×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

As Simple as Snow
     

As Simple as Snow

4.1 29
by Gregory Galloway
 

See All Formats & Editions

Anna—who prefers to be called Anastasia—is a spooky and complicated high school girl with a penchant for riddles, Houdini tricks, and ghost stories. She is unlike anyone the narrator has ever known, and they make an unlikely, though happy, pair. Then Anna disappears, leaving behind only a dress near a hole in the frozen river, and a string of unanswered

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

As Simple as Snow 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a story about a gothic teenage girl named Anna Cayne who changes the life of a teenage guy. Anna wasn't your average teenage girl. She always wore black and wrote obituaries for fun. He was a normal boy with no real goals or strong views in life. He actually didn't think much about himself either. Since Anna moved to town everything he knew changed. Not only had his life changed but everyone around him as well. Now find out how something so simple can be so complicated in the life of a teenage boy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Annabelle_Haze More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was excellent not despite the fact it gave no clear-cut answers, but because of that. There are enough hints in the story to piece together what happened, but nothing is explicitly stated, and some things are left in the dark entirely. I enjoyed it thoroughly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book to begin with and then reached the end and wad baffled. There is no closure to the story and none of the questions are answered. I think the concept was creative but i did not like the way it was presented. I do all though think it is clever that you never know the main characters name. He leaves hints and if you look closely you will find tha its the authors own name.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TheSwt3stCyn More than 1 year ago
The author starts off strong, leads us on and then gives us an ending that leaves you to wonder if he ran out of creativity.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Miss_Scarlett13 More than 1 year ago
I picked up this book after a friend insisted I read it. It starts of rather slow (not boring, just slow) but quickly gains momentum. It is one of the, er, more eccentric books I've read. It doesn't have a truly defined plot line, and I don't think we ever learn the narrators name. But, it is without a doubt, one of the better books I've read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
katknit More than 1 year ago
As Simple as Snow is touted as anything but simple, full of mystery and subtle sorcery. For most readers over a certain age, however, (let's place it high at 35), it's nothing more than a slight twist on the typical, angst filled coming of age story. Ordinary, self-consciously unimaginative boy meets intellectual, ostentatiously quirky girl. She lures him with enigmatic word and number games, he falls into sophomore- year love with her, then she up and disappears. The town is frantic, thinking she's been murdered, but the enigmatic games continue in the form of cryptic messages, while taxpayers' money goes down the drain. Not surprising in the world of adolescents, the boy's only other friend also disappears. While this plot, for a while, generates interest as to their fates, what passes for resolution is, annoyingly, merely more questioning and angst. At the end of the interlude, a period of about six months, the boy has matured into a whole new identity because of what this girl taught him, and by implication, will grow into literary and personal greatness. The unnamed sophomore is a nicer kid than Holden Caulfield, but the drama's the same. Recommended for the "young adult" genre.
addica More than 1 year ago
This is one of the greatest books I have read; one of my top 10. I loved it all but the ending because I am the kind of girl who, when I¿m done reading and I close the book, I¿d like to feel complete; final. I don¿t like to end up asking questions after questions after I¿m done reading, which is what happened when I had finished reading As Simple as Snow. However, I still recommend this book to anyone in high school, anyone who likes the unexpected, or anyone who just loves to read.
This book is full of mystery, romance, and magic. This story is told through the words of a sophomore boy in high school. What¿s unique about this book is that the name of the narrator is NEVER mentioned, although the narrator¿s girlfriend gives us hints of what his name could be. Even his parents¿ names aren¿t mentioned.
This book is about the boy who falls in love with the new girl in town, but this new girl is no other typical teenage girl. I find her as unique as the book itself, and the narrator is drawn to her as well. She is into ¿riddles, Houdini tricks, and ghost stories¿. And one day, just a week before Valentine¿s Day, she does a Houdini and disappears. All that is left is her dress neatly placed next to a hole in the frozen river. A string of unanswered questions follows, and the narrator is desperate to find her, or at least understand what had happened and why.
Gregory Galloway, the author of As Simple as Snow, immediately draws you in and captures you in just the first sentence of the book. And by the end of the book, you would feel lost, uncertain, and have the attempt to answer those unanswered questions. It¿s not truly as big of a page-turner as the Twilight series, but it is a page-turner all the same.
It¿s an unforgettable book and will make you think of it for a long while.
HaleyMrsn More than 1 year ago
Anna Cayne disappears randomly, her boyfriend, who is never named, tried desperately to find her. He fell in love with her. He keeps receiving clues to her whereabouts from an unknown source. The weird thing is that no one in the town seems affected except him. Will he ever find her? READ THIS BOOK!!

This book really kept me on the edge of my seat. I enjoyed the odd quirks of Anna. She was very curious and got excited about learning new things. It also impressed me that Mr. Galloway paired the narrator and Anna together when they are both polar opposites. Anna is a Goth and he is an ex-jock. Anna reminds me a lot of myself. She¿s intrigued by the unexplainable, typical of me. I also like how this is a love story. It¿s a twisted love story though. The main character and Anna don¿t have a mushy relationship though, I like that.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book a while ago but I've never forgotten it. This book is probably one of the best books I have read. I simply just couldn't put the book down. If you enjoy cliff hangers this is the book for you. Its simply tragicly amazing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is without a doubt the best book I have ever read. It's a bit confusing yet so simple if you look at it the right way. With the charm of the unnamed narrator and his mysterious girlfriend Anna this book will open your and mind and ask you many questions. But in the end, all the answers are as simple as snow.
Guest More than 1 year ago
if you are even thinking of buying this book... do it. because i thought it was one of the most interesting, funny, engrossing books i have ever read. The characters and there relationships are some that you wouldn't expect, and the story line is simply awesome. I couldn't put it down and once i was done i just wanted to read it again. And again. Great read, five stars!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
as simple as snow was a great book i couldnt put it down!!! I know it leaves ALOT of questions unanswered, pracitcally every question really, but i think thats the fun of it, but i beleive the narrartors name is also the authors name:Gregory Galloway. anna is telling the narrartor his full name is almost a double dactyl, 3 syllables and we know his name starts with a G. how many 3 syllable names do you know that start with G?
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the greatest book of all time. I think the way the author left a lot of questions still hanging was one of the greatest things about this book. My favorite person in this book would have to be Anna. She has a great outlook on life. The title is perfect for this book. Nothing about this book could have been better!
Guest More than 1 year ago
i read this book and through its pages i was captured and compelled by mystery and romance. I loved learning about Anna but my sights were cut short with the ending. As exciting as it was to read the story, almost every question was left unanswered. I great story wasn't finished and I was very sorry to be left with such a mess. I think this book would have been alot better had some questions had been answered, or seemed more related to each other. Although some could argue that, that was the beauty of the book, the open-ended ending giving you something to think about, people like me would feel cheated, with no enough clues to even ponder a realistic ending.