends in hers. This book only helped me to identify with her even more. I would recommend this book to anyone who has ever wondered about their relationship with their parents. Anyone who has ever questioned the reason that they are the way they are.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SO boring. Two stars, only because I do.repect Ms Bechdels.previous.work. This is so tedious. If you enjoy reading excerpts of the work of an outdated psychologist, and experiencing someone elses therapy sessions, go for it. Otherwiss, pass onthis one. Yawn
LAtherapistLCSW More than 1 year ago
Alison Bechdel's search for self-understanding takes us on an amazing journey of our own self-discovery. This book is profoundly moving. There is nothing frivolous about it, so don't be misled by the graphic novel format. Not suitable for those who are uncomfortable with psychological disclosure or lesbian relationships. A must read for anyone with family issues who is ready to confront them head-on. Alison does not blink. She looks at herself and her family with painful clarity. I highly recommend this for anyone who is searching for their own truth.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This memoir might not appeal to everyone. It includes a lot of Bechdel's thoughts on her experience of therapy, with some looks at different schools of psychology. (I enjoy that sort of thing.....) It also looks at her relationship with her mother, a still evolving process. The use of comic type drawings to illustrate is really wonderful; I have always enjoyed Bechdels's work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
slithers More than 1 year ago
At first, I was disappointed because this is so very different from Beschdel's "Fun Home", which was a bit melancholy, but also upbeat in its way and had absolutely beautiful art. "Are You My Mother?" is very intro-spective and wordy, without secrets or excruciatingly detailed, beautiful artwork and it jumps between her relationships with lovers, mother, faux-mothers (therapists) and her fascination with Virginia Woolf and a psychologist named Winnicot from 100 years ago. By the end of it, I had begun to enjoy it, but having read "Fun Home" not so long ago (last year), I couldn't help but unfavorably compare this to that. I can appreciate that there's no neat answers, mostly just smart questions, but for those not looking for an intellectually-challenging psycho-philosophical graphic novel (or not a huge Beschdel fan), you may want to give it a miss.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
R_L_Harlan More than 1 year ago
A fasinating book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mummy! Mummy?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Are you my mother sounds like the dr seuss book about the little birdie who coulnt find its mommy so ut asked every creature ut could find on the ground or in the air
MvsMK More than 1 year ago
fsdfsdffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff