×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

As You Wish
  • Alternative view 1 of As You Wish
  • Alternative view 2 of As You Wish
     

As You Wish

4.3 77
by Jackson Pearce
 

See All Formats & Editions

Ever since Viola's boyfriend broke up with her, she has spent her days silently wishing—to have someone love her again and, more importantly, to belong again—until one day she inadvertently summons a young genie out of his world and into her own. He will remain until she makes three wishes.

Jinn is anxious to return home, but Viola is terrified

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

As You Wish 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 77 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Forget the rules of classical fantasy. Forget princesses and knights, fairies, magic, witches and wizards, battles and duels. Forget heroes who rise up to save the world from certain doom and villains hellbent on destroying all humanity holds dear. Instead, take a simpler approach: a girl. A high school student, months after a horrible break up, facing a destroyed self confidence, a lonely existance, and an art expo. Now give this girl three wishes, strict guidelines to use them, and her own jinn to make those wishes come true, and what do you get? Clue: Not a princess story. Not a Disney movie. Instead, debut author Jackson Pearce delivers a stunning, poignant novel about the power of choice and the importance of priority. Set against the backdrop of a very average high school, the world proposed by Pearce is easy to fall into because it's nothing more than what it claims to be- a refreshing break from alternate worlds in wardrobes and rabbit holes. Everything about this book is absolutely refreshing, starting with its protagonist, Viola: she's a teen girl, and I refrain from saying average, because one beautiful aspect of this story is that it shows skillfully that in the world we live in, there is no average, because inside each person is a world of anxiety, emotions, hopes, doubts, and hormones that, combined, never equal the same concoction as any other person. Viola is heartbroken long before the story begins, and her ego is shattered; Pearce does a wonderful job of making it clear, without giving a lecture or pep talk, that Viola is only as beautiful and worthy of what she wants as she allows herself to be. Rather than going on a journey to discover how amazing she is, as most stories today seem to be, Viola's journey is a personal one, in which she discovers that she has the power to see herself for however she wants to, to make her own happiness or wallow in misery. The story itself is about personal choice, setting it apart from your average fantasy and teen novel. Instead of trying to save the world or their lives, the characters are simply learning how to see themselves, and what they want for themselves, and what they will give up and do in order to keep their emotionally charged lives even- and hopefully tip the scales to happy. Possibly the best part of the story is that there is no set antagonist; rather, each character's personality and life situation makes for the setbacks in the story. What they must over come and defeat is entirely inside themselves, and at they same time, that is where they will find what will allow them to overcome these obstacles. The rules of fantasy, the standard cycle of the monomyth, is presented in a different light in this satisfyingly-romantic-without-being-ridiculous tale, and in the end, the reader is left with not only a deep satisfaction that comes with finishing only the best of books, but also a new take on fiction, lesson needed in a literary world of instant-romance and magic wands: it is the choices we make, how we use our wishes and go after what we want, and not the power of magic or even love, that bind us together, build up our lives, or destroy us, our relationships, and our confidence. As You Wish was a beautiful read, paced skillfully and written masterfully. Five well-earned stars.
bookduck More than 1 year ago
If you think this book looks cute, you're right--As You Wish is all kinds of adorable. On top of that, it's also funny, insightful, thrilling, and incredibly un-putdownable. Seriously. I finished it in just over a day and I already want to whirl through it again. As You Wish is told in alternating first person narration between Viola and Jinn. While the two viewpoints add more dimension to the story, I couldn't distinguish the two voices from one another. The plot, however, sucked me in so absolutely that I quickly got over this complaint and sat back to enjoy the story. The resulting single voice of Viola's and Jinn's near identical narration is appealing and enjoyable. At the opening of As You Wish, it's been just over seven months since Viola's childhood-best-friend-turned-boyfriend, Lawrence, informed Viola that he was gay and broke up with her. While Viola and Lawrence are still close, Viola feels that she's become an "Invisible Girl" since the breakup--with Lawrence, she was special and felt like she belonged. Now, however, Lawrence is invited to parties and Viola gets to hear about them. She feels ignored and out of place and is obsessed with the idea of belonging--how do other people do it? How can she belong again? And then Jinn, a genie, walks into her life, offers her three wishes, and suggests she make them quickly. Jackson Pearce's cast of characters is irresistable--except for a few bad apples, I liked them all instantly. I had fun watching Viola and Jinn fall in love. I was happy when they were happy, and breathless with suspense when they encountered obstacles--I was so invested in the story I was practically biting my fingernails, and I don't usually do that. The ending is satisfying, but not exactly what I expected. As You Wish surprised me to the end. Beyond the plot, the depth of Viola's longing to be a part of the social tapestry around her and her blindness to what she already has adds an emotional angle to the novel that I believe many people, teenagers or not, can identify with. As You Wish is a little book with a lot to say. As far as PG-13 content, I can count the incidents of offensive language on one hand, and while alcohol and promiscuity make a few appearances, there's nothing even close to an R-rated scene, and nothing happens that the average teenager hasn't already read about or seen on TV--As You Wish is refreshingly clean without being unrealistic. As You Wish is a roller coaster ride of laughter, love, and suspense. It's a feel-good novel I couldn't put down, and I highly recommend it.
Gabriela_Iris More than 1 year ago
As You Wish is one of those books that you CAN'T put down until you finish it. It pulls you in quickly, has good pace, and develops characters fairly well. It's an interesting concept that weaves a beautiful story of friendship, finding yourself, and love. I highly recommend this book- it's the epitome of a feel-good read!
StoryBreather More than 1 year ago
As you wish is a delightful, endearing tale. It tugged at my heart, and made me smile and laugh in some places. It was a really quick read, but it held such meaning and promises in it. When Jinn had to leave, my heart called out to him and Viola. Their pain was so poignant, and Jackson displayed it so clearly. This book is one my new favorites. Thank you Jackson, for such a beautiful love story.
Lizzie9208 More than 1 year ago
Jackson Pearce's first book, As You Wish, has set the bar high! In alternating viewpoints, this book details the story of a teenage girl, Viola, who accidentally summons a genie, Jinn. Jinn must remain on Earth until Viola makes three wishes, and it's only after the first wish when they discover they have feelings for one another. Viola and Jinn are forced to make a choice- if she doesn't make all three wishes, the guardian of the genies will push her to wish by hurting the people she loves. But if she makes her three wishes, Jinn will leave her life forever. This book is full of beautiful details and scenes that will delight even the most reluctant reader. Jackson's vivid imagery makes the characters come alive. The book is great for middle-school age kids and the young at heart. I couldn't put this book down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Viola and her lifetime best friend, former boyfriend, Lawrence, broke up with her leaving her broken. She makes a wish during Shakespeare class and everything changes when stranger boy shows up. He scouts her throughtout the day and appears in her room finally telling her he has to grant her three wishes. The more they spend time together....the more they talk and get to understand the other better. After the first wish to have what the popualer kids have they both realize they have feelings for one another. So Jinn the stranger boy calls in an old friend to press her into making the other two wishes out of his hurt and regrets it. When the second wish is granted they are first are on not speaking terms but soon later she fixes the outcome of first wish and the girl the second wish was for had her life greated. By this time Lawrence, Jinn, and Viola are all friends while Jinn is still hiding the feelings for her and she too is trying to hide feelings. But soon the thrid wish is granted by force of the press and Jinn was forced to go leaving her alone...havung forgotten about him the moment he left after kissing her. But this foes not end in sad feeling the two are united in the most passionate loving climax i have ever dreamed of reading about. Sure she did not remember the strangrr at first but after he brought her roses and brought back the treasured filled memories she quickly embraced him ss more than an old friend. They kissed under the stars with all the love they held for the other. This book will forever be the showstopper of all the books i have read. I keep rereading this book to experience this passion filled love story of star crossed lovers all over again i hope Jackson Pierce writes a sequel on how is their happily ever after.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Viola's one true wish is to feel like she belongs again. Ever since her boyfriend/beast friend came out, her life has been going down hill. She is now one of the "invisibles" as she calls it. The people who are never seen or herd, the social outcasts. But after inadvertently calling a genie out in the middle of class, her life with the outcasts maybe over. And Viola is finding out that maybe all of the cheesy movies are right, maybe you have to be true to your self. But how do you do that if you don't know who you are?!? Talking about all the Social complexities of being a teen and finding where you belong, Jackson Pearce tells a great story about love, friendship and being you, in a world where no one know who you are.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DanceBree17 More than 1 year ago
I was sucked into this book so much, I didnt want to put it down! Viola is just your typical teen-age girl who suffered the worst kind of breakup imaginable and just wants to dissapear. Jinn is so perfect as the genie summoned to give Viola her three wishes and then go back to his own life in the otherworld. The characters are all so perfect and there are equal parts humor, friendship and romance. This is a book I will actually keep on my shelf and come back to again and again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Starryblue More than 1 year ago
If you love books with Genie's then is the book for you. As you wish was such a great read. I started reading it and I just couldn't put it down. Jinn was an amazing genie. I'm glad he came back in the end of the book because Viola deserved her happy ending. I wouldn't mind if As You Wish had a sequel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was already a fan of Jackson Pearce before I read this book but when I finally did it made me fall in love with her style and ways with romance, drama, and her crafty knack of creating an addicitive plot line, mesmerizing (and hilarious) characters, and extensive use of detail that made me want to make this a permanent part of my literary life. READERS: Get ready for a world you never thought possible and the words that spin the worlds of both Earth and Caliban... *I wish*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is definitely one of my favorite books! I've read it four times and im not one to reread books. It has a fresh storyline and relatable characters. I love the relationship between Jinn, Viola, and Lawerence. I laughed several times in this book and I could feel the emotions the characters were portraying. Great read, definitely buy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I literally finished this book in one day... It is just refreshing not having to deal with any new paranormal romance stories that almost all end up the same way... I enjoyed the plot & characters of the story. The only bad thing I would say about this is about how it ended!!!! Wrote a second book please... a girl.being the jinn this time!!(:
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This has to be my favorite book. I just love the characters and the way the author weaves the plot along. If I could rate this story higher, I would gove it 100 stars!! Jinn is an awesome character; I wish I had someone like Viola's friends, Lawrence and Jinn. It makes me wonder what people would do for love.... :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago