×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Asking for Trouble (London Confidential Series #1)
     

Asking for Trouble (London Confidential Series #1)

4.7 49
by Sandra Byrd
 
When her family moves to London, 15-year-old Savvy Smith has to make her way in a new school and a new country. She just knows the school newspaper is the right place for her, but she doesn’t have the required experience, and the cute editor-in-chief is not looking to train anyone. She has to come up with a way to prove herself and nab the one available position

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Asking for Trouble (London Confidential Series #1) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 49 reviews.
Bluerosesheart More than 1 year ago
In my teen years I read lots of Sweet Valley High books. I don't think there's anything wrong with them, but I do wish I had known of books like these! I would have gotten so much more out of them, along with just having fun reading. I would have been more encouraged to read of other teen girls praying and studying their Bible. I did have encouragement in other ways, but my reading material could have been better. Asking for Trouble is definitely geared towards teen/tween readers, but I had fun reading it, too. I don't like when authors "dumb down" their writing for young adult books. I guess I've gotten to the age where I just can't tolerate those books. Sandra does such a wonderful job of capturing the voice of a teenager without without making me feel too old! ;) Savvy is such a lovable character! She doesn't always do the right thing immediately, but she does come through. And, I love that Sandra wrote her parents likable, too. So many times in teen books, parents just aren't what they should be. If I had a teen/tween daughter, I wouldn't hesitate to buy these books for her! Asking for Trouble was a wonderfully sweet, encouraging book, and it's my favorite Christian Teen book I've read so far!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! I couldn't put it down. I think tween/teen girls wilk relate to this alot.
ABookLoverForever More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It was a cute story with an interesting plot and characters. Savvy and her family move from Seattle to a small town near London, England. It is not always easy to make friends and fit in when you are far from home. There were lots of cute details to make the book authentic. This is a perfect book for Christian girls age 12 and up. Savvy is fifteen but there is nothing objectionable in the book. I ordered the next book in the series almost immediately after reading this one. I am 26 and can't wait to read it. Highly Recommended. :) Review copy provided by publisher.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Asking For Trouble is a great teen read. I really enjoyed reading this book. It's about a fifteen year old girl who just moved to London. It tells about all her experiences there and how she joined the school newspaper. A great read with a great plot. I just love this book and can't wait to read the rest of the series!
Louisa_May More than 1 year ago
I am always wary when reviewing Christian teenage fiction--you just never know what you might find. I've seen teenage fiction where the main characters were rebellious and boy crazy and that's not something I want to encourage in my daughters. It's hard enough being a teenager without being encouraged to chase boys and argue with your parents in Christian books. But the main character of this book, Savvy (Savannah) is not only cool--she's a good Christian kid whose not too perfect but does her best, seeks God's wisdom, and finds how He answers her prayers for that very thing. She's an aspiring journalist seeking a role as her new English school's advice column writer. She reads the bible and prayers that God will help her give good, sound advice to her classmates. It's rewarding to see this great example of a teenager who's seeking God, staying true to him, and super cool. The plot moved quickly, the characters were likeable, and the writing was flawless. I gave the book only 4 stars because the recommended audience is 9-12 year olds. Savvy deals with life as a 15 year old, high school girl. I don't feel that 9-12 year olds should be hanging out with high schoolers in real life, so naturally don't think they should be seeking them out in books, either. I do highly recommend this book and the rest of the series to older girls, but no younger than 14.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book my friend lended it to me on my nook HD I think savvy likes the newspaper boss, i forgot his name.Umm im larning abou shakesphere in PC , and this book gives you some advice
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A really funny book with a talented American main charactor (Savvy) and her journey with God as she settles in Britain. A must read!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed Asking For Trouble. My teen daughter read it and then had me read it. I expected a typical shallow teen read with an underdeveloped plot and a very shallow focus. What a pleasant surprise!! The characters were very believable, and there is a great mix of light humour with serious issues the main character deals with. This book is clean, fun, with some good wisdom thrown in in a very natural way. Both my daughter and I loved it enough to buy the rest of the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was so sad when this book was over! It was that good
JDyan More than 1 year ago
I realized Asking For Trouble was a book for children and even though I read it with my adult eyes I remembered that I was once a 15 year old girl. This is a very short read that brought back many memories from my high school days. I did enjoy it even though it wasn't the most interesting book I've ever read. I would still recommend it for young girls. Sandra did an excellent job of incorporating Savvy's faith into the story and I have to admit while I was reading Asking For Trouble I found myself admiring Savvy for that reason. When I was 15 I know that sitting in church about one Sunday a month was the only time God was on my mind other than when I needed someone to blame when things didn't go right in my life. With many cute and quirky moments thrown in Sandra Byrd's Asking For Trouble was a great start to the London Confidential series and will definitely be enjoyable for young people. I know I will be keeping up with the series to find out what becomes of Savannah Smith..... and Bob's your uncle!Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.
ButterflyBlessingsBlog More than 1 year ago
I have a thing for accents. :o) This was a fun book that was well written and was an easy read. I wouldn't hesitate to suggest it for a friend with a young girl. The main character was believable and the story was *redeeming* without being preachy. I liked that she learned her lessons through her own strength of character and choices rather than them being forced on her or taught to her by someone else.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Seems good like her other books but she misspelled Aristocrats on page 8.
rlighthouse More than 1 year ago
Great Book for Teens! Savvy moved with her family from America to London.  She attempts to fit in but is having problems finding where.  She finally tries the school newspaper but doesn't have the right training and no one wants to take the time for her so she delivers the newspapers instead.  Better than nothing and she gets her foot in the door. She finally convinces the editor to let her write an advice column but the questions start to hit too close to home.  Will Savvy lose everything that she has worked so hard for?  This is an excellent series for teen girls-something refreshingly positive and clean.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a very good christain book that really shows the life of a teen. It was awesome!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked it. Because it had my sorta taste in reading. I can't wait for another one like it Thanks to my bffl Ail i love this book thanks auther
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a fast highly enjoyable read. I wish this book had been around when I was in high school. Usually, especially as of late, I rate a book five stars if it has been well written, a good plot and three dimensional characters. This book has met that criteria and a brought a bit more. It has been a long time since I read a book, let alone a young adult book, that left me feeling anything but angst. I felt good after i read this book. I felt like I was actually a better person for reading it. I will definitely read more from Byrd. In my opinion, this book is a must.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Iluv this book i got it for free on my nook hd
nannaof2007 More than 1 year ago
THIS WAS A GOOD BOOK. I WOULD READ MORE FROM THIS AUTHOR. THIS BOOK WAS WELL WRITTEN. KEEP THE GOOD WORK UP
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Now almost all these reviews i see are by adults, some say their kids liked it, some say they think teens will like it. We here we go i am a teen, 14 years of age and i was kinda like, ok it looks like a good book. I read the book, almost all of it was dreaduffly boring, hard to keep reading. The book sends off good messages but i know this isint good to say but the things that make books interesting to most teens is full drama of action, but this book was lacking really good drama or action. It was all blan and non entertaining Now i like getting the bad stuff out first,this book was paistakingly boring mostly, but very well written in some ways a young teen does think. And i like the detail of her learning the ways of the brits, thats what kept me readin Thanks for readin! Awsomeness oxox :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I highly recomend this book it was a great way to show how god works in everyones life