×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Art of Hearing Heartbeats
     

The Art of Hearing Heartbeats

4.0 97
by Jan-Philipp Sendker
 

See All Formats & Editions

A poignant and inspirational love story set in Burma, The Art of Hearing Heartbeats spans the decades between the 1950s and the present.  When a successful New York lawyer suddenly disappears without a trace, neither his wife nor his daughter Julia has any idea where he might be…until they find a love letter he wrote many years ago, to a Burmese

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Art of Hearing Heartbeats 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 97 reviews.
JadeWant More than 1 year ago
This is simply the most beautiful love story between a boy named Tin Win and a girl named Mi-Mi that lasts over 50 years. This story will haunt you forever…like Bridges of Madison County. It has all the right elements, the right mix of romance, magic, heartache and inspiration that can’t go wrong. I've added it to my list of favorite books. Don't hesitate to buy this book!
TheReadingWriter More than 1 year ago
The heart of this novel is set in Burma, pre-WWII. The author Sendker was correspondent in America and Asia for Stern, the weekly German news magazine, for some years. This is his first novel. Sendker was successful and very clever in his choice of subject. In making the setting a mountain province of Burma, a country not much opened to the outside and stuck in a pre-WWII lifestyle, things had not changed significantly since the 1950s and if they had, very few English-speaking eyewitnesses would be able to refute it. In addition, Sendker gave his main character a disability, blindness, which gave Sendker the latitude to describe through the voice of another person what the main character was meant to be seeing. Not only does this help us, but it helps the author, in that readers are a little like a blind men: the author must describe everyday things giving focus to sounds, smells, colors. If the reader has any experience in a Southeast Asian country, the descriptions trigger unforgettable memories. But Sendker did more than just excel in describing what any reader could see. He delved into the psyche of the Burmese and showed us folk tales, beliefs, habits, and ways of living. A novel is always suspect in what it reveals, but in this case we can understand as outsiders understand, and are given a way into a South Asia culture that is so remote and so different from modern-day Western culture. All this and I haven’t mentioned the novel is a love story. But not an ordinary love story—it tells of a love that any of us would be happy to call our own. Some reviewers call this a fairy tale, but I would merely say it was an especially daring and insightful attempt to create a plausible story that works on many levels. And so it does. Special kudos go to Other Press, for republishing this story at this time of the opening of Myanmar to the outside world (2012, originally published 2002), and to Blackstone Audio for making a very good audio version of the title with American-accented Cassandra Campbell. The Americans in the novel were so much less spiritual, likeable, and accepting than the Burmese that one can see the stark contrast in our approaches to the world. Let’s hope these differences do not keep us apart. We’d all do better if we had just a little more influence on one another.
dkreaderMI More than 1 year ago
One of the best books I've read this year. Would like to read more by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
UGH! Is this book over? More than once I tried throwing across the room only to catch it mid-air as I realized it was on my nook! Am I the only one who thought that there might be two writers in this book - one almost readable and the other just so horribly crappy it made Tosh.O a better waste of time? True I hate drippy romances but really Tin Win is almost dying because his lady love left for a mere three days to visit a sick aunt? I would have dumped him for this alone even if he was my only means of transportation. Please save yourself - watch a rerun, go to the gym, talk on the phone, get a pedicure. Anything is better than this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a very interesting story and if you believe in soulmates, then this is the read for you. It showed that if you are meant to be together, no matter how long you are apart it will happen. The way the story is told takes you on the journey of discovery that Julia must take to find her father. In some ways I think the reader gets the idea that the big secret comes to you first. Everything comes to an end and it makes perfect sense. Check it out.
PeaceG More than 1 year ago
I feel this story started slowly. I felt I could put this book down and forget it but I kept reading and became intrigued. As the story developed further I read on wanting to know what would happen next. I felt teary eyed at the end, I was disappointed that the daughter's character was not developed further at the end. One can only speculate on what happened.
Michelle1948 More than 1 year ago
We read this for bookclub.Some of the ladies in the group used these words to describe the book...."nice, pleasant, a fable, romantic, incomplete, wanted more, a summer read". Being a group of ladies that lean toward romance, I was surprised that the majority of the group did "not" seem to like it. They said it was just okay. Written well but just okay in the romance. Others thought the book left out a lot .... what happened between TinWin and the American wife he had for almost 50 years? what was his relationship with his American children? The book seemed one-sided in the tale of the love between TinWin and MiMi. As a group it left little for discussion. Normally we can discuss a book for an hour or more. This one we only discussed for 15mins and then we moved on to other things. Disappointing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I FOUND THE BOOK TO BE VERY INTERESTING AND INFORMATIVE ABOUT A DIFFERENT CULTURE. WE ARE READING IT FOR BOOK CLUB. THERE IS MUCH TO DISCUSS ABOUT RELATIONSHIPS AND DEVELOPMENTAL DIFFERENCES.
LatteGirl947 More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book....a story so well told. It touches so many emotions and has a surprise ending. I would highly recommend this for book clubs
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. The story was intriguing, but I felt that the ending was not as well written and thought out as the rest of the book. I was disappointed when I read the last page.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the book
AE50 More than 1 year ago
Loved this book!!
Just-as-I-am More than 1 year ago
The story line is wonderful, as well as, a very easy read. It is so human in it's nature as it is told not only through what is seen by the characters, but even more so, by what is heard and felt by them. It opens avenues of insight into the things we always look for in others and their situations but is rarely found using our eyes alone. It has challenged me to take more care in "hearing" my world and the wonderful people in it by not being so dependent on what I see with my eyes. It's a gold medal love story with all the challenges, twists and turns that make it worth the character's sacrifices and the reader's time.
Anonymous 9 months ago
when the sun turned away, <br> drowning in the cushions of the horizon, <br> and the thoughts of the living <br> went to sleep, <br> and the universe fell prostrate <br> to its true ruler, <br> and the children discovered <br> that they weren't children anymore, <br> and laughter was a dream, <br> that was when Darkness and I <br> ventured out to play. <p> ~Dark &diams Shine <br> I will probably add on to this.
Anonymous 10 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book for my AP Lit class and loved it!
MargitS More than 1 year ago
Great for book clubs. Heartwarmingfantasy love story. Very intersting and inspiring characters. You'll be glad you read it.
CHC4105 More than 1 year ago
The Art of Hearing Hearts is, on the surface, a story of two persons who come to love one another, and in the process bring mutual healing and wholeness. It is a love which survives 50 years and thousands of miles separation, transforming physical challenges and even death into by shared commitment. . It is so powerful that it demolishes the divide between Oriental and Western culture. As an allegory, it transcends even that powerful narrative. Love becomes more than a romantic feeling. It banishes fear. It is a powerful force for healing, wholeness and oneness so incredibly penetrating that it allows two people to know one another on such a deep level that they can “hear one another’s hearts”. It allows one to truly understand and fully enter the life of another so that human defenses become unnecessary and disappear. To enter into this book’s world is not only to understand love in a new way, but to open oneself to its transforming power.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the book. This is a love story and a love story for the ages. Eastern mysticism is combined with the story. The two main characters were never apart spiritually after they fell in love. Nothing was done with advice from the stars. I highly recommend this book; it would be a great present for someone who is looking for a great love story. The person will only be able to understand the book if they use the logic of the East.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A true love story! My favorite bookclub book so far this year ,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago