×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Ark: A Novel
     

The Ark: A Novel

4.0 136
by Boyd Morrison
 

See All Formats & Editions

In national bestselling author Boyd Morrison’s debut, the unraveling of one of the greatest archeological mysteries from the bible—Noah’s Ark—could threaten civilization itself in this blockbuster hailed by James Rollins as “a stunning thriller.”

When brilliant archaeologist Dilara Kenner is contacted by Sam Watson, an old

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ark 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 136 reviews.
AaronLBrown More than 1 year ago
You can usually find a great number of novels about any given subject, especially a lost treasure. But sometimes a story comes along that emerges as the definitive work on a particular topic. A few examples off the top of my head would be Raiders of the Lost Ark (it would take a dramatically new and skillful interpretation to top Indiana Jones, likely never happen, ROTL was about the Ark of the Covenant NOT Noah's Ark) and The Loch by Steve Alten (a great story and theory about the Loch Ness monster). As a writer, after reading and seeing these stories, the chapter seemed to be closed for me on these topics. I now feel the same about Noah's Ark. Boyd Morrison's interpretation is so good that there's little hope of topping it. I could throw out some zippy one-liner comments here like "it's a thrill-a-minute rollercoaster ride that grabs you from the first page and never lets go," but we hear that about every new thriller. The best way for me to describe The Ark is that it's one of the best books I've read in a long time and possibly ever. It's a magical blend of action, adventure, interesting new insights, and fun. And it contains a quality that I feel is hard to come by: a true sense of adventure. A couple of examples as a point of reference: Raiders of the Lost Ark=true sense of adventure, Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull=lacking that sense - Orginal Star Wars Trilogy=adventure, Star Wars Prequels=lacking.I'm sure you get the idea. Another great thing about The Ark is that, from a Christian perspective, it manages to provide a new interpretation of a famous and established biblical event without demeaning or degrading the foundations of the Christian (and Jewish, for that matter) faiths. It simply provides a slightly different interpretation that if found to be true could actually have the opposite effect. The easiest illustration is that if The Da Vinci Code or The Templar Legacy were found to be true, it would rock the religious world and make individuals the world over question their faith and their belief in God altogether. If The Ark were found to be an accurate story, I think it would actually give credence to the faith of many and make many others give greater consideration to the Bible. Although I'm a Christian, I can still enjoy a good story that contradicts something in which I believe. My beliefs aren't shaky enough that a fictional thriller is going to offend me, but it's nice to find a story that can provide a new interpretation without diminishing the original. And no matter how good the book, a story that claims that Moses was a transvestite is never going to be a favorite among the 2-3 billion Christians in the world. This isn't the case with Boyd Morrison's The Ark. Another interesting tidbit is that the author's bio reads like a work of fiction. If a novelist created a character in a story that had done everything that Boyd Morrison has, readers would find that character's back story far too unbelievable. I won't go into detail here, but check out his website for more information. The Ark is a great book that I highly recommend to any action adventure fan, and Boyd Morrison is well on his way to being one of the top thriller writer's in the world. My only concern: how is the sequel going to live up to the original?
BigTexReader More than 1 year ago
This book is an easy, simple read. It reminded me of any one of a number of Clive Cussler's books. The hero in this book can do no wrong, has no flaws, is a perfect human specimen, etc. His sidekicks and associates, if not absolutely perfect, are close to it. The villains are, well ....... villainous. You never doubt for a moment that the hero will win. This is not to say that the book is bad. It was entertaining, but lacked any real depth in plot and character development. If you are looking for a quick and easy summer read, this one will do.
Wingman More than 1 year ago
I read three to four books a week, I have lots of favorite authors, and I have just added Boyd Morrison to that list. This book starts out with action from page one, it's hard to find a place to stop at, each chapter you finish makes you want to read the next to see what is going to happen. If you like books by Jack DuBrul, Andy McDermott, and Dale Brown with characters who you get to know then this is the Author for you. As you can tell by the title it deals with Noah's Ark, for readers who like the mythology and legend plots this gives you and alternate explination for Noah's Ark. While we know that this book is fiction it makes you wonder if what is written could be true. The characters are believable, the plot keeps you interested from the first to the last page. And to top it all of it left itself open at the end to continue to another book with the same characters. Dom't miss this read, I believe we are seeing the beginning of the next great author in action and adventure
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Ark kept me entertained from the beginning to the end. I enjoyed how the author mixed true facts with fiction in the novel, then explained what was true and what was fiction.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Morrison writes a story with plenty of action and interesting scientific background material in several fields, which lends a great deal of credibility to his story. THE ARK is my first experience with this author, but it will not be my last. ----Lme 11/6/2012
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great action adventure yarn. I'll be reading more from this author. As far as the reviewer who complained about the cussing - s--t was used three times. That's it. The sex scene was a few sentences and left everything to the imagination. I will say, as a Christian, it is interesting to see how people try to explain away the events of the Bible. How did we get fish fossils on the top of mountains?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very detailed like Dan Brown's books, but with more actiion and a little more relationship development
crwalker89 More than 1 year ago
Throughout this book I found myself thinking...What if? I grew up knowing the story of Noah's Ark from the Bible and I have my own beliefs as to who, what, where, when and how. I found nothing in this book to be offensive as far as my religious beliefs go. This is a fiction novel NOT the story from the Bible retold. Yes, there was some foul language. Yes, there were a couple of times sex took place. But, overall, I did not find it took away from the enjoyment of the book. This is a great novel and I have added Boyd Morrison to my favorite authors list.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
FABULOUS! Right there with Pendergast series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bbb57 More than 1 year ago
This book is just fun. Exciting action, quick easy character development, and fictional history at its best. Read it in two sittings. My views on the Bible have never been literal. But I am one of those people who believes that all legend is based on fact. So why not an Ark Cave?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Reads like a mixture of Dean Koontz and Dan Brown without getting too scientific or religious. Very engaging book.
Robert_Clark More than 1 year ago
Great Book! Hard to put down once you start!
BuriedUnderBooks More than 1 year ago
The search for Noah’s Ark has been the goal of archeologists the world over for centuries, even those who consider themselves to be nonbelievers. Now, her father may have been successful, but archeologist Dilara Kenner knows very little about it other than the fact that people around her are being killed and she herself seems to be a target. Led by the urging of an old family friend, who tells her as he’s dying that the lives of billions are at stake, Dilara seeks out Tyler Locke, a former combat engineer. The two have little idea what is happening but they quickly learn that time is truly short and that the truth—and the terrible peril— of the Flood is something they could never have imagined. Boyd Morrison is one of those rarities, a self-published author who gets “discovered” by a traditional publisher. The Ark was originally released as a Kindle ebook; after following the time-honored route of finding an agent, a good one; the book just didn’t sell, apparently because lots of publishers loved it but didn’t believe there was a place for it in the currently overfull thriller market. Morrison decided to try putting it up as an ebook but was smart enough to recognize the pitfalls if he also self-published a print edition. Within three months, he had become an unqualified ebook success, much to his surprise, and his agent took that success back to market. Voila! A contract came, probably the first offered by a Big Six publisher to a self-published Kindle author. I, for one, am very glad for the author’s success and especially that a print publisher finally recognized the worth of this book so that I, a hardcore non-ebook reader (at the time), could enjoy it. The story is a good one and is fast-paced; that speed is the one thing that made the audio edition a bit less than terrific. Unfortunately, the narrator’s voice is sometimes too studied and deliberate, actually slowing down the tempo. He also tends to let his voice drop off and his female interpretations are often too low in tone and these two aspects of the reading caused me to frequently have to adjust the volume so I could hear it properly. Another thing I wasn’t crazy about was the length of the tracks, making it difficult to find my place if I needed to do so for whatever reason. Having said that, I did thoroughly enjoy this thriller and will read or listen to the next one, gladly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent and.fast paced ..it was nice to see a new young author in this genre. The characters were well developed ( some would be nice to see again and let them develop even more)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An interesting twist to the search for Noah's ark. I truly enjoyed it.
LeeR More than 1 year ago
Really liked it - did not want it to end. I'll likely look for other books by Mr. Morrison.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago