×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret
     

Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret

4.6 676
by Judy Blume
 

See All Formats & Editions

Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret

No one ever told Margaret Simon that eleven-going-on- twelve would be such a hard age. When her family moves to New Jersey, she has to adjust to life in the suburbs, a different school, and a whole new group of friends. Margaret knows she needs someone to talk to about growing up-and it's not long before she's found

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 676 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am just starting sixth grade and my mom suggested this book. I read it in two days and I absolutely love it. I reccomend it for all girls from ages 11 to 100!!!You can really relate to all of the troubles that Margaret goes through.
bookowl828 More than 1 year ago
TIMELESS CLASSIC! The last time I read this book, I was a child. I recently re-read several Judy Blume books. As an adult, this book still touched my heart and I still took something away from it having been able to see it as an adult. Worth the read no matter what your age!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is an excellent classic that I read in fourth grade. Two years later, I feel the urge to encourage people to pick up this heartwarming book. Margret discovers who she really is. If you enjoy self enpowerment, get it. If not, don't. Sincerely, A sixth grade bookworm.
WizLighter1901 More than 1 year ago
I admit that at first the only reason I got this book was like the main character my name is Margaret. But, after reading the whole book, cover to cover, I actually really liked it. Sure at points you can sense the awkwardness of it but besides that it was a fun read, and good to force on your friends.
WhatDreamsAreMadeOf More than 1 year ago
When I was younger before I read this I was nervous about it and didn¿t know how good it would be or if it would be an uncomfortable book to read. But this book surprised me and ended up being a fantastic book, Judy Blume has never written a book I didn¿t like. This is one of those books every girl should read VERY VERY VERY relatable and helpful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful book about religion and growing up. ONLY GIRLS SHOULD READ THIS! BOYS, STAY AWAY!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THIS IS MY FAVORITE BOOK EVER!!!!! IT IS SOOOO GREAT!!!!! For any girl who wants to learn more about friends, your body, and religion. Judy please write a second Margaret book. I about died when you cut the book off like that. I wanted to know what happens to her next year and while she's at camp.AMAZING READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book over 30 years ago, and my 11 year old, who has had a really hard time warming up to reading just finished it and absolutely loved it!! She is searching for other books to read that she can relate to as well as she did this one!! I saw her attitude toward reading do a complete flip-flop. I recall loving this book and being totally involved in the character of Margaret. Having gone to a catholic elementary school, I connected to the prayer focus in the book quite well. This is definitely a book for us all to pass on to our preteen girls who have such a hard time with life today.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is perfect for a pre teen. I am going into 6 th grade and this is a great book. You can really relate to what happens. Yah boys dont read this it is q great book for GIRLS ONLY !!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutly loved this book, because a Margaret is growing up and trying to figure where she belongs. I throughly enjoyed how the story was told. I would definitely recommend this to my friends.
AuthorChanChan More than 1 year ago
Are you there God ?It's me,Margaret is a Great book !It is about growing up too fast fro Margaret who start growing up when she joins a club.She soon wants a bra and too be a women.Margaret finds out her best friend is a lier about her period.When all this is going on ,only in sixth grade for a girl.Margaret and all the girls start to like the same boy!Soon Margaret gets to dance with him and a Kiss!!!!!!!!She lied to her friends about making -up with him too!This book is a one-night read !Great for a 12 year old girl who is now a pre-teen !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Every girl should read this book
LexAB More than 1 year ago
This is a great book for preteens. I'm twenty now and I still remember reading this book in the 5th grade and being able to relate to so much that Margaret went through. I laughed out loud to this book when I was younger because it's freakin hilarious. I highly recommend it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Dear Mrs. Blume this is one of the best books in the world ever sense i just finished it i wanted to read it again and again and AGAIN!!!
alexa_mireya More than 1 year ago
I read this in middle school and it was the most adorable book ever!! I loved it and could totally relate to the things faced growing up as a changing female.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Judy blume is a great authur. I can really relate to margaret and i finshed this book in a day!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey this really is a good book for girls who havent had their period yet. I can totally relate to ALL of u girls who really want to have ur period. When i was ur girls' age, every time i would go to the bathroom i would check for anything. Sometimes i would put toilet paper in my bras just to see what it would look like to have big boobs. Just a little warning for u girls though and im trying to help u not destroy ur dreams or ur wants. And pls trust me because i am fourteen and a half and i know this stuff.when i was ten eleven and twelve and a half i use to stuff my bras. Not my best choice. After u look in the mirror when u have just stuffed ur bras ur brain is only telling u that it looks good. In reality ppl can tell if u have stuffed ur bras. Also when u get into high school ppl will know and say things behind ur back that would hurt u. I dont stuff and wont again. Also if and when u girls get a boyfriend it will really disappoint them when they fidnd out ( and they will find out some way or another) u stuff ur bras. Just a little bit of older sisterly help and love there. Another thing. Having ur period is wonderful, exciting, and awsome... when u first get it. Yes, it means that u r transforming into a women and it makes u feel older. I have been there and have done that. Sometimes i am still happy that i had that feeling when i first had my period ( which was when i was thirteen, seventh grade going into eighth grade. Actually on the presidents birthday :p) But now that i have been having it every single month its not that great. Well, the worst of it is the cramps. I once went to bed moaning it hurt soooo badly. Also pads r super uncomfortable. Ive never used a tampon but apparently they hurt going in the first couple of times. Also having to worry about changing every four hpurs or so. U so have to worry about if u can see the pad through ur pants cause it is bulky. U also have to worry about carrying the pads/tampons around without all the guys seeing ot in school or... where ever. But thats when u get o start carrying around a purse and thats another good thing. U get to carry around a purse. Well all im saying is that having ur period and the feeling of growing up is wonderful. It just has those tiny flaws.im just telling what to expect. So go ahead and feel that joy when u see that stain in ur panties. Just remember that with that stain comes some dreadful times but also some good ones. I wish the best for all u girls who are waiting for it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got this book for my birthday and i enjoyed it. I like how the author uses margaret to tell us how hard life can be.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BUY THE BOOK!!! It will be worth it. Im in 7th grade and read it in one day. I keep reading it over and over!! Its worth it!! Buy it. Do it. Dare ya.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this book is wonderful!!!!!!!!! I am 11 years old and LOVED it! In this book a girl named margret joins a new club with some other girls and they talk about girls in growing. Margret is worried she will be the last to grow! This book is great for ages 9-13! I wouldn't recomend this book under 9! Read this book to find out how margret gets through these hard times for all girls.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THE best book i have ever read for 12-19 year olds !!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My mom bought me this book because she wanted me to know about stuff... but i ended up loving it i read it over 3 times now i can't find it (it's not on my nook) i think she took it lol thos is the best book for kids going into middle school or are on their last year of elementary. Love it soooo much
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome if your a girl and ur religious. I do not reccomend this for boys
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is about a girl who is in sixth grade and has moved to New Jersey from New York. Margaret has started in puberty, and is eager to start menstruating. Also, she joins up in a club that has only three rules: #1: you have to tell when you've started menstruating (gross!) and also tell what it's like. #2: you have to have a 'boy book' with you at all times. A 'boy book' is a notebook that has names of boys you like in the order of the boy you most like to the boy you like, but the boy you like the least. Lastly, #3: you can only meet on Mondays, with the exception of emergency meetings. Overall, it was a supremely satisfying book, with all the twists and turns of actual life. That is why I enjoyed the book so much!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Judy Blumes Are you there God? Its Me,Margaret is a great book for young girls becoming mature women. I read this book when i was 11 and now i am 14 and i have to read the book again for a project in health. Now that i read it i laugh at everything in the book because it sounds just like me and my friends talking when we were younger. Read the book if you havent gotten your first bra or period yet it will totally show you your not alone. Read it with your mom too or tell her about it beacsue it will help your mom show you the ropes of being a young women. I LOVED THIS BOOK!