×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

As Seen on TV
     

As Seen on TV

4.2 11
by Sarah Mlynowski
 

See All Formats & Editions

When Sunny Langstein decides to pack up her Florida life and move in with her boyfriend in Manhattan, her big sister isn't thrilled. What modern-day twenty-four-year-old leaves her promising career, fabulous friends and perfect underground parking spot with accompanying convertible for…a guy?

Only, Sunny has an additional incentive: the chance to star on

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

As Seen on TV 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book had me cracking up! It was so funny and a nice light read. Perfect for summer. I need to read more books by her!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have never laughed out loud so much while reading a book nor have I identified so closely with a character as I did with Sunny. Although she was a bigger reality star than I ever became, the whole reality TV process couldn't have been closer to the truth. I relived the whole emotional and mental footsteps I had taken from the first audition videotape that I made to being recognized in public and being paranoid about being slandered in some way by the tabloids. For anyone who ever wondered what goes on 'behind the scenes' of reality TV, to addicts and fans of reality shows, or if you're a survivor of one, you will love this book!! The witty sense of humour, the spellbinding writing, and the exciting storyline will make not only make you fall in love with this book, but you'll be seeking out other books written by this author too. And by the end of it, you may even consider applying for a reality show yourself!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read all three of Sarah Mlynowski's books, and I have to say As Seen on TV was not her best. The lead character, Sunny, got on my nerves. The story did have some very good plot twists and kept me interested, but the main character was annoying. It is worth reading, but Fishbowl is so much better.
Guest More than 1 year ago
For the third time, Sarah Mlynowski has amazed me with her novel! Just like Fishbowl and Milkrun, this is book I couldn't put down!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I had to laugh out loud so many times. Can't put it down. Totally FUNNY. Love it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I read by Ms. Mlynowski and I loved it. A friend told me about it and I picked it up that weekend. It was an easy read and I really enjoyed myself. The only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars is because I had a problem with the ending. I do not want to give it away for others who have not read it, but I think things should have ended differently with Sunny and Miche.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A very funny and entertaining book. This is the first 'chick lit' book I've read that really captures the new contemporary culture. I really enjoyed it.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Her boyfriend Steve Stein owns and runs Manna Restaurant in Manhattan while Sunny Langstein works in Fort Lauderdale as an Assistant Manager at Panda. When Steve invites Sunny to move in with him, she accepts. Knowing she needs to find work, Sunny lies her way into interviews until she shockingly lands a contestant role on the TV reality show Party Girls.

Her fifteen minutes of TV fame changes Sunny into an American idol and her relationship with Steve looks like it will be voted off the island. Meanwhile TV idol Matt Rowler makes a bid for Sunny¿s affection. Soon Steve who loved and liked his Florida Sunshine forces the issue of where they are going, as he detests the glitter TV Sunny. Will Sunny give up her chance as a survivor to host the show next year and reject the manna from heaven Steve offers because he treats her like a cherished person not a dimwitted boob tube icon?

AS SEEN ON TV converges chick lit with reality television into an amusing contemporary romantic romp with a surprising message of adhering to one¿s value. The story line is handled in a light manner as Sunny gets so embroiled in glamour and bull that she loses sight as to what is important to her. Fans of chick lit will enjoy this parody of the reality TV fare.

Harriet Klausner