×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

As a Man Thinketh
     

As a Man Thinketh

3.9 275
by James Allen
 

See All Formats & Editions

Your thoughts and your dreams determine what you are and what you will be. This Audio Book is meant to stimulate men and women to the discovery and perception of the truth that they themselves are makers of themselves, by virtue of the thoughts which they choose and encourage. Contents: Effect of Thought on Circumstances; Effect of Thought on Health and Body;

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

As a Man Thinketh 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 275 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I first learn of this book from an old guy I met at an AA meeting. He told me, 'This book changed my life and if you read it, it will change yours, too.' At the time I thought it was a load of bull, but I knew he'd bug me about it at subsequent meetings if I didn't read it and since it was a quick read I thought, 'What the heck!' What an eye opener! I near would have dreamed such a little book could have such a huge impact on my life. Allen's book hands you the key to unlocking your human potential and truly is a guidebook to right living. The old boy was right, it did change my life and I have seen it change the lives of those I've had the pleasure of sharing it with over the years.
Daruth60 More than 1 year ago
This book was written nearly 100 years ago and is as prevalent today as it was then. I read chapters from it daily to my husband who is in the hospital. Then we talk about what I read. It is very emotionally healing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
James Allen is a very famous 'unknown'. This is not an oximoron. Little is known about the man, except he wrote from 1902, and died in 1912, at age 48. This little volume is well known worldwide. This Englishman should be as famous as Shakespeare (but in this different field of 'aid to self-improvement'). He is that good. He is that thorough. He writes clearly. He can help many to recover happiness here on earth. No need to wait for the afterlife. His is a unique legacy that he left behind for everyone. There is a converted version, 'As A Woman Thinketh' (ISBN 0-87516-483-8). I would liked to have known him. He is that amazing. This particular hard cover edition by Barnes & Noble is a handsome edition with a very reasonable list price. The text is priceless. The value is there.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A close friend of mine recommended 'As a Man Thinketh' to me. Understanding my thought process and how he thinks, I knew this simplistic, yet poignant book, would be a savoring read. Over the past 3 or 4 years I have been on a journey trying to find my 'Personal Legend' and live this so-called utopian life. Living in the confines of Los Angeles I had a very comfortable life. However, I knew if I wanted to escalate to another level mentally, spiritually, educationally, and financially, I had to sacrifice and take a risk. Therefore, I decided to jettison Los Angeles, risk everything and move to New York to grow. Mentally, it was like a kaleidoscope; I was challenged from several different perspectives. The move enhanced my life more than I anticipated. A year later looking back at my decision and my mental journey, I sometimes wonder how I was able to function, operate, and thrive mentally with the cards I was dealt. I believe it is good for the soul and the mind to pigeonhole yourself in situations that you normally wouldn't put yourself in. Therefore mentally you will test yourself and see how you will respond. After reading this book I was able to reflect and assess my mental muscle. The mind is so powerful.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this book. Allen tells you that you are what you think. He really goes into detail as to tell you what different types of thoughts will produce. This is a great read. I will encourage anyone to read this.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I felt it gave a awesome detail discription of the mind and how powerful it can be. You are what you think. Very Deep. Gives you something to really think about :)
Guest More than 1 year ago
'As a Man Thinketh' is one of the all-time classic books. It serves as one of the defining works for using your mind to shape your life. Straight-forward and to the point, it is an absolute must read.
eeh More than 1 year ago
This book is a precursor to the overwhelmingly popular The Secret by Byrne.... The message encourages the reader to understand the power of thinking in creating the life we desire....
Guest More than 1 year ago
Upon a brief review of some part of the book as displayed,I find it to be a very compelling book to be read.For reading this book will further open my eyes to those realistic situation that I am confounded with in my life today
Guest More than 1 year ago
James Allen proves that it is possible to pack dozens of valuable nuggets in a small package. The language is often lofty and dated, which in other works detracts from the material. In this case it reads like the writings of a wise old scholar, enhancing the content and its weight. If you enjoy highlighting key points, keep the cap off your highlighter while reading this. More than just an essay on positive thinking, Allen walks the reader through applications for personal growth, putting thought into action, using personal gifts to achieve right purposes, persevering to develop character, sacrificng and putting forth your full effort. Powerful nuggets in a tiny package. Dynamite. Larry Hehn, Author of Get the Prize: Nine Keys for a Life of Victory
artmama162 More than 1 year ago
Light reading that sneaks up on you. If nothing else, this book will make you think about how you think. Humorous, interesting and active, each page logically leads to the next. There is room to argue in many areas, but overall it was well worth the money I paid for it!

I am ordering copies to give for gifts.
reyrey_snakeskin More than 1 year ago
If you were to live the tenets, ideals and beliefs which Allen espouses, you would find inner peace. Doing is much harder than saying but he gives you the tools to be content in life. Any religion would have to agree with the fundamentals of Allen's doctrine.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A USEFUL PIECE OF WORK THAT CAN MASSAGE YOUR MIND. GIVES YOU INDEPTH OF HOW TO THINK POSITIVE WHILE BEING IN-SYNC WITH MESSAGES FROM THE BIBLE. GOOD FOR ALL PEOPLE FROM ALL WALKS OF LIFE LIKE PRESIDENTS & CEO'S TO SCHOOL STUDENTS. THIS IS ONE TO HAVE IN YOUR LIBRARY.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I came across this book from my psychology Instructor who instructed us to read and write a summory paper of what the book was about should we want to earn extra credit. And let me tellll youuu, this is a pretty damn good book.now I haven't read any good books lately but this right here i can definately going to be something I reccomend/read again and again.If I were you I would read it especially since its not like some longggg boring book.it short but long enough(if that makes sense) :) and to the point.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent ! Worth the money and more. Timeless wisdom.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book and what it has to say about the ability to change one's thoughts to achieve a better life is wonderful. It is concise. Definately a good introduction to the idea, or a good support book for one already on the journey of change. As I love old books and typesets of this time, I just wish the entire text had been scanned as a visual, not scanned for the words. It enabled wrong and garbled words, but it didn't slow my reading any, and was humorous at times.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book remains my favorite throughout 20 years that I started to read as a hobby. It captivated my soul!
Guest More than 1 year ago
James Allen outlines guidelines for living in this book. He weaves through the inner dynamics of a person's psyche and shows us what we already intuitively know - what we think about, we become. This simple, concise, easy to read book is an invaluable resource to anyone serious about living a purpose filled life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
You are what you think. You are literally the sum of your thoughts. Action only comes once the seeds of thought have been planted and sowed. James Allen leads listeners to self-improvement through his inspiring and simple message: you are what you think.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great little booklet. The writing is simple, but so profound and as many motivational speakers across the U.S. quote Allen frequently, it's a good life-guide to have. It will shed some light on several key principles in life, including to maintain a positive attitude. Another book that is more detailed but along the same lines like Allen's book, and I found it extremely helpful is Dietmar Scherf's 'Depression: Avoiding and Overcoming: I Love Me.'
Guest More than 1 year ago
This reading carefully examines the importance of positive thinking. The suggestion that all of life's experiences evolve from the creation of meaningful beginnings encourages people to focus more on the development of positive thought and less on conforming to negative outcomes. It is a treat for anyone who is looking for a message worth living.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books ever
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a good read but felt it was too short
Anonymous More than 1 year ago