×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ask for It
     

Ask for It

4.1 90
by Sylvia Day
 

See All Formats & Editions

Fearless Surrender

Nothing incites Marcus more than the primal hunger roused by his former fiancée, Elizabeth. It's been years since she jilted him for another man, but that only means there's a lot to catch up on, a lot to make up for, and that he's going to enjoy every sweet moment. . .

The same drive and passion that sent her into another man's arms

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ask for It 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 90 reviews.
Bonnie_H More than 1 year ago
I came upon Ask For It by some serendipitous quirk of fate - its the first (and only, sadly) historical I've read by Sylvia - but it won't be the last, if I have anything to say about it! Marcus Ashford, the Earl of Westfield, was jilted by his fiancee Elizabeth years ago. She then proceeded to turn right around and marry someone else! Needless to say, Marcus has been harboring a bit of bitterness over the whole affair - and when his chance comes to get back at his erstwhile former fiancee, he takes it. But things aren't quite as simple as he'd like them to be - least of all his feelings for Elizabeth. Due to a misunderstanding, Elizabeth left Marcus and married Lord Hawthorne. She is now a widow, and holds the key to a mystery the Crown would like to solve. Which means she and Marcus will be working together - very closely. I'm almost unsure how to describe this book - its unlike any other historical I've read, and yet its a wonderful example of the genre. Its as if Ms. Day has just dropped us smack-dab into the center of these people's lives - it feels that immediate - but I never felt lost or confused. She has a completely natural voice in this genre. And, unsurprisingly, the love scenes are erotic and memorable. There is one particular scene that comes to mind - almost brutal, but incredibly sensuous at the same time - VERY intense. This is now one of my favorite historical romances. Extremely well done.
SamanthaP More than 1 year ago
The Earl of Westfield, Marcus Ashford, has been obsessed with Lady Elizabeth Hawthorn since she left him high and dry to elope with another. Now four years later, her spouse has been murdered and Marcus is determined to scratch that itch for Elizabeth so he can stop obsessing over her. Little does he know that one taste isn't enough to quench his need, it only leaves him wanting more. The love that develops between Marcus and Elizabeth is quite intense, especially when they try to deny the magnetism. This love story had action, murder, angst, and love scenes far too hot for a historical romance! This is the third book I have read by Sylvia Day and I can never put them down. Though I do not usually read historical romance novels, I found myself re-reading passages and absolutely fell in love with this couple.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sylvia Day has written a compelling and deeply sensual story in Ask For It. __________________ Marcus Ashford an agent for the crown is still profoundly hurt by Elizabeth¿s marriage to another. Now she is widowed and her life is in danger. Marcus demands to be the one to protect her. He figures he can keep her safe and also get his desires for her out of his system. ___________________ Elizabeth ran from the strong feelings she had for Marcus and married a much more suitable man. After his death her life was in peril and she is forced to accept Marcus¿s aide. He consumes her every waking thought until she has to give in to her desires. ___________________ Trying to keep Elizabeth safe and not touch her is impossible for Marcus. He thinks he can keep his heart out of this but his heart has other plans. _________________ Ask For It is one of the most sensual stories I have read in awhile. Marcus and Elizabeth discover their passion is all consuming. The danger is riveting and equally as compelling. Sylvia Day is an author to watch.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I discovered Sylvia Day's writing when I read Catching Caroline, and I've read her books ever since. She writes in a variety of subgenres, including paranormal, futuristic, historical, and contemporary. Her next book, Ask For It, is a historical romance: 4 out of 5. // Ask For It is Day's second book for Brava, and it's an excellent story. You have to love a heroine who knows how to use a weapon. LOL! And I liked the twists and turns of the story--just when I thought I'd figured things out, the plot took an unexpected turn. It was a refreshing change from many of the predictable stories out there. One secondary character surprised and intrigued me, and I hope he gets his own story. // Day has a talent for creating realistic and unforgettable heroes. Marcus definitely fits in this category. I'm a sucker for a hero who falls completely in love despite all his best efforts, and that's exactly what happens here. Marcus is a forceful man who needs a woman willing to stand up to him. Although Elizabeth isn't as strong a character, she's a good match for Marcus. // I can't review one of Sylvia's books without mentioning the love scenes. Sex isn't always about simple pleasure sometimes it's complicated, tangled with a variety of emotions. Day does these scenes very well, painting a visual picture of Marcus and Elizabeth's evolving relationship. It starts with ambivalence on both sides and develops into more in a way that's both absorbing and real. As a longtime reader of Day's work, I admire the fact that her love scenes are never the same, and she's willing to take risks in this area. // With Ask For It, Day proves again that she's a writer whose career is on the rise. She is under contract for several books from Avon Red and Brava. The only bad thing is that I have to wait until 2007 for the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book, When I finished it I read it again I enjoyed so much.. I am really liking the series too..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love a story where people have emotional scars they must over come to find love. This story had great characters and even better conversations.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this historical novel.
manirul01 More than 1 year ago
good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I llove historical novels. This one has it all. Mysrry beautful sexey characters with alot of hot sex. Is there more?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JDLR More than 1 year ago
LOVE this book. Couldn't put it down. the story is intriguing, the couple is entertaining and endearing, and the romance is HOT HOT HOT!!! Great read, worth the money, get it NOW!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What an awesome mix of intrigue and romance. You cannot go wrong with a Sylvia Day story. I fell in love with Marcus myself!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I guess i just liked her other books more. Still an ok read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wasn't a big fan of the language back in the early 1900s but this book actually kept my attention even though it wasn't a modern day romance it still had plenty of spice to it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago